Thrower's Bandolier works with any one-handed weapon with the thrown trait. Dagger Pistols are a one-handed weapon with the thrown trait. And at light bulk you can have up to 20 of them loaded into your bandolier. Quick Draw allows you to do the archetypical draw and fire style everyone thinks Gunner's Bandolier should do.
Slinger's reflexes doesn't work with Fake Out*. Slinger's reflexes only gives you an extra reaction on enemy's turns not allies.
*You could use it on an allies attack during an enemy's turn, like say from Attack of Opportunity. Still pretty situational.
While I'm on it, Hit the dirt leaves you prone and thus unable to take move actions, which Hit the dirt is. And almost all the other gunslinger reactions require a loaded gun, which you can't reload in between turns. Meaning that the only reaction that Slinger's Reload works more than once a round with is Instant Return.
And because it specifies Gunslinger reactions you can't use it with reactions from an archetype like a Champions reaction.
Oh yeah, that discussion. Well, unlike before, we now have another example:
Detonating Spell wrote:
So it does really seem Splash is meant to inherently damage adjacent creatures. (and to the primary target although this calls that out as an exception.)
I see them as "Meat points". Primarily because there's also the issue of environmental damage. Sure you can describe damage from dragons breath or fireballs as "near misses", but what happens when the barbarian or fighter needs to pull a Grog and swim through a river of acid? Or they go through an unmitigated free fall 100 feet onto solid stone and walk it off.
And yes, this means on some level (and at some Level) everyone in the party is going to be superhuman. I understand some people have an issue with that, but personally I'm okay with it. I feel pure mundanity goes out the window when the barbarian can grow 20 feet tall and stomp an earthquake into existence.
N N 959 wrote:
Ummm... No? You can use the Hunt Prey Action while tracking something giving you a +2 bonus over those other classes. And then when you catch up to it, you start with it hunted, meaning you don't have to spend an action to hunt prey. A GM that is only letting you hunt prey in combat is like a GM not letting an Investigator Pursue A Lead. Of course it's going to be less effective and feel off.
Hunt prey wrote:
Cordell Kintner wrote:
This weapon doesn't take up your hand, usually because it is built into your armor. A free-hand weapon can't be Disarmed. You can use the hand covered by your free-hand weapon to wield other items, perform manipulate actions, and so on. You can't attack with a free-hand weapon if you're wielding anything in that hand or otherwise using that hand. When you're not wielding anything and not otherwise using the hand, you can use abilities that require you to have a hand free as well as those that require you to be wielding a weapon in that hand. Each of your hands can have only one free-hand weapon on it.
You can't attack with a free-hand weapon while it's occupied but it doesn't say anything about you not wielding it.
Nothing to really to add to the validity (or lack there of) of the build, but it does remind me of a comment I read about the Demon Summoner. Because the Demon Eidolon's demonic strikes lets you have Versatile in any type of physical damage, choose bleed, because bleeds a type of physical damage.
When I first saw it I kinda just dismissed it, because at the time I just thought Versatile was for bludgeoning, piercing, slashing... obviously. Then King of the Mountain came out with a feat that gives Versatile Positive so what do I know.
So, going ALL the way back to the OP's original statement. I can't remember the name of it right now but isn't there canonically a magical super artifact book that literally lists all the crappy, messed up stuff the good gods and forces of good have had to do, in the name of a better tomorrow? One that would magically break the faith of any good reader?
Edit: Found it! The Apocrypha to the Chronicle of the Righteous.
Cordell Kintner wrote:
OH! You're talking about drawing the item with Into The Fray, not making a Reloading Strike!
Oh, yeah, agree completely.
Cordell Kintner wrote:
Uh, what? Attached weapons are absolutely weapons. They have a listing in the weapons section with their own Price, Damage, Bulk, Hands Value, Category, Group type, and Traits.
Speaking of traits, here's the Attached trait.
