Sarenrae

TrinitysEnd's page

Organized Play Member. 302 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.




3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Several other classes gain the ability to gain Paladin Mercies, but there is no wording on them (E.x. Kinetic Chirurgery) saying they treat their level for Paladin level or substitute the Charisma modifier for certain DCs with their own primary stat.

So I ask, Is it intended for classes that gain the Mercy Class Feature like a Paladin (Such as Kinetic Chirurgeon) to not be treated as their level as an effective Paladin level? And are they also supposed to use their Charisma modifier or their primary or some other modifier?

I understand that this is RAW, but I am unsure if this is the intent, as it makes several mercies completely unusable or have insanely low DCs. Examples down below, and I'd love to hear other's opinions and if people think that this is not intended.

Spoilered for length:

Kinetic Chirurgery:
A kinetic chirurgeon must select either aether or water as her primary element. She gains kinetic healer as a bonus wild talent at 1st level. At 3rd level and every 2 levels thereafter, the kinetic chirurgeon can select any one paladin mercy that a paladin of that level could select. Each time she uses kinetic healer, she can apply one of these mercies to the target of the healing. A kinetic chirurgeon can never use infusions. This ability replaces infusions.

Targeted Mercy:
The paladin’s lay on hands also acts as sanctuary, using the paladin’s level as the caster level. The saving throw DC to negate this effect is equal to 10 + 1/2 the paladin’s level + the paladin’s Charisma modifier.

Cursed Mercy:
The paladin's lay on hands ability also acts as remove curse, using the paladin's level as the caster level.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have yet to see one person agree on a singular thing about this Talent. Some say it extends the Duration, others say it makes it so you get MMO Agro Tanks. I'm hoping someone can help me out with this at least.

Mockery (Spymaster's Handbook) wrote:
The vigilante gains Antagonize (UM) as a bonus feat. He can target a creature with the Intimidate version of Antagonize twice each day, rather than just once. At 12th level, the effects of the Intimidate version of Antagonize last a number of rounds equal to the vigilante’s Charisma modifier (minimum 1).

So I ask, How does the Vigilante Talent Mockery's 12th level increase work?

Edit: Forgot to include Antagonize

Antagonize:
Antagonize wrote:

Benefit: You can make Diplomacy and Intimidate checks to make creatures respond to you with hostility. No matter which skill you use, antagonizing a creature takes a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and has a DC equal to 10 + the target’s Hit Dice + the target’s Wisdom modifier. You cannot make this check against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence score of 3 or lower. Before you make these checks, you may make a Sense Motive check (DC 20) as a swift action to gain an insight bonus on these Diplomacy or Intimidate checks equal to your Charisma bonus until the end of your next turn. The benefits you gain for this check depend on the skill you use. This is a mind-affecting effect.

Diplomacy: You fluster your enemy. For the next minute, the target takes a –2 penalty on all attacks rolls made against creatures other than you and has a 10% spell failure chance on all spells that do not target you or that have you within their area of effect.

Intimidate: The creature flies into a rage. On its next turn, the target must attempt to make a melee attack against you, make a ranged attack against you, target you with a spell, or include you in the area of a spell. The effect ends if the creature is prevented from attacking you or attempting to do so would harm it (for example, if you are on the other side of a chasm or a wall of fire). If it cannot attack you on its turn, you may make the check again as an immediate action to extend the effect for 1 round (but cannot extend it thereafter). The effect ends as soon as the creature attacks you. Once you have targeted a creature with this ability, you cannot target it again for 1 day.


Does Mage Armor stack with the Enhancement Bonuses from your armor?

Relevant text (that I found):

Mage Armor wrote:

An invisible but tangible field of force surrounds the subject of a mage armor spell, providing a +4 armor bonus to AC.

Unlike mundane armor, mage armor entails no armor check penalty, arcane spell failure chance, or speed reduction. Since mage armor is made of force, incorporeal creatures can’t bypass it the way they do normal armor.

Armor Bonuses pg 149 CRB wrote:
Armor/Shield Bonus: Each type of armor grants an armor bonus to AC, while shields grant a shield bonus to AC. The armor bonus from a suit of armor doesn’t stack with other effects or items that grant an armor bonus. Similarly, the shield bonus from a shield doesn’t stack with other effects that grant a shield bonus.
Magic Armor wrote:

In general, magic armor protects the wearer to a greater extent than non-magical armor. Magic Armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses). All magic armor is also masterwork armor, reducing armor check penalties by 1.

In addition to an enhancement bonus, armor may have special abilities . Special abilities usually count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of an item, but do not improve AC. A suit of armor cannot have an effective bonus (enhancement plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A suit of armor with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

Opinion:

I've always seen it ruled as no, you either have Mage Armor or your +1 Leather and not that it becomes, effectively, +1 Mage Armor. Is this correct, or have I been ruling and playing with this wrong?


