Ronald Vagoc's page

9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hey guys a very simple question regarding D&D 3.5.

Druids have wild shape and the +3 Wild bonus on armors that allow them to still count their armor bonus to AC while wildshaped.
It's a pretty awesome way and it will easily help you get your AC rise to around 40 or even higher.

Now the question is:

Does the Wild bonus on armor allow you to add the armor bonus to AC when you use Shapechange lvl 9 Druid spell which is based on Polymorph?

"Wild:

The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability
preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus) while in
a wild shape. Armor and shields with this ability usually appear to
be made covered in leaf patterns. While the wearer is in a wild
shape, the armor cannot be seen.
Moderate transmutation; CL 9th; Craft Magic Arms and
Armor, baleful polymorph; Price +3 bonus."

I am not at all sure about this one. The description from wild only mentions wild shape and nothing else. However both wild shape and Shapechange are based on the same rules derived from polymorph and alter self. So the abilities are quite alike.

Right now, I personally think that the wild bonus only works with wildshape and not with spells like polymorph or Shapechange. This distinction would make sense. But I am not 100% sure, Does anyone have any thoughts on the subject?


Alright thanks I understand it now. Spells that work vs etheral targets are spells that are force effects. Spells that are force-effects have the [Force] description which is found right after the school. For example magic missle is "Evocation [Force]".

Thanks for your response.


I believe it's from compleet arcane,

Are you sure that telekinesis is a force effect? Cause I didn't see it in the list of force-effect examples.


Hello everyone,

I was thinking that if two wizards where to be in battle and wizard1 would cast blink on himself and the other wizard2 would then cast telekinesis and succesfully grapple wizard1:

question: does blink allow him to just escape since it causes him to turn etheral and therefore losing the grapple? Would the spell greater blink allow him to escape if he had casted that instead of blink?

Thanks in advance,

Ronald


Thanks guys I believe that awnsers all my questions. I am not completely sure why the sneak attack has to be tied to the physical damage however. I have not seen that anywhere in the rules about sneak attack. All I found about sneak attacks is that you need to succesfully strike a vital spot to land a succesfull sneak attack. It doesn't mention how, let alone that it needs to be physical damage. And I have seen examples of spellcasters using sneak attacks with damage spells which include spells like scorching ray. That's the same kind of damage as the 1d6 flaming. So following this logic I myself would say that perhaps the SA ability does not have to be tied to the physical weapon damage.

Is it your statement an interpretation of the rules or has this been stated somewhere?


Hello there,

I came up with the idea to play a character, I was thinking rogue, using a whip as main weapon (for D&D 3.5). The idea of a whip I think is very awesome for a rogue if its works a bit but I am unclear about its game mechanics.

I believe the weapon works a bit like this:

The normal standard whip only deals a little non-lethal damage, and possibly even no damage at all if the target has body armor or natural armor.

1st question: What does this mean for the functioning of rogue's sneak-attack ability?

2nd question: A magic +1 whip does 1 extra magic magic damage, is this also automaticly turned into the non-lethal damage that possibly deals no effective damage when there is natural or body armor involved?

3th question: And what if you have a +1 flaming whip that also deals an extra magic 1d6 fire damage?

4th question: what are the effects of magic whips when it comes to the rogues sneak attack?

I hope you can help me out

Thanks in advance

Ronald

*I know there are many variations of modified whips made out there, I would like to keep this discussion focussed on the normal PHB version of the exotic whip however.


I think I understand enough now, thanks all for clearing this up for me.

It wont trigger cause throwing/hurling means your not wielding. If it in fact would trigger (cause of a houserule) the move would probably be overpowered so any well thinking DM would probably not allow it in his games. The touch melee weapon idea is a no-go.


Thanks for the reactions. You are saying this move is not OP if it where possible? I am actually glad with that.

I dont really know what you meant with all the numbers and I miss how the damage output gets to come so low. But I think its not hard to cast a few boostspells to get your attack rolls higher then +17 at this level or to force your target to be flat fooded. I am aware that haste is a strong spell since I already use it on my friends. However after the one round you need to cast it there is still an option to do this.

Lets assume you are right and the damage ends up being only 65 because everything misses. That said I don't really powergame I just think of something I find awesome and then try to optimize it. In the example I use spell-storing daggers. If I where to use melee weapons that require touch to hit (I dont know if this is possible with a whip for example), wouldnt that mean I hit thus trigger a lot more?

That said, I am inclined to go with Lathiira's reasoning. Throwing =/= wielding so the spells wont trigger.

so I got three extra questions now:

1 Is throwing the same as wielding so that stored spells do trigger with this move?
2 Is this move actually as OP as I first assumed it is?
3 Does the whip idea work (or any other touch melee weapon if there is one)work so that I only have to hit a touch AC to trigger the spells?


Hey guys, I am playing a wizard for the first time in D&D version 3.5. I am surprised by the many spells I can learn to prepare and came up with a rather effective idea for a combo. It involves telekinisis (violent thrust version)used with 15 spell storing daggers storing the lvl 3 vampiric touch spell in combination with the usage of spells that buff my attack rolls (like heroism).

My question is does this work? does telekinisis make these daggers strike and activate the stored vamp touch spells if I hit the opponents AC?
Is it really true that in that case I can deal 15d4 (daggers) and 150d6 (vamp spell) damage to my enemy and steal 150d6 life in just one standard action this way practily making my character close to unbeatable just by (ab)using the core books?

If it works it is quite a handy trick, but wont I upset my DM and make all my fellow players feel totally useless and bored when it comes to dealing damage?

Any thoughts on this idea?