Santobon's page

Organized Play Member. 53 posts (80 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 1 alias.


RSS

1 to 50 of 53 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

For instance, if the Summoner got Cat Fall or Feather Step. Would the Eidolon also get it too?


Captain Morgan wrote:
Trixleby wrote:

Per CRB page 580, also found on Archives of Nethys:

to quote an excerpt: "The DC of the Crafting check to transfer a rune is determined by the item level of the rune being transferred, and the Price of the transfer is 10% of the rune’s Price, unless transferring from a runestone, which is free. If you’re swapping, use the higher level and higher Price between the two runes to determine these values. It takes 1 day (instead of the 4 days usually needed to Craft) to transfer a rune or swap a pair of runes, and you can continue to work over additional days to get a discount, as usual with Craft."

The problem is that rule would apply when the party is doing it themselves. If a third party is being hired to do it, they should charge for their time, just the material cost.

I like breith's suggestion of skilled labor, but I'd say it doesn't make as much sense to use that rate for high level runes because of the higher degree of difficulty requiring a better craftsman. I personally use the Earn Income tables to pick a price equal to the level of the rune.

As far as giving the merchant a formula for a new rune... I'd mostly just charge the sales price if the merchant can keep a copy of the formula for future use. Maaaaybe charge them with similar Earn Income pricing if you're making the process take 4 days.

Some very good points.

Cause on the one hand: I want to make my life easy as possible.
But on the other, I don’t want it to be so cost prohibitive that they don’t use the Merchants. At the same time, I don’t want it to be so cheap that they don’t try to do crafting themselves.


The Gleeful Grognard wrote:
Full price if you let them work till it is half cost. Double price if you expect it to be expedited for one day.

I do like your idea about getting it done in 1 day. I mean yeah sure, breaks the rules. But whatever. At least it presents that option of: “Hey if you REALLY need it now. I can, it’s just going to cost extra.”


So my players have come into there possession of a Runestone (Weapon Potency +1), and a formula for an uncommon Rune (Crushing). No one in the party has the means to do Magical Crafting. I know for a fact they’ll take to the towns magical merchant to apply these runes. I also know the Merchant won’t have the formula of the crushing Rune on hand.

But I don’t know how much to charge them to do either.

I was thinking: Runestone, they’d just charge them 10% of the cost and it would take a day.

For the formula, be 50% of the cost and take a day. They would offer to transfer the Rune for free, but they get to keep the formula for themselves.

How does that sound?


So a Fighter picked a Cantrip Full pack.

Using the Cantrip Deck (Full Pack). I know the deck: "..casts that cantrip as a 1st-level spell, with a DC of 15 and a spell attack modifier of +5"

Now if he used the deck to cast Divine Lance. Which states: "On a hit, the target takes damage of the chosen alignment type equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier."

What would the damage be for divine lance? 1d4+_?


So normally I write session summaries for my group.

But, to take the work off my shoulders and encourage note taking.

I was thinking of having my players submit their own summaries. If I like them, they can start off with an extra hero point next session (This would be in addition to the hero point they start off each session with). And the one I like the most, I’d post on my game’s summary.

Thoughts? Not sure how game breaking it would be to having (some of) them start off with 2 Hero Points? I’m pretty stingy rewarding hero points in session, where I typically only reward 1 during a 3 hour session. So maybe it evens out?


breithauptclan wrote:

Continual Recovery does not remove the rule from Treat Wounds that the time spent treating wounds overlaps with the immunity time.

So yes, with Continual Recovery you can immediately use Treat Wounds again after the 10 minutes of using Treat Wounds on the same character.

The balance point of that is to make it match up with focus point HP recovery like Lay on Hands, Goodberry, or Hymn of Healing, etc. Characters with those spells can cast the spell, then refocus for 10 minutes, then cast the spell again.

That makes sense.


Treat Wounds States: “The target is then temporarily immune to Treat Wounds actions for 1 hour, but this interval overlaps with the time you spent treating (so a patient can be treated once per hour, not once per 70 minutes).” (Core 249)

While Continual Recovery states: “When you Treat Wounds, your patient becomes immune for only 10 minutes instead of 1 hour.” (Core 260)

My question is if someone’s wounds are treated by a healer (who has the feat) and the 10 minutes has passed to do the action:
Can the healer immediately attempt to treat there wounds again? Or do they still have to wait 10 minutes before trying again?

