Hey there,
A friend of mine and I have different interpretations about the rules here, so I'm going to ask the community at large... In the end, I'll play whatever rules my GM decides :).
I'm making a druid. As a 1st level druid I get 3 0-level spells and 1 1st-level spell per day (table 3-7). In addition, because my wisdom is 17 and therefore has a +3 modifier, I get bonus spells: 1 1st level, 1 2nd level, and 1 3rd level.
0 level regular 3, bonus 0
1 level regular 1, bonus 1
2 level regular 0, bonus 1
3 level regular 0, bonus 1
I understand that I can't actually cast a 2nd level or a 3rd level spell until I learn them (at level 3 I get access to 2nd level spells, and at level 5 I get access to 3rd level spells).
One way of looking at it is that each day, I get to memorize 2 1st level spells (because I have only 2 slots in the 1st level). If I metamagic a 1st level spell so that it takes up a 3rd level slot, I still have learned that 1st level spell and still only get to memorize 2 spells.
Another way of looking at it (and better for me, which probably makes it suspect) is based on this paragraph on page 220:
<<Spell slots: ... A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be her due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.>>
Because of this phrase, it looks like I get to prepare 4 first level spells: one for each of the 1st level spots, 1 for the second level spot, and 1 for the 3rd level spot (because I have access to those slots, but not to the higher level of spells that I could theoretically fill them with). If I want, I can metamagic (with empower magic, for instance) a spell so that it takes up that 3rd level slot. In total, though, I get to prepare 4 1st level spells each day, not two.
Thoughts? Thanks!!