Taffete's page

2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Ok

DM_Blake wrote:
The round the spell is cast, everyone in the area must save against the effect. During the rest of the round, anyone moving into the area must save against the effect as soon as they move into it, on their turn. At the start of the caster's next turn, the cloud moves and everyone in the (new) area must save against the effects. Repeat until the fight is over.

seems fair and simple, but....

...only for argument's sake, in this way it seems needless to point out in the spell description that the saves and damage occur in the caster turn, because you can just make saves in the effected creature's turns.

Kayerloth said wrote:
By the same token I would not cause a creature to save more than once in the round either, if for instance, it moved in and out on its turn then somehow ended up in the cloud again on the casters turn during the same round.

After more reads this seems the reason why in the description it says that the saves occur in the caster turn.

A course of action that doesn't break any rules and gives meaning to the spell description is:

the caster casts cloudkill -> creatures in the area save ->
for the rest of the round the caster keeps trace of anyone who entered the area->
the next round the cloud moves-> the creatures traced and those in the new area save-> the caster acts

so we are certain that anyone who enter the cloud must save but he will save/take damage only one time in a round.


I am puzzled by the way this spells works.

I'd like to know how to order the movement of the cloud, the saves of the creatures and the caster's actions in the round.

This is strange to me because as the desciption says, every creatures in the area take Con damage, if not succeeding a save, every round in the CASTER's TURN.

Here some examples:

1° round
caster casts cloudkill->creature in the area must save
2° round
cloud moves->creatures in the new area must save->caster's actions

or

1° round
caster casts cloudkill->creature in the area must save->cloud moves
2°round
caster's actions->creatures in the new area must save->cloud moves

First of all it's important to know if (in the 2° round) the saves must be done before or after the caster acts because he can casts spells to move a target inside the cloud etc.

Furthermore, due to the saves done in the caster's turn, a creature can move in and out of the cloud in her turn without being effected by the spell, is this right?