SirCorius's page

12 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Akadorude wrote:
When one casts as a Swift action you forgo the need for Components

So beast shape plus swift spell is possible?


I am building a Fetchling Summoner for a campaign my friend wants to start. I love the flavor of this archetype and definitely want to be summoning a lot of different monsters for battlefield control and debuffing (yay shadow plane monsters!). I just don't know what to do with my Eidolon. I love the idea of it basically being my shadow and want to build it around that so I want to stick with a biped build. Since mobility is an issue I think I want to use it as a body guard as I work on battle field control. I plan on summoning it via spell after I get my first monster on the field and he can protect me then. I have an idea on his build but I don't know exactly how to execute it. . . .

I envision my eidolon grabbing anyone that enters my immediate area with a slam attack. Upon grappling them I would like him to pin and use those enemies as improvised weapons to slam into other enemies (body bludgeon style) and possibly even throw out at other enemies.

I guess I want to know if this is even possible with the right feats. I don't know if I can grapple multiple enemies if I have the limbs to do so and if I can use them as weapons via multiweapon fighting. Am I reaching to far here? The image of my shadow grabbing and tossing people as they approach just makes me way to happy not to give it a shot. Anyone have any advice?


Why does the underground chemist get the amazing ability to draw alchemical items as if they were weapons? The class that was specifically designed around such weapons (the alchemist) lack this ability. There needs to be a discovery/feat that fixes this for the alchemist.


I have actually been wondering the same. I don't seen the Mandragora on the list of improved familiars though.


I am working on creating an Half-Elf Alchemist. I was wondering how far of a stretch in the rules it would be for using a Glove Sling to throw my flasks. I know there is a "flask thrower" but from the description of the Glove Sling it seems like it could throw a large flask pretty easily.


I am a bit confused on the role of spell casting in a Bloodrager with the blood conduit archetype. The archetype description says:

"Blood conduits learn to channel their arcane might directly through their flesh, without the need for mystical words or gestures."

And at level 5 they get the Spell Conduit Ability:

"At 5th level, as long as a blood conduit is wearing light or no armor, he can deliver bloodrager spells with a range of touch through bodily contact. When he succeeds at a combat maneuver check to bull rush, grapple, pin, reposition, or trip an opponent, or makes an unarmed strike against an enemy, he can as a swift action cast a touch spell on the creature that he affected with the combat maneuver, requiring no further touch attack roll. If this spell would usually require a successful touch attack, his successful combat maneuver check counts as this attack."

This description in the rules says nothing about not having to use somatic or verbal components to the spell. The description of the archetype hints at this however. What are the rules on this? If I make an unarmed attack do I have to use somatic and verbal components? What about concentration checks? Last, if I am playing an arcane bloodline and I am beast shaped can I transfer spells through bodily contact if I don't need those components?


I am playing a human sorcerer and have been taking the favored class bonus of an extra spell with each level. Every even level I am allowed to change my spells and the favored class option says that the bonus spells have to be of a spell level lower than the highest spell I can cast. So at Level 1 2 and 3 I took a cantrips. At level 4 and 5 I took Level 1 spells, 6 and 7 I took Level 2 spells, and now at level 8 I took a level three spell. My question is this. Are these level of spells locked in? I know it states that when you replace spells they have to be of the same level but this rule was in the core and the favored class bonus was in the APG. So am I able to swap out my bonus cantrips for other levels as long as they are below my highest spell level or are they locked in place?


There seems to be a disagreement in my group. Everyone is telling me that I cannot take skill ranks in a skill that requires training to use unless it is a class skill. Basically they are saying I can't take skill ranks in linguistics, knowledge planes, or Knowledge religion as a sorcerer. Is this accurate? I find nothing in the rules that support this and it is pissing me off since it is holding me back from languages and prestige classes.


In this situation it was an angel to scare some daemons and revenants.


I am playing a gnome illusionist in my current campaign and have a few questions regarding illusions and intimidating.

1. Are there any rules for using illusions to intimidate foes during combat? I have scrounged the books and I know demoralizing can be done in combat. Can I assume this can be done with my illusion as long as the foes fail the will save first?

2. If the answer to number 1 is yes, with the feat effortless trickery would my intimidation check become a swift action along with maintaining control of my image?


The descriptors for the Tenebrous Spell Metamagic Feat and the Umbral Wildblooded Arcana are fairly similar but not exact.

Tenebrous Spell (Metamagic)
You blend shadow into your spells, increasing their efficacy at the price of susceptibility to light.

Benefit: When you cast a tenebrous spell in darkness or dim light, the spell’s effective caster level and any associated save DCs are increased by 1. Any attempts at dispelling a tenebrous spell in darkness or dim light take a –2 penalty on the dispel check.

Casting a tenebrous spell in bright light is difficult, and requires a concentration check (DC 15 + twice the tenebrous spell’s effective spell level). Attempts to dispel a tenebrous spell in bright light gain a +4 bonus on the dispel check.

You cannot use this feat on spells with the light descriptor. A tenebrous spell uses up a spell Slot one level higher than the spell’s actual level, except in the case of spells with the darkness or shadow descriptor or of the illusion (shadow) subschool; this feat does not change the effective level of those spells (but still counts as using a metamagic feat for all other purposes).

Umbral Bloodline Arcana:

Whenever you cast a spell in an area of dim light or darkness, your effective caster level is increased by 1.

My question is since they both increase caster levels by 1 in dim light and darkness would they stack? I would think they would given the completely different nature of the sources and the extra weaknesses associated with tenebrous. If they don't, however, how would one get access to Umbral and Shadow Grasp metamagic without wasting a feat?


I am relatively new to playing pathfinder and am conducting a thought experiment to create a Drow or Fetchling ninja character. I have read a lot about taking the Shadow (or Umbral with GM permission) bloodline via Eldrich Heritage to get the Hide in Plain Sight ability. My question is as follows. Is there a point to getting this ability at the 11th level if the ninja can take the invisible blade master trick by level 10? How do the two differ in mechanics? Doesn't the invisible blade master trick kind of negate the point of hide in plain sight minus the whole being able to swap spots with a character? It seems to me a better use to the Eldrich Heritage would be to get a familiar much sooner on rather than trying to cram everything in at later levels. Thoughts?