Tauveros's page

Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


It might be an editing issue, I don't know. The reason I'm asking is that Qlippoth seem to have a very different form of gaze attack than other creatures with gaze attacks. Medusa and Basilisks, as well as the basic gaze attack rules, all mention the Eyes as the source. Furthermore, none of those other creatures mention taking an action to force a save, they just detail the effects of the gaze attack, whereas the base Qlippoth page states that they may present themselves as a standard action.

My question revolves around this ability- is it actually active all the time? Is it only on the turn after the Qlippoth presents itself? Are you allowed to avert your gaze when you make the save, if it isn't?

It seems to be pretty confusing, simply because of how different from the normal gaze attacks it is. I just need some clarification.


The problem is that my question is whether certain Qlippoth like the Gongorian change how Horrific Appearance is activated. For reference, here is the base Horrific Appearance ability:

Bestiary wrote:
Horrific Appearance (Su): All qlippoth have such horrific and mind-rending shapes that those who gaze upon them suffer all manner of ill effects. A qlippoth can present itself as a standard action to assault the senses of all living creatures within 30 feet. The exact effects caused by a qlippoth’s horrific appearance vary by the type of qlippoth. A successful Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 the qlippoth’s Hit Dice + the qlippoth’s Charisma modifier): reduces or negates the effect. This ability is a mind-affecting gaze attack.

The base Horrific Appearance says that it is activated as a standard action. By this wording, I know that Horrific Appearance's base intent is that, as a standard action, the Qlippoth forces a save using the gaze attack rules, and whatever the specific Qlippoth's ability does is the result. The save only occurs once, but you get the ability to avert your eyes or wear a blindfold, or something similar, thus averting or negating the need to make the save. From that wording, it seems like the Qlippoth's ability is not always on. I am curious as to whether, when the Qlippoth presents itself, you make the save on the spot, or whether you make it on your next turn, choosing whether to avert your eyes or not.

What is confusing is that the Gongorian, specifically, has his Horrific Appearance DC listed under the Aura section of the sheet in the Bestiary, and we don't know if this means that the Gongorian's Horrific Appearance is always on, or if it's just listed there as a reference to find the DC for the base Gongorian's Horrific Appearance. The reason this is confusing is because the Gongorian seems to be the only one to have the DC listed in that section, all other Qlippoth modify the Horrific Appearance extensively, and therefore list their DC in the ability itself.


Hello, my play group and I are currently playing through the Shattered Star AP. We're engaging a lot of Qlippoth nasties at the moment, and there's some confusion as to how Horrific Appearance works.

Is the ability both activated and a standard action for all of them? What are the exceptions? (For instance, for the Gongorian, who has his Horrific Appearance DC listed under Aura, thus leading to the DM thinking that Gongorian Horrific Appearance is Always On, forcing a DC20 Will save per round versus confusion.)

I know that the base Horrific Appearance description doesn't give it the fear descriptor, but I'm curious if some of the Qlippoth's Horrific Appearance abilities are counted as fear effects, and therefore spells like Unbreakable Heart give their save bonus.

What is the plural form of Qlippoth?