I’m just a bit confused over RAW and RAI. Because, if they could immediately try again. Wouldn’t Continual Recovery just say the patient doesn’t take the temporarily immunity to Treat Wounds? Or am I just splitting hairs?


Do you guys’ limit when player’s attempt to redo another players failed check?

What I mean is:

Player A: “So I’m looking at this strange statue, can I try to figure out what it is?”

DM (Me): “Sure, that’ll be a Recall Knowledge Secret Religion check.”

Player A: Rolls a Failure

DM: “Yeah, your mind is fuzzy and drawing a blank.”

Player B/C/D: “Can I give a try?”

I mean I get it; an argument could be made. During the time that other characters would see this statue and think “Huh I wonder what this is, I’m going to search my knowledge.” But I’ve noticed it slows down my game when everyone is rolling for the same check. And takes the spotlight away from them achieving the check.

Of course, there are a few exceptions, some checks require you to be at least trained or even expert, if form a published Adventure Path.

Some checks aren’t important for the story. Like trying to climb a wall to get to the other side. In those instances, I could see others or even the same player who failed the attempt. Try and redo it. In such case I’d say “I can hand wave the roll but it will take you x amount of time to pass the check.”

My thought to limit this:
- If a player wants to try and achieve the same check another player failed, they must have a given proficiency.
- When I ask for the Check, I ask anyone within the area. If they are attempting the check as well or aiding the person. If they fail other players cannot attempt the check. Unless something changes, like the passage of time, players learn some new information tied to the statue.

Or am I being a curmudgeon wanting to limit this?


Cordell Kintner wrote:

I mistakenly thought Status let you know if someone had an affliction back in AV, when my party came across a nasty one.

** spoiler omitted **

Moral of the story: If an affliction isn't immediately obvious but you know the creature you fight carries it, you should let them do some sort of check to figure it out, or give them access to an NPC who can find out for them for a cost.

From what I gather in this forum.

I would rule, unless said otherwise:
For Poisons:
If the onset occurs while the other players are witnessing it. Then they know you are poisoned.

If the onset occurs later, minutes/hours, like Belladonna. Then the other players will have to make a separate check to recognize that you have been poisoned.

Diseases and Curses:
A separate check is required to recognize that you are diseased/cursed.

Reason:
I want to limit the amount of needless checks. To me, it makes sense that someone, even without medical/poisoning training could recognize “Hey, after Tim got stabbed by that blade, he’s been bleeding more and acting really woozy. I think he’s poisoned.”

Oh of course, I would have an avenue open for the players try to cure/discover an affliction if they can't figure out what it is.

Nice I'm running AV too. They are only Level 2 so I'll have to worry about that later.


If a player is under an affliction (Let's say poisoned), is there any check a player (The one that wasn’t poisoned) needs to pass to know that? Or do you just hand-wave it and say they know?


breithauptclan wrote:

Strange. The Ghost Mage entry in AoN lists detect magic, ghost sound, mage hand, prestidigitation as the cantrips.

If I was to guess, I would guess Read Magic would mean Read Aura too.

Yeah, I'm not sure if I should let AoN know. Cause, I'd just be alerting them of not listing a mistake from the book.


Within the Bestiary 1 Pg. 167. The Ghost Mage is listed as having the Cantrip: Read Magic.

Which doesn't exist in PF2E.

I was looking around and couldn't find any errata's. Could it mean Read Aura instead?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Xenocrat wrote:

It had never occurred to me that spreading swarm might apply weapon specialization damage. I don't think it does, but I suppose it's perhaps somewhat ambiguous.

The feat says:

Weapon Specialization wrote:
You gain specialization in that weapon type, which means you add your character level to damage with the selected weapon type...

The issue is when you do damage "with" the weapon type. Are you doing the damage "with" the weapon, or with the ability called Spreading Swarm, which just happens to borrow its damage calculation from your weapon dice? I think the latter, but I could see it going the other way.

The same would apply to the Arc critical weapon effect, which provides a separate dice damage from the normal damage. Is the Arc damaging you "with" the weapon, or with the critical effect conceptually separate from the weapon itself?