An attached weapon must be combined with another piece of gear to be used. The trait lists what type of item the weapon must be attached to. You must be wielding or wearing the item the weapon is attached to in order to attack with it. For example, shield spikes are attached to a shield, allowing you to attack with the spikes instead of a shield bash, but only if you're wielding the shield. An attached weapon is usually bolted onto or built into the item it's attached to, and typically an item can have only one weapon attached to it. An attached weapon can be affixed to an item with 10 minutes of work and a successful DC 10 Crafting check; this includes the time needed to remove the weapon from a previous item, if necessary. If an item is destroyed, its attached weapon can usually be salvaged.
Emphasis mine. You're right in that the attached trait doesn't change anything about the item they're attached to. They don't have to. Your wielding the item AND the attached weapon. Reloading strike requires you to wield a one-handed melee weapon. A shield boss is listed under Melee Weapons and has Hands 1. You can use it with reloading strike just fine.
Well... you can't reload outside your turn for the same reason you can't cast a one-action spell outside your turn. It's not your turn. And unless I missed something really important, there aren't any reactions or free actions that let you reload outside your turn, Instant Return aside. (Edit: Please tell me if I missed something, I'd love to be wrong about this.)
The problem isn't with Slinger's Reflexes really. The problem is that most of the gunslingers reactions require a loaded firearm.
You are correct, you could use Fake out, Hit the Dirt!, Grit and Tenacity, one reaction requiring a loaded firearm, and Instant Return, all once... but that is really, really situational and kind of lame for a 20th level feat.
Dubious Scholar wrote:
Slinger's Reflexes only gives you an extra reaction on your enemies' turns, not your ally's.
Prone characters can't leap. Leaping is a move action and prone characters can't take any move action except to crawl or stand up.
And yes, because it includes leaping, Hit the Dirt! counts as a move action thanks to subordinate action rules.
Slinger's Reflexes is broken and not in the buzzword way. Because you can't reload between turns, the only Gunslinger reaction you can use more than once with Slinger's Reflexes is Instant Return.
Oh, woe is my poor Weapon Inventor. When they use their Devastating Weaponry to hit every enemy in their ZIP code, they only add an extra +1 to attack and +8 to damage from the sweep and forceful traits... on their Greatsword.
Oh, we're doing a ritual/downtime tomorrow? I guess they'll switch their Innovation for a construct... that's legendary in as many skills as the Rogue.
This is a lot like Skill Feats that require Expert and are level 2. There are plenty of them. Their level requirement is the lowest level that anyone can meet the prereq, not the lowest level that everyone can meet the prereq. There isn't a problem here.
Reverse Engineer isn't a skill feat.
Cordell Kintner wrote:
Firstly, I never said it shouldn't be level 2. Personally I think its requirement should be trained in crafting not expert. I think they just copied the wording from Reverse Engineering and made it -2 levels (as is the standard formula for "Class Feat to Non-MC Archetype feat") without realizing nobody could actually take it with that requirement.
Secondly, why? The standard for MC Archetypes is half-level access to feats. Why, out of every feat in the game, is this one accessible to the MC Inventor and an actual Inventor at the same level and in the most obtuse way possible?
It's not a negative/bad thing. It's just pointing out Occam's razor.
What's more likely? Paizo purposefully designed a feat for a main class that can only be taken at the level it's listed by one specific faction-locked archetype from the Lost Omens: World Guide, while using an optional, non-core, rule from the Game Mastery Guide.
Or somebody did a typo.
Leomund "Leo" Velinznrarikovich wrote:
No really, hear me out.
Except for Ancestor and Lore, all of the mysteries get an immediate (level one) boost to their survivability, and in a way that isn't necessarily just the old "more AC". I think that oddly, the Oracle provides a good benchmark for spellcaster based "tankiness".
Defending the Lion Scythe, it looks like AoN missed that it's agile, finesse, and trip from looking at the book.
I believe AoN has a discord for reporting any errors that come up.
