Matthew Downie wrote:
Sunnysideup wrote:Mechanics will stay the same for enemies using the spells, any situation where this change would make or break an encounter, it wouldn’t because those enemies would potentially be using this against you.I've heard the "It's not unbalanced because the GM can do it back to you" argument before and I've never found it convincing. Let's say I pass a ruling (for the sake of logical consistency) that means "Reduce Person" doubles the damage output of an archer. Sure, the bad guys could in theory use that on the party, but only when there's an archer and an arcane caster working together. Unless the GM is going to rewrite the campaign around this spell, this won't affect the party in more than 5% of battles. Meanwhile, the party could use it to double their damage output in 100% of battles.
On top of what the other dude said, the change doesn’t break the game at all. It’s barely a notable amount of damage, by no means game breaking.