
Rumblethorn |
My main question is, is casting a spell into a spell storing weapon (created by the Sacred weapon special weapon ability enhancement) of a neutral war priest a standard action or is it an immediate action much like the magus' spell combat with spell strike combo ? An explanation below...
Ok, so I am building a dual wielding war priest/fighter gestalt cross and I noticed that if I take a neutral war priest I can enhance a +1 weapon with spell storing as apart of the sacred weapon ability. This sacred weapon ability itself adds another +1 enhancement to the already +1 blade so I can trade the +1 enhancement in for the spell storing special ability at a +1 cost. The spell storing special weapon ability description from Pazio states that I can store any (up to 3rd level single target) spell with a standard action cast time into the weapon and then the spell will leave the weapon as a free action on weapon hit. The question is if it suggests it leaves on hit can I attack that round or did casting the spell into the weapon take a standard action or is it like the magus spell combat and casting the spell into the weapon still lets me make an attack ?
Now, I know most people will say if it states that it must be a standard action spell then casting the spell into the blade would be a separate standard action, BUT, That doesn't make sense the special weapon ability only lasts for one round per level PER DAY and they DO NOT HAVE TO BE CONSECTUTIVE therefore it's a single round use per cast of the sacred weapon spell storing special ability and that means even if I use sacred weapon to enhance the weapon with spell storing that spell storing only lasts one round per day per level. So therefore, why would they make storing a spell a standard action if you couldn't use it that round and the next round the spell storing goes away anyways? Does this therefore suggest that casting the spell into the weapon is an immediate action like the Magus spell combat or do I have to swift cast sacred weapon again the next round just to keep spell storing active which really makes no sense.
So recap, as a lvl 4 war priest with a +1 weapon can I, as a swift action, use my sacred weapon ability that creates a +1 enhancement then evoke spell storing on the weapon (at a +1 cost)and cast a spell into the weapon immediately; then, still attack with the weapon same round? The description does say the spell leaves as a free action (it's a special condition of this ability above normal rule, this is much like the spell STRIKE part for the magus) on hit so I'm not worried about that part just the part of how long it takes to actually store the spell and can I attack same round. (make sure you read the apart about the ability only lasting one round per use above).
Thanks,
Game on!
Rumblethorn.