A very reliable canon of interpreation with Paizo rules is: which of these options sucks relative to the other one? That is almost always the correct answer.

Exactly, I’ll probably rule that it doesn’t factor in weapon specialization. That it takes the weapon die alone, I would account if the weapon was boosted since that is adding a damage die to it.

Plus, it doesn’t specify you can use weapon specialization. Where with other Nanocyte abilities like: Esoteric Edge, Swarm Strike and Heavy Weapon Edge specifically state you can.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, you’re right. A few players characters died, and their new PC’s are ones no has played before. So of course they come to me with questions. So I have been doing a crash course on learning how: Vanguards and Nanocytes work with less then 4 days


First question, when can I use a Nanite Surge?
For example let’s say on my turn I use my Cloud Array. After my turn, in the middle of another PC/NPC’s turn. Can I then use a Nanite Surge to grant my Cloud Array Concealment? Or does that only work when it’s been created?

Second question, for Spreading Swarm: Do I factor in Weapon Specialization Damage or just the rolled damage?

Last question, with Swarm Strike:

Ok So I know Swarm Strike:
- Sheath Array Must be formed
- You use a Nanite Surge to gain the special Unarmed strike

My question is, if I spend a Nanite Surge for Swarm Strike, with the Sheath Array Activated:
- Does it last per attack? If I want to do a full Attack with it, would I have to spend a nanite surge for each attack?
- Or do I spend 1 Nanite Surge per round? So, if I wanted to do a full attack with it, I only had to spend 1 nanite surge?
- Or does it last until the Sheath Array goes away?


Ok, so if a Solarian used Constellation Blast a single enemy, let's say they are at least size Huge.

And positioned the 10 radius bursts to be touching the enemy, yet not intersecting. (I did test this and it is possible).

Would they have to roll a Reflex save against each burst to save against the 5d6 damage 3 times?

Or just have them roll 1 save to save against 5d6 damage only once?


Ahh, I see what you mean.

So Witchwarpers: (Assuming it's not at Will): Do expend Spell slots normally for spells.

And there is a guaranteed pool of 3 spell slots per cast at will or don’t have listed spell level thing.

The verbiage threw me for a loop.


I’m a little bit confused with the Witchwarper’s NPC special rules on AA4 Pg. 151.

Someone said wrote:
"Because an NPC spellcaster doesn’t receive the same number of spell slots as a PC spellcaster at higher CRs, a witchwarper NPC only expends spell slots to power their infinite worlds ability for spell levels at which they receive specific numbers of spell slots per day. For spell levels they can cast at will or don’t have listed, the NPC effectively has three spell slots of each level that can only be used to power their infinite worlds ability. For example, a CR 10 witchwarper NPC effectively has three 2nd-level spell slots and three 1st-level spell slots for their infinite worlds ability."

(AA4 Pg. 151)

So does that mean, the Witchwarper doesn't expend spell slots when casting spells?

With their example, I'm not sure how they came to the conclusion a CR 10 Witchwarper NPC has 3 x 2nd Lvl spells lots and 3 x 1st lvl spell slots (For their infinite worlds ability).

Cause it goes counter against the rules for Spells for NPCS in AA1 Pg. 143 and rules for the Witchwarper in CharOps Pg. 60.


Garretmander wrote:

They are not making an attack roll, I wouldn't apply a miss chance.

I also just wouldn't apply a miss chance regardless, because they already won at that point.

Yeah I was leaning towards that. Just be insult to injury.


So, the party is in a fight, the player in question. Low on health cast invisibility on themselves.

One of the players threw a grenade, nat 1, and it instead hit the invisible player. Who is now at 0 hp.

I allowed the party to do a notice check to realize that their friend is down. (Heard the sound of a body collapsing where he stood.) They all passed.

One of them ran over and intends to give them a serum of healing.

Now it's a full action to give one. But because they are invisible, they have total concealment, 50% miss chance.

Would I give the 50% miss chance for the serum of healing being applied?

It was the end of the session so I paused the fight and explained I'd give me ruling next time.


That makes sense, thank you.


So let’s say, there is an Azer, which has weakness to cold. And they then cast Resistant Armor, Lesser on their self.

They pick Cold and Acid. So they now have Resistance 5 for cold and Acid.

How much damage would they take if they got hit with 8 Cold Damage.