With new features come potential bugs, so as always if you spot anything awry, please come let us know on one of our Discord feedback channels. We'll be doing another update this weekend to fix any issues found during that time, so let us know as soon as possible if you find something to ensure it stands the best chance of getting fixed in time (otherwise, it'll be a bug until the next official release).
Due to the Poppet and Automaton special psuedo-construct status, they don't have an immunity to things like Lycanthropy, so that route is open for Beastkin.
The blood of a beast flows through your veins, granting you the ferocity and might of animals. Only creatures with the humanoid trait can take the beastkin versatile heritage.
Emphasis mine. So, weirdly, by RAW, the poppet can take the Beastkin heritage but the Automaton and Leshy can't.
Still, it's two rare options interacting so we are firmly in GM fiat territory at this point. If they're ok with you playing a Mighty Morphin' Were-Robot, I don't see anything unbalancing about it.
*Off-topic* The Thaumaturge isn't remotely close to an Investigator. It has closer similarities to the Inventor (skill-based damage bonus offset by non-attack-attribute class attribute on a martial chassis with no "replacement" mechanic, versatile subclasses, high utility and downtime focus in feats, recharge-every-ten-minute-abilities that are focus spells by any other name, a few free skill increases to keep signature skills up but not nearly as many as Rogue or Investigator, Implements Assault/Devastating Weaponry are identical etc.)
I very much agree, although I don't want to derail this thread. (I could. I could go on and on about underwhelming 20th level feats, but this isn't the place for it.) Still this seems to be the only 20th level feat that's actually broken and largely unusable.
I thought so at first too. But Slinger's reflexes only gives you extra reactions during an enemies turn. It doesn't give you any more reactions than normal during your ally's turn. Theoretically, I suppose, you could use it to use Fake Out during one of your ally's reactions on an enemy's turn but that's it.
Removing Enemies Early - Absolutely true! However two things. The fighter starts off with a spellstrike too, and it is almost as big (maybe 10% difference?) as the magus. Plus, an enemy worth using your top level spell strike on is almost certainly not dying round one. (Well, I mean it could if everyone crits I suppose, but how often does that happen)
So one thing I see brought up a lot is how a Fighters 2 attacks does more average damage than a Magus's cantrip spellstrike. What I do not see brought up is the fact that if a Magus crits with their strike they crit with both the weapon and the spell. Now, I don't know the math on this, but I know enough to know that critting with one attack is way more likely then critting twice in a row. Especially once you start stacking flat-footed, true strike, etc.
It doesn't matter if the fighter does more damage over two, three, or ten rounds, if the target is dead.
I can't wait for more "Fighter MC (blank) is the superior (blank)" threads. "Fighter MC Summoner is the superior Summoner".
I think comparing the magus to the fighter is comparing apples to oranges. I'd prefer to compare apples to apples; I'd compare it to the swash.
The similarities aren't subtle. Both have a near constant small damage buff (precise strike/arcane cascade), both have a large "nova" strike with a recharge mechanic (Finisher/Spellstrike), and both have a greater focus on combat utility than a Fighter or Barb, but less than a Rogue or Investigator (skills/spells). Really, the magus is basically what you'd get if you stripped away the skill focus from a swash and gave them spells.
So, how does the Magus compare to its cousin, the Swashbuckler?
And it's FREE on a regularly updated website with a SEARCH FUNCTION.
Edit: Legally and Officially too!
A live reaction Original stream is in video description, but be warned it's 9hrs long.
Final thoughts video.
I'll try and find them again.
Interesting is one word for it.
They've released some tidbits.
Yeah. Now all they need to do is to mention a 3 action economy.
There's a problem, because one statistic does change. Bulk.
A large creature has their bulk limit doubled, (so let's say from 9 to 18) but a gargantuan weapon has its bulk multiplied by 8.
Second Implement wrote:
You’ve developed a greater connection to another item, or found a new item with potential.
I was wondering when someone would bring up Fire Ray.
I agree completely, although I think it should be amped 2d6 not 1d12. Don't ask me why, cuz I don't know. Just feels better.