RokushoTheBlackCat's page

10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


kestral287 wrote:

The accelerated crafting you're looking at is for mundane crafting, which works very differently. Since magical crafting doesn't do anything with DC multiplying to determine time, that form of accelerated crafting would do nothing.

Jeraa linked magic crafting's