Maybe I'm blind, but I can't find the DC of a weapon with the Critical effect Wound or Severe Wound. I've found the following (Pg 182):

Wound:
Roll on Table 7–11: Wounding Weapons. The target must succeed at a saving throw of the listed type (if any) or suffer the listed effect. If the creature lacks a specified location, use the general location.

Severe Wound:
Roll twice on Table 7–11: Wounding Weapons and choose your desired result. The target can still attempt any associated save.

Referenced Table: wrote:

TABLE 7–11: WOUNDING WEAPONS

D20 LOCATION SAVE EFFECT
1–10 General — Bleed 1d6
11–13 Eye (sensory) Ref Lost eye, –2 Perception
14–15 Leg (mobility) Fort Severed limb, –10 land speed
16–17 Arm (manipulation) Ref Severed limb, lose a hand
18–19 Vital organ Fort 1d4 Con damage
20 Brain Fort Stunned 1 round

So, if any of you happen to know where I can find them, that would be awesome. If no one can find them... well, I'd like for them to appear! :D Thanks and have a good day!


8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I was doing some reading for a new character and found this Empyreal Lord. Seemed pretty interesting, but I was very confused by the second boon.

"2: Swamp Healer (Sp) You can cast empowered heal 1/day."

Now, to my knowledge, Empowered does nothing on Heal as it has no Variable effects (Dice Rolls). So is this just Heal with a useless Metamagic slapped on?

If you feel it's weird, I recomend hitting the FAQ button.


25 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is not a build question, or a place to state your houserules. I would like to know how this works with the base Pathfinder rules.

Can you Masterwork an Improvised Weapon? Does a Mithral or Adamantine Improvised Weapon receive a +1 enhancement bonus to hit? Furthermore, can you enchant an Improvised Weapon (Without using special abilities like Sohei and the likes)?

I have seen and read through the entirety of many old dead posts that never came to a clear and definitive answer. Some important details:

Improvised Weapon wrote:
Sometimes objects not crafted to be weapons nonetheless see use in combat—commonly bottles, chair legs, stray femurs, and that sort of thing. Because such objects are not designed for this use, any creature that uses an improvised weapon in combat is considered to be nonproficient with it and takes a –4 penalty on attack rolls made with that object. To determine the size category and appropriate damage for an improvised weapon, compare its relative size and damage potential to the weapon list to find a reasonable match. An improvised weapon scores a critical threat on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. An improvised thrown weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.
Masterworking wrote:

A masterwork weapon is a finely crafted version of a normal weapon. Wielding it provides a +1 enhancement bonus on attack rolls.

Without using magic, you can't add the masterwork quality to a weapon after it is created; it must be crafted as a masterwork weapon (see the Craft skill). The masterwork transformation spell transforms a non-masterwork weapon into a masterwork weapon.

The masterwork quality adds 300 gp to the cost of a normal weapon (or 6 gp to the cost of a single unit of ammunition). Adding the masterwork quality to a double weapon costs twice the normal increase (+600 gp).

Masterwork ammunition is damaged (and effectively destroyed) when used. The enhancement bonus of masterwork ammunition does not stack with any enhancement bonus of the projectile weapon firing it.

All magic weapons are automatically considered to be of masterwork quality. The enhancement bonus granted by the masterwork quality doesn't stack with the enhancement bonus provided by the weapon's magic.

Even though some types of armor and shields can be used as weapons, you can't create a masterwork version of such an item that confers an enhancement bonus on attack rolls. Instead, masterwork armor and shields have lessened armor check penalties.

Magic Weapons wrote:
A magic weapon is enhanced to strike more truly and deliver more damage. Magic weapons have enhancement bonuses ranging from +1 to +5. They apply these bonuses to both attack and damage rolls when used in combat. All magic weapons are also masterwork weapons, but their masterwork bonuses on attack rolls do not stack with their enhancement bonuses on attack rolls.
Adamantine wrote:
Adamantine is so costly that weapons and armor made from it are always of masterwork quality; the masterwork cost is included in the prices given below.
Mithral wrote:
Weapons and armors fashioned from mithral are always masterwork items as well; the masterwork cost is included in the prices given below.

If you wish to discuss, I politely ask that you keep it to the rules.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I stumbled upon this today, and as a GM, this is an intriguing thought for when you have a Magus who needs to cool down and let the other players do their thing.

d20pfsrd wrote:
10 Ranks: You can attempt to escape from any entangling effect as a standard action with an Escape Artist check (DC = the effect's save DC + 10)...

link.

d20pfsrd wrote:
The frost of your cold spell clings to the target, impeding it for a short time. A rime spell causes creatures that takes cold damage from the spell to become entangled for a number of rounds equal to the original level of the spell.

link

What would the DC be, if this (Using Signature Skill Escape Artist to break out of Rime Spell) could be done?

If I could get some feedback on this, that would be great