That makes sense. I just over thought the problem.


With Gravitic Calling:

Could they use this ability multiple times and stack? Like, let's the duration is Caster level = Solarian level.

In this case the Solarian is lvl 9. So the creatures would be up for 9 rounds.

Would that mean, after 8 rounds, assuming they used there stellar revelation as soon as they got it. They could have 4 to 6 friendly NPCs?

Or would the rules for multiple bonuses on Pg. 266 of the core book apply? Preventing the Solarian from stacking his summoned creatures?


True true. I think the Biohacker could really use an Errata. Or at least an FAQ.
But, after a few shower thoughts I think I have an easier solution:
Create a new Minor biohack, that’d be available for all Biohackers at Level 1. It’d allow the Biohacker to Deliver 1 Serum to a target at range, expending the Serum that was sent.

That way it’s covered by the rules for targets being attuned to the MIcrolab. And limits the Biohacker to only deliver 1 serum per round.


Yeah that makes sense. My biohack player asked me a question and when I did some digging. Found out Biohackers still had to roll to send Serums to willing/attuned targets at range.

Which seemed strange. Since Injection weapons are very niche. And the Biohacker class is built around that.


With Biohackers. I know RAW you still need to roll if you want to deliver Serums to pc's/npcs at range through darts.

Now I'm not sure if I like that rule a whole lot.

Would it be OP/Game-breaking if I added a homebrew for Injection Expert:
Provided the Injection weapon is loaded with the necessary amount of Serums. The "Target" is within your custom microlab's and injection weapon range. You can also use a ranged injection weapon to deliver a Serum to a willing ally you have attuned your custom microlab to as a standard action without making an attack roll once per round.

If trying to deliver a multiple Serums at range within the same combat round. You must make an attack roll for each Serum. Also taking into consideration of the penalties of a Full Attack.

What are your thoughts on this?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

All good points.

I completely forgot about the Four States of Awareness. I'll probably do what you guys recommended. Let it be a free action, aka banter, for them to point the enemy out. The thing would still have total concealment. But at least they have a chance to hit the thing.

In the interest of fairness. I'll drop hints to the players that this enemy can become invisible. Early enough so they can get a level up, so maybe 3 to 4 sessions, before meeting the BBEG. That way, they have enough time to plan to do something.


Context: My players will be facing off against an enemy who has Greater invisibility.
Only one of them is a spell caster and has the spell: See Invisibility. So far they are the only one who would be able to see them.

How would I handle if only one person can see an invisible creature and tries to point out their position to the party. Like “Hey, he is right there!” Like what type of action would it take to do that? Would I have them do a check? What DC? And how big of a bonus would I grant the players for trying to do a Notice Check?

I was thinking...Ask them to do a swift action-> to do a Physical Science check (Cause physical science covers the sciences. Which can deal with math and distance.) with a +2. Still figuring out what the DC would be.

Now they could do the same "Aid" check as a Standard action to grant the Party a +6

Cause I see as a swift action you are quickly trying to say "Over there." Where's with a standard Action. Your spending more time to better articulate the position of the enemy.


breithauptclan wrote:
Santobon wrote:
-Are Runes Formulas? Like, when a player picks up a Rune, is it an actual Rune? Or the formula of a Rune?

It is an actual rune. Rune formulas are formula items just like any other formula. You could reverse engineer the formula from the rune item, but will by default destroy the item in the process.

Santobon wrote:
-Are Runes/Formulas consumables? Like once you use them to make/etch something. Is the formula/rune gone? Or can you keep using it?
Formulas are not consumables. You can keep using formulas repeatedly. You do have to pay the material and time cost for the item for each one that you create.

So if a player gets there hand on a single Rune. Can etch they etch that rune onto other weapons/armor multiple times with the same rune they got?


I know the crafting/upgrade rules are a bit dense. But I’m confused with Formulas and Runes

-Are Runes Formulas? Like, when a player picks up a Rune, is it an actual Rune? Or the formula of a Rune?

-Are Runes/Formulas consumables? Like once you use them to make/etch something. Is the formula/rune gone? Or can you keep using it?


Garretmander wrote:

Yes, yes, no, yes.

