I was thinking of taking the Shadow bloodline as a sorcerer and you can rake in a pretty impressive stealth check, so I was just wondering - what are the rules of casting a spell while stealthed? I know there is the sniping ability if you are firing a bow, would it work very much the same way?
My friend pointed out to me, ray attacks against a flat footed ac = awesome.
Just wondering, reading through the Dhampir in the beastiary 2 , how much sleep does a Dhampir require? It is half human and half undead, yet ages the same as a elf.
Just wondering what would you guys rule for how much rest one would require? The full 8 hours of a human? None as they are half vampire?
I was reading through the starsoul sorcerer since I'm debating one as my next character (as my rogue had died recently in kingmaker... RIP)
I was reading the bloodline arcana where you cast an evocation spell and if the target fails their save they are dazzled.
My question is, does this also apply to evocation spells that dont offer a save? Ie: magic missile?
Thanks in advance!
Is there anyway to make this at all effective?
I was thinking of making a rogue who specialized in throwing daggers (custom weapon, using the exact same stats as darts), however after throwing his first dagger, he really doesn't get sneak attack after he's been noticed...
Are there any feats to make this more viable? Apparently "Gang up" doesn't work with ranged weapons (BOO! lol) or am I stuck with my first shot = great success, and every other shot after (Unless I make a next to impossible stealth check at lower levels for sniping) useless?
I did some searching on the forum and I honestly couldn't find the answer, so if this has already been discussed , please post the URL.
Basically myself and a friend have been trying to find a good bomber build with the alchemist. We love the idea of potions and bombs, but aren't wanting to build a hulk-esque character that relies on mutagens, so naturally the option of being a bomber is there.
My friend has a cohort that he built up to be this way and is a bomb throwing gnome alchemist and its actually a very potent build!
One thing that makes this a great build is the alchemist variant from the APG:
"Alchemist: Add +1/2 to the number of bombs per day the alchemist can create." at the cost of losing the additional skill rank or hit point.
My question is with the adopted trait it reads:
"You were adopted and raised by someone not of your actual race, and raised in a society not your own.
Benefit: Select a race trait from your adoptive parents’ race. "
It isn't TECHNICALLY considered a racial trait, however it is a benefit to the race via the "favored class option" so would/could it apply?
I suppose rules as WRITTEN - since it's not specifically listed under the traits I could see the answer being a firm "no" , but maybe rules as intended (since it seems to me the "adopted" trait has quite a bit of grey area) that since it is something that could be considered learned and not born with, I could see the answer being "Yes"
I guess what I mean is with the "Adopted" trait, it's completely acceptable to say a human raised by elfs can easily quantify having the weapon familiarity:
"Weapon Familiarity: Elves are proficient with longbows (including composite longbows), longswords, rapiers, and shortbows (including composite shortbows), and treat any weapon with the word “elven” in its name as a martial weapon."
Since that would be considered "learned" whereas they couldn't have low light vision:
"Low-Light Vision: Elves can see twice as far as humans in conditions of dim light. See Vision and Light"
Since that is something you are born with. Yet both Low-light vision and Weapon familiarity are considered "traits" for all intents and purposes as rules as written for the "adopted" trait.
So from the players handbook, the rangers hunters bond 2nd choice says:
Now on page 48 on of the Pathfinder Chronicles: campaign setting the variant says:
Enhanced Compainion(Ex): Upon gaining an animal companion at 4th level the ranger must choose a single type of animal. the ranger cannot call a differnt animal compainion. The ranger's effective druid level is equal to the ranger's level -2 (instead of the normal 1/2) for that type of animal. This animal must be on the basic list of companions that can be chosen at 4th level and canot be changed.
So , lets clear this up - in the players handbook it says the pet acts as druid level , -3, yet the campaign setting says it is "normal 1/2" ?
I'm inclined to go with the players handbook since its, well, the core rules. So, that basically makes the ranger variant almost completely useless. Or am I just misreading something?
So I understand for the purpose of using the Wild Enchant on armor, it only applies to wild shape, and not if say a wizard who had armor with the wild enchant casted beast shape on himself.
That being said, when you transform into an animal using wild shape, can you then cast Animal Growth on yourself to increase your size?
Seems to be a bit of a gray area since wild shape does act like beast shape, but it is a different type of an effect (supernatural vs spell)
Not sure if im posting this in the correct area, but it seemed the closest...
Anyway my group dabbles in 3.5 alongside of Pathfinder, and I'm trying to track down an enchant that I believe was +3 to a weapon that would change the compound of the weapon to any metal you needed to bypass damage reduction (alchemist silver, adamantine, cold iron, etc). I BELIEVE it was called "Admixture" but any combination of googling of the words "enchant" "3.5" "D&D" "admixture" always brings up 4e stuff, or "arcane admixture" or "eldritch admixture" ... I MAY be wrong on the name of the enchant.
