Tinner01's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hello all,
Greater Grapple is about using maintaining a grapple as a move action instead of a standard action, and also let's you use 2 grapple actions instead of 1 in a round.

Maneuver Master (level 1) is about letting you use a full round action to do 2 combat maneuvers, i.e. grapple.

My question is if Greater Grapple may mean 2 grapple actions per grapple, instead of 2 per round. My argument is that Greater Grapple was written with the idea of only 1 grapple per round, not considering one-handed grapples. In other words, use 1 move action to maintain the grapple and use 2 grapple actions (harm, pin), use 2nd move action to do the same and have 4 grapple actions.

When adding Grabbing Style it would be great to be a grapple god.


so say I want to flurry with my natural attacks (assuming i have Feral, etc.)

which numbers do i apply to it? for instance, lvl 8 monk. flurry bonus has +6/+6/+1/+1. i only have 3 natural attacks (claw/claw/bite). they are all primary attacks (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rule s#TOC-Natural-Attacks)

1) do i get a 4th attack somehow? maybe as an unarmed strike

2) in the reverse, if i'm lvl 5 monk, the iterative is +3/+3. do i lose my 3rd natural attack?

3) if my Weapon Focus is claw, is it just claw that gets full BAB and the bite (or any other natural attack) gets the normal -5 iterative penalty when using flurry?

4) i'm able to add the monk's unarmed strike to natural attack damage. is it the difference between normal unarmed strike and monk unarmed strike, or just add all of the monk's "augmented" damage?

FAQ for reference: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1g1#v5748eaic9sgz


Kryptik wrote:
"When casting a spell that allows multiple creatures touched, the act of casting that spell and applying it to up to 6 allies consumes a standard action, but if you can somehow touch over multiple rounds then the act of touching 6 allies consumes a full round."

this seems most likely to me.

If a multiple-target (let's just say communal) spell is discharged in the same round as cast, you can touch up 6 creatures as a free action. (just like a single-target spell; the reason Communal spells are at a higher level)

If a communal spell is discharged in a later round, you can touch up to 6 creatures as a full-round action. i think this is where "touch over multiple rounds" may be interpreted. since a single-target takes a standard to discharge in a later round (from free to standard), rather than saying it takes 6 standards for a communal spell (for 6 creatures) it instead makes sense to become a full-round (from standard to full).

but then it begs a few more clarifications:

1) because a touch attack can be discharged as a free action in the same round as being cast, can it be used with an AoO? free action to discharge and then your normal melee attack

2) how do deal with "target: one creature/level" spells (i.e. water walk, chill touch)? are these just the exception to the *default* 6 creatures?

3) i can wrap my head around most of this except
"Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell."

without this everything else would make sense


just wondering if you can use a swift or immediate action during a full-attack. since you can take a 5-ft step so i would like to assume you could, but it doesn't say anywhere.

for instance, an inquisitor uses a double weapon. full-attack for 2 hits: 1 mook gets hit, swift action to change judgement, 2nd mook gets hit.


that's pretty awesome. whirlwind attack, with a magical reach weapon using Power Attack and Lunge. or even a trip weapon. i don't know why people complain about it so much.


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

So after scouring the boards I am still unclear about what can be stacked with Whirlwind Attack. As written,

"When you use the Whirlwind Attack feat, you also forfeit any bonus or extra attacks granted by other feats, spells, or abilities."

while i have read that people are using things like Power Attack and Lunge with WA, that doesn't seem to match RAW. Power Attack and Lunge are both feats that give you a bonus, so automatically should be forfeit. my understanding is the only damage you get is what your weapon is (base+STR+magic properties), and no other feats to help - not even Weapon Focus or Combat Expertise. i assume i'm wrong since it would be ironic (in the sarcastic non literal sense of the word) that you can't use a stackable prerequisite feat.