Though, there might be a weird case where the vesk chooses to stop operating his large armor to retrieve a serum of healing and drink it while chilling inside but not operating his armor... I'm less certain there.

Yeah I think with the whole using items while wearing heavy armor. I'll probably just handwave that. Cause I don't want to get in debates with "Are you holding onto the items on your person or on your power armor?" Unless you know, while in the power armor. They are wearing a glove of storing or attached a serum of healing to a gear clamp onto there light armor.

Fair enough, a player (Vesk) made a Soldier- Armor Storm. And was confused if they could use there hands or not. Which the wording in Armory, made me a little bit confused too.

Thank you.


So I’m a bit confused with your hands and there usage in power armor.

It reads: “Ranged weapons can be installed in most powered armor. The maximum number is equal to the powered armor’s weapon slots.” (Core 204)

It also reads: “Powered armors of Large or greater size use their own arms and hands, rather than allowing the user to manipulate objects or weapons with their own hands. Operating such a suit of powered armor requires all your hands to be free (within the armor’s cockpit) and allows you use of all the armor’s hands. Large and bigger suits of powered armor have two arms and hands unless specified otherwise. Powered armors of Medium or smaller size allow the operator to use its own limbs (however many that is), and does not require any hands be free in order to operate the functions of the powered armor.” (Armory 74.)

So, let’s say we have a standard Vesk wearing Laborer Frame (Medium sized) Armor. The armor would allow him to mount 2 ranged weapons to it. Because it’s a medium sized power armor. Use their own limbs.

My question is:
- Does he still have access to his free hands?
- Like, could he also wield a two-handed advanced weapon with his hands while wearing the power armor?
- If the vesk wore a Large sized Power Armor, would he still have access to his own hands? Would he be able to have weapons mounted onto the power armor. And wield a two handed weapon with his power armor hands?


So in regard to mechs I’m really confused with how many weapons a mech can hold.

I know in Tech Revolution:
“Slots: Each mech frame has frame slots and auxiliary (aux) slots. Frame slots allow mounting weapons, and aux slots can each accommodate one auxiliary system. Some limbs also grant slots for weapons; lower limbs and upper limbs grant lower limb slots and upper limb slots, respectively. A mech can’t equip more weapons or auxiliary systems than it has corresponding slots.” (Tech 96)

“Weapons: A mech’s stat block lists the melee and ranged weapons installed in its frame slots. Each weapon lists its weapon slot, damage, and any special properties.” (Tech 96)

“A mech’s frame determines its size category, crew complement, Hit Points, frame slots, auxiliary slots, speed, EAC, KAC, and hardness. Each frame costs a number of MP based on the mech’s tier. Frames are listed beginning on page 98.” (Tech 97)

“Each mech includes a set of upper limbs and lower limbs. Unless your mech has a special ability that allows it to install an exceptional number of limbs, each mech includes only one set of upper limbs and one set of lower limbs, and each set can affect the mech’s Hit Points, speed, weapon slots, attack modifiers, EAC, and KAC. Upper limbs and lower limbs are listed on page 101.” (Tech 97)

“A mech can mount as many weapons as it has frame slots, upper limb slots, and lower limb slots. A weapon’s level determines its damage and MP cost; each weapon also gains a simple template based on its type that can affect its damage, range, and special abilities. A mech must either mount or hold any weapons in its available weapon slots. Weapons are listed starting on page 103.” (Tech 97)

So does Upper/Lower Limbs take up a frame slot?


Garretmander wrote:
RAW you're correct, but I'd probably let the PCs succeed on anything but a natural 1 in practice.

That make sense to me.


So in my game, the party saw these enemies. They wanted to run away and reposition.

The thing to note PC 1, went before PC 2. PC 1 asked if they could reposition PC 2 as a full action. That way, PC 2 is further away from the enemy's. I asked if PC2 would be willing to the reposition, they said yes.

Now I wasn't sure how to rule repositioning a willing target. I know RAW, without feats/abilities, it's KAC+8. But that seemed a bit high for a willing target.

I hand waved it saying it was an automatic success. And that'd I'd have a more concrete ruling latter.

How would you rule it? Maybe DC of 10 or 15?


Wesrolter wrote:

Huh. Quick search of the PDF and only mention of a Field Probe is the index. Searched for probe and field individually and they didn't show anything around that page connected to a field probe.

