Sarimbel's page

Organized Play Member. 9 posts (11 including aliases). No reviews. 1 list. 1 wishlist. 2 Organized Play characters. 2 aliases.


RSS


I was looking through the topics, but didn't find the answer to my question.
So, let's see, we have a blade that's hidden in the cane. We can release it as a swift action. So, we have a blade in one hand and a cane in another. Here are the questions:
1. Is the cane part of the sword cane an improvised weapon? Can it benefit from Power Attack, or it's a light weapon (like scabbard) and benefit from Weapon Finesse?
2. If the sword cane wasn't released, does it count as an improvised weapon? Does it benefit from Weapon Finesse?


Rod of balance:
ROD OF BALANCE
Price 15,000 gp; Aura faint abjuration; CL 5th; Weight 5 lbs.
This short, slender rod appears to be crafted from solid iron, though it is incredibly light. In this shortened form, the rod has no powers. However, when the wielder pushes a small button on one end of the rod (a move action), the rod springs open to a 5-foot length, and its powers become available for use.
Once extended, the rod possesses several powers that add to the wielder's acrobatic abilities. The wielder of the rod receives a +10 competence bonus on all Acrobatics checks involving long jumps and high jumps; additionally, the wielder covers double the normal distance for a jump when making an Acrobatics check. The individual holding the rod also gain a +4 dodge bonus to AC when fighting defensively instead of the usual +2 bonus. Also, while using this item, the user of the rod cannot be knocked prone, and takes only half damage from falling. A rod of balance emits a faint aura of the abjuration and transmutation schools.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS
Cost 7,500 gp
Craft Rod, cat's grace, feather fall, jump

Acrobatics special:
Special: If you have 3 or more ranks in Acrobatics, you gain a +3 dodge bonus to AC when fighting defensively instead of the usual +2, and a +6 dodge bonus to AC when taking the total defense action instead of the usual +4.

The question is, do these bonuses stack as they are both dodge bonuses, or not?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If monk is forced to block his flurry of blows (i.e. by wearing armor), and want to make additional unarmed attack, what will be the penalty for that attack? The problem is in this rule:

Spoiler:
Unarmed Strike: At 1st level, a monk gains Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk's attacks may be with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk may make unarmed strikes with his hands full. There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed. A monk may thus apply his full Strength bonus on damage rolls for all his unarmed strikes.

I can see next decisions:
1. Additional unarmed attack takes off-hand penalty for light weapon (-8) for attack rolls, and full Strength bonus on damage rolls.
2. Additional unarmed attack takes main-hand penalty (-4) for attack rolls, and full Strength bonus on damage rolls.

Thank You for Your attention.


Does Phantom Limb take bonus to damage from feats and traits (i.e. Power Attack, Dirty Fighter, etc.)? Does it count as an unarmed strike for the purposes of Weapon Focus?


Could the Beastmorph's bonuses be added while creating Cognatogen due to "it works just like the mutagen ability" or the alchemist can add these bonuses only to the mutagen?


Dear James, here're some questions:

1. Don't You know if there are going to be books fot Neutral and Evil Aligments, as the "Champions of Purity" for Good ones?
2. In Your vision, could the alchemist's Breath Weapon Bomb discovery be combined with the Fast Bombs discovery to make several breath attacks in one round?
3. Can You explain how does the Boar Style feat's additional damage actually work and how does it work in bound with Boar Shred feat's bleed damage?


Topping


Kazumetsa, Cap
Sorry but I do see a conflict in Wordings. Let me explain:
RAW Boar Style feat damage: "tear flesh" 2d6 bleed => use normal bleed rules => creature takes damage at the start of it turn, do not stack with bleed with the same kind of damage.
Boar Shred feat: 1d6 bleed damage, activated by "tear flesh" (which means that creature already takes 2d6 bleed damage) => use rules for several bleed effects, and both tear flesh and boar shred deal same type of damage => counting damage, we have that 1d6<2d6 => boar shred's bleed damage is nullified. I doubt that it's normal when the feat that is a prerequisite makes its next feat weaker.


47 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

My character (human alchemist/monk) is interested in learning the Boar Style, but I've found out that I can't understand its mechanics. On the first view, a character using Boar Style feat can hit one enemy with at least two unarmed strikes to "tear flesh", dealing 2d6 bleed damage. Going through conditions, we can see next:

Quote:
Bleed: A creature that is taking bleed damage takes the listed amount of damage at the beginning of its turn. Bleeding can be stopped by a DC 15 Heal check or through the application of any spell that cures hit point damage (even if the bleed is ability damage). Some bleed effects cause ability damage or even ability drain. Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage. When two or more bleed effects deal the same kind of damage, take the worse effect. In this case, ability drain is worse than ability damage.

That's looking correct, but then we get to the Boar Shred feat, where we see: "While using Boar Style, whenever you tear an opponent's flesh, once per round at the start of that opponent's turn he takes 1d6 bleed damage. The bleed damage dealt while using Boar Style persist even if you later switch to a different style." But if the Boar Style's feat damage is actually bleed damage, it means that the opponent already has a stronger bleed damage on himself, and Boar Shred feat's damage is nullified, as it is weaker than initial 2d6 bleed damage. Though it could be helpful if the damage from Boar Style was usual damage, not bleed damage. Furthermore, does the last sentence of Boar Shred's feat benefit means that opponent ends bleed effect if I change or end Boar Style? I've searched faqs and erratas about this question and found nothing.