I've sifted through a good portion of my books and a few of my friends have a ton of other books, but I just wanted to see if anybody recollects this enchant and could tell me which book it's in.
Thanks in advance guys, this is making me crazy! lol
edit: I'll add, I am aware that pathfinder has changed how damage reduction works and now a +5 weapon will bypass all types, however I'm thinking more in line with a druid using an amulet of mighty fists - so he can have the +3<insert name of enchant here im looking for> , +2 holy then cast greater magic fang on myself.
Just reading amulet of Mighty Fists...
`This amulet grants an enhancement bonus of +1 to +5 on attack and damage rolls with unarmed attacks and natural weapons.
Alternatively, this amulet can grant melee weapon special abilities, so long as they can be applied to unarmed attacks. See Table: Melee Weapon Special Abilities for a list of abilities. Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses. An amulet of mighty fists cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents) higher than +5. An amulet of mighty fists does not need to have a +1 enhancement bonus to grant a melee weapon special ability.`
So basically if I bought a Holy , Flaming, Frost, Shock (+5) amulet, and then I cast Greater Magic Fang, would the two stack (thus giving me a +5 enchant bonus and all of the benefits of the amulet)
I could have posted this in my last thread about treantmonk's guide and allowing shields, however this is a separate issue/concern that can basically be solved with a simple "yes" or "no"
When a druid has the WILD enchant to his armor, does this mean when he wildshapes he is restricted to the dex cap of that type of armor? I'm leaning towards "Yes" but I just wanted to be sure. I could see the counter argument that the armor has melded to the wearer's new shape so it's restrictions do not apply.
Remember, there's no such thing as stupid questions... only stupid people ;)
Just making reference to Treantmonk's guide:
First of all, I want to start off saying amazing guide! All of Treantmonks guides are amazing reference material, especially for druid since it has changed so much. I was reading it last night after my session of gaming last night when I hit 4th level and obtained wild shape , and now I want to try and figure out how is it best to use wild shape... I stumbled upon this
Shields: As of the current rules, Shield bonus to AC translates into Wildshape. As such, a large wooden shield seems like a pretty obvious starting item. As you progress, a magic shield should be of greater priority than magic armor, as the enhancement bonus to shield should also translate. Not needing a "wild" enchantment means you can open the door for other enchantments like Fortification, though you may just want the highest enhancement bonus possible instead.
I'm just wondering where exactly does it state that shield still applies in wild shape? First I thought I misread/misinterpreted that as it was 2:00 am when I was reading it, but I kept reading on;
In the math above, you can see Treantmonk had added +2 from the shield and +1 from the shield's enchantment to the AC. I was reading over Transmutation and polymorph this morning the more I thought about it, and it says:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. ...
So I referenced the armor enchantment chart and re-read the wild enchant (LAST QUOTE I PROMISE!!!! LOL)
So does that mean shields NEED to have the wild enchant? Treantmonk's guide seems to state otherwise.... believe me, I'd rather go with treantmonk's guide, but I need to justify it to my group as to why the bonuses apply. A lot of my party reads this forum as well so it would make great reference for next weeks session as well. Lastly, if the shield bonus does apply without requiring the WILD enchant, why in God's name would anybody put the WILD enchant on a shield?!
Got my email saying:
"A package containing 1 item from Paizo Order #1241957 is about to ship from the Paizo warehouse via USPS First-Class Mail, estimated 7 to 11 business days in transit."
Naturally I had the Charlie and the Chocolate factory experience where I ran along yelling down the road I found the golden ticket (k... didn't do that...) Anyway, I kept checking "My Downloads" and alas no Bestiary is available for download :(
I thought after the book gets shipped I could download the .pdf? I really want to update my druid character for this weekend and was wondering what the ETA of availability for the PDF is?
I ordered a copy of the core rulebook and I received it in the mail Friday (Thank you very much btw! this is a heck of a book!) Looking at my subscription i see:
Est. Date Estimated Current
Is it possible to cancel any further orders ? All i really needed was the corerulebook, my dm is going to order the other ones on his own later.
If you need the order # from the core rulebook it is #1224420
I was working on my druid and looking at 8th level druid you gain Beast Shape III, Elemental body II, plant shape I.
Looking at 10th level druid I see you get elemental body III, plant shape II.
12th level you get Elemental Body IV and plant shape III.
Wait... where did beast shape IV go? According to the progression, shouldn't beast shape IV fall into the 10th level bracket?
Was Beast shape IV omitted for any reason or was it just accidently forgotten? (I didn't see anything in the errata section).
Thanks in advance guys!