![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() So I have a player using the Inquisitor archetype "Kinslayer" which gives him a brand ability
Quote: Slayer's Brand (Su): When using this judgment, the kinslayer gains the ability to brand undead creatures with positive energy. To do so, she must make a successful melee touch attack against the undead creature. This attack deals an amount of positive energy damage equal to 1d6 + the kinslayer's Charisma score, and burns her personal symbol into the undead creature's flesh, bone, or even its incorporeal form. From that point onward, the kinslayer can sense the existence of the branded creature as if it were the target of a locate creature spell (caster level equal to 1/2 the kinslayer's inquisitor level). A slayer's brand lasts until the undead creature is destroyed or until the kinslayer uses this ability on another creature. and also for a Greater Brand he picked up Holy Brand Quote: Holy Brand: The kinslayer can use her brand on creatures with the evil subtype as well as undead. Now, he tried to use this on an evil-subtype creature and say that it dealt damage to the creature. No where do I see that the Holy Brand changes the damage type from Positive Energy, so I have to assume that even though he can "brand" evil creatures, the damage does not apply. Am I reading that correctly or am I missing something? ![]()
![]() Not really sure if this is the correct forum to post this in but we shall see. Anyways, I've been trying and trying to figure out a way that the Two-Weapon Warrior archetype makes more sense for an actual dual wielding fighter than the base fighter class but I'm having so much trouble due to the lack of synergy between the archetype's skills. For example, Quote:
The archetype replaces the default fighter's weapon training with this piece of crap that requires you to full-attack to get the bonuses. "But they get more abilities for each level of weapon training like Double Strike and Equal Opportunity!" Wonderful! NONE OF THEM WORK with Twin Blades. So in addition to removing the default fighter's bonuses from his REGULAR attacks and his attacks of opportunity, you don't even get your bonus on your special, archetype abilities. In addition to that, take a look at Improved/Perfect balance. Quote:
Quote:
The way it is written if a Two-weapon warrior is using a one-handed weapon in his offhand, Perfect Balance GIVES NO BENEFIT whatsoever (unless I'm not understanding something here). Considering how long this archetype has been around without any changes I may be missing something in the actual use of this archetype but from where I'm standing it seems...lacking at best. Does anyone see something I'm missing? ![]()
![]() The final paragraph of the "Deadly Dealer" feat reads: Quote: A spellcaster with this feat can enhance a deck of cards as though it were a ranged weapon with 54 pieces of ammunition. This enhancement functions only when used in tandem with this feat, and has no affect on any other way the cards might be used. Only a character who possesses this feat can make use of an enhanced deck of cards, and must still use the Arcane Strike feat to activate the cards’ enhancement. When I first looked at the feat it seemed to me that in order to use this feat one would have to pay for the enhancements as if the cards were ammunition. However upon reading that paragraph I'm not quite as convinced. So my question is this: does this feat allow us to treat a deck as a weapon for which we simply have to buy more ammunition for in order for the enhancements to stay with us or do we have to spend gold on enhancing the cards as if they were ammunition? ![]()
![]() So I recently acquired a spell storing set of full-plate for my paladin and so I've been considering multiple choices for what types of spells to put in the armor. The fact that the stored spell only targets the person who hits you limits the options to mostly offensive spells, which the paladin is sorely lacking in as his spells are mostly oriented towards himself. Thus you usually need someone else to store the spell for you, except in a few instances. Now, currently my paladin claimed the Oath against Fiends which, at 4th level casting, gives him Plane Shift. So my question is this: Can I store Plane Shift in my armor and use it to shoot some other creature into another plane? From everything I'm reading I can but that just seems too...trollzy to be fair XD ![]()
![]() Quote: At 4th level, a myrmidarch can use spellstrike to cast a single-target touch attack ranged spell and deliver it through a ranged weapon attack. Even if the spell can normally affect multiple targets, only a single missile, ray, or effect accompanies the attack. At 11th level, a myrmidarch using a multiple-target spell with this ability may deliver one ray or line of effect with each attack when using a full-attack action, up to the maximum allowed by the spell (in the case of ray effects). Any effects not used in the round the spell is cast are lost. So I have a question about the above. When one uses "normal" spellstrike one can miss with an attack while holding a charge and hold it indefinitely. In the Ranged Spellstrike ability the phrase "Any effects not used in the round the spell is cast are lost." I'm assuming prevents me from holding charges between rounds. So like say I had 3 charges of Chill Touch and could only attack twice in the round I cast it, I'd lose the third charge, right? If that's the case it sucks, but I can deal with it. However there's another situation that isn't quite so clearly labeled to me. Say you cast Shocking Grasp with metamagic Reach (or simply Snowball if you'd prefer since it has to be a ranged touch). You only get one charge of it but the damage goes up based on caster level. The way the ability is phrased sounds to me like you put the charge into the ranged weapon which then transfers into the projectile. That's well and good if you're using a bow of some sort...but say you were using a throwing weapon? If I'm reading this right you imbue the charge into the thrown weapon (shuriken, dagger, whatever) and then throw it. So my question is this: What happens to the charge if you miss? If the ranged weapon clatters to the floor does it discharge the spell and it's just wasted? Or do you get to hold on to the charge until you make a successful connection assuming you make one that round via multiple attacks? I hope it's the latter but the former does make sense in some respects XD ![]()
![]() So I was scrolling through some of the iconic characters and I realized the level 1 Iconic Oracle gets Cure Light Wounds as an "At will" spell for level 0 spells. How is that possible considering CLW is a lvl 1 spell? Am I missing something in her description? For reference here is what I'm looking at:
![]()
![]() So I know back in the old days when my group of gamers was fluctuating a bit I (as the GM) would run a PC of my own to help round out the party whenever it was needed. It was fun but also...difficult at times especially when I ended up killing my own character but hey that's simply being fair. So my question is this, in PFS is there a rule preventing GMs from running their own characters through a game? I'm assuming there is but I was unable to find any direct reference to this in the manual (wouldn't be the first time I missed something though). Obviously there would be an issue of playing fair but whenever that comes into question I tend to use dice to roll to decide who my monsters attack instead of me personally picking them. |