I think its the book itself.

Alright, thought I was going crazy for a second.


So on page 156, on the index. There is something listed as Field Probe 40.

But when I look on page 40 or the rest of the book I can't find anything about Field Probes.

Am I missing something or is it the book itself?


In regards to Ship Combat. For the Overpower action, can you apply that to the same system multiple times? Like use it to send extra power to the engines 3 times so they'd get a +6 to there speed? Or do they have to be separate systems?

It doesn't say you can't. But I wasn't sure if this falls under the restriction of Bonuses/Penalties. Even though the bonus provided by the Divert action (Since Overpower is more or less the divert action done 3 times) is untyped.


Nefreet wrote:

Yeah it's not only "attacks".

I see the word "and" that you're probably focusing on in the first sentence, but there is much more described in that link than just d20 rolls.

Yeah, I think I was just getting tunnel vision at this point. I have a few players who are really big into RAW and not RAI. Well, only RAI if it helps them some how. So I wanted to make sure my bases were covered. I try not to go with the "I'm the GM and that's why."


Nefreet wrote:

Walls generally block any effect that doesn't specifically bypass walls.

See Line of Effect for specifics.

Healing Channel would not work past a solid wall, for all of the reasons you listed.

There is a stipulation allowing for GM Discretion, though, so say your Mystic was on the other side of a curtain; I as a GM could rule they can affect anyone hiding behind the curtain. Another GM might say otherwise. But if it was a foot of concrete, that should be a no-go.

That makes sense, I guess I was too "narrow" when consider line of effect only applying to rolled attacks/ability's.

And I agree, I'd make the same case for a curtain.


Would SU/SP abilities and (Spells) that are AoE, be blocked by walls/barriers? There has been a discussion if healing channel can work past a wall that is a foot thick.

Given:
Healing Channel is listed as “You can heal yourself and your allies. You can spend 1 Resolve Point to channel this energy. Healing yourself with channeled energy is a move action, healing an ally you touch is a standard action, and healing all allies within 30 feet is a full action. This energy restores 2d8 Hit Points and increases by 2d8 at 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter.” (Core 86)

And Line of Effect states: " If a weapon, spell, ability, or item requires an attack roll and has a range measured in feet..." (Core 271)

Since Healing Channel doesn't require an attack roll, it isn't privy to Line of Effect.

However, because Healing Channel states "...healing all allies within 30 feet" (Core 86). I'd argue that the area for healing channel, when used as a full action, is a Sphere and the point of origin is the caster.

The book states for spheres: "A sphere-shaped effect expands from its point of origin to fill a spherical area. Spheres can be bursts, emanations, or spreads." (Core 268). Since I already stated I see the full action of healing channel, be a sphere. That mean it’d fall under the rules of: Burst, emanations or spreads.

The rules listed for Burst, emanation and Spread (Core 268) list nothing about being able to penetrate walls/barriers. In fact for Burst it states: “It doesn’t affect creatures with total cover from the burst’s point of origin…” (Core 268). With both Emanation and Spread first stating “A emanation/spread effect extends out like a burst, but…” (Core 268).

Therefore:
I’d rule SU/Sp abilities and spells that are AoE, unless said otherwise, cannot penetrate walls/barriers.

Does any of this make sense? If not, what are your thoughts?

And for the example, would you say Healing Channel is a Burst or Spread? I'd say its Burst.

Because:
Not emanation: since emanation spells/items last longer then 1 round/action.
Not Spread: Because Spread says " You select the point of origin." (Core 268) Since you can't select the point of origin for Healing Channel, it's not spread.


Garretmander wrote:

I've always assumed being knocked unconcious meant you dropped your weapon, same for dying (if you're using mystic cure 4+).

I don't see any reason why they wouldn't.

Thought so, wanted the confirmation. Just one of those RAW vs. RAI that made me spin my wheels


If a PC/NPC becomes unconscious, do they still hold onto there held items?

I know Panicked and Stunned, specifically state that the PC/NPC drops everything held. But for being unconscious/helpless it doesn’t state that.

However, given Core Pg. 193 (Weapon Fusions) "Defiant: A weapon with the defiant fusion resists efforts to be removed from its wielder. If you are wielding it when you are knocked unconscious, panicked, or stunned, it stays in your hand. You also gain a bonus to your KAC against combat maneuvers to disarm the weapon equal to one-fifth the weapon’s level (minimum +1)."

That leads me to believe that held items are dropped by the PC/NPC when they become unconscious. Since, this weapon fusion prevents that.

Logically it’d make sense for someone to drop there held items when they are knocked out. However, if I make some mental leaps I can see PC/NPC’s holding onto there items while knocked out. Akin to a “Death Grip”.


In the interest of balance, I'll let the player take the spell cache and wipe it, and it's function/value the same as a tier 1 computer.


Can a technomancer use another technomancers (Whether they are alive/dead) spell cache?

This is assuming their spell cache is handheld and not a tattoo/body-mod

I have a player (Level 2 technomancer) who has been taking spell caches, from alive/dead enemies. Now he hasn’t done anything with them nor asked me. But I have the feeling he wants to use them to cast 1 spell he knows per spell cache per day.

To cover my base, I did some digging in the books and couldn’t find anything that limits you from using another technomancers spell cache.

My hot take is:
From a gameplay stance: It is very clever, but I’d say he can’t do it, that would really throw the balance of the game out whack.

From an in-game lore stance: I’d say he can’t do it because everyone’s spell cache is made by the caster and is thus unique. The spell cache has a faint techno-magic aura that is specific to the creator (Think of it like your DNA/fingerprint). Because of that, it won’t active unless the creator uses it.

What are your thoughts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Happy new year, so for the most part my arrangement with “Criminal” and the Bounty Hunter Worked well, up to a point.
I spoke with the criminal about the following points:
- Stressed they did not have to be a caught criminal, perhaps they willing rat on their former company. They still wanted to be a caught criminal who cut a deal with the Stewards

- I worked shopped the Criminals and Bounty Hunters backstories, both of which had no knowledge of each other’s.
o The Bounty Hunter: An escaped android on Akiton, enslaved by a subsidiary of a subsidiary of a company owned by the Aspis Consortium.
o And the Criminal, human soldier Guard, who as you guessed it; work as a guard for the same subsidiary that enslaved the bounty hunter. They were caught for some petty crime and instead offered up more information to the Stewards on his employment.
o Stewards grant the criminal immunity and put them in witness protection while the trial is still pending.
o All the while, the criminal got: his face changed vi va magic/technology, got his true name removed from his mind, and had a special chip implanted in his brain that would record and alert the Bounty Hunter of any crimes made. Whom would have to report them to the Bounty Hunters handler. A representative of the Stewards who handles Bounties.
o I was fairly liberal with how often the chip “alerted of criminal” activity. The only time the had the chip triggered was when the person rolled a Nat 1 and hit a friendly, the chip stating “Third 3rd degree Assault.” Other wise the criminal character played it off very well, acting as the voice of reason.
- To the Bounty Hunters knowledge: The criminal was just on parole
- Now, I know you might ask “Why on earth would you put a witness to the very corporation that enslaved the player who has to keep tabs on them?”
- A. For drama should the two ever find out,
- B. If you were to ever hide a stick, what better place than with a dog?

Unfortunately, the juicy drama of them of the two finding out would never see the light of day because the Criminal character died. He was playing his level 3 soldier in the spirit of Leroy Jenkins, thinking; having a 18 EAC and 20 KAC made him untouchable.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Ixal wrote:


So its not really a parole then as other PCs likely will face the same consequences when doing multiple chaotic stupid things and get caught...
" Alright everyone, just like we practiced. 1..2...3 "He did it!" "

I mean that's up to the party and any witness. Now, I'm not one to punish the whole party for the dumb/out-of-character actions of one player, but if the party helps him, then that's a different story.

We shall see, the "criminal" player in question 99% of the time creates an Edge-lord character and doesn't make the best choices. So I wanted to cover my bases.


Ixal wrote:
So what will the other player do when he violates his parole?

If we are going with the Criminal PC being out of Jail, and the Bounty Hunter is his parole officer: Have a bounty placed on the criminals head which other Bounty Hunters might join in to take his head. Which I'd only trigger if he did multiple instances of chaotic-stupid-evil stuff like: Killing a NPC unprovoked in broad daylight in town, caught stealing, punching children and so on.

1 to 50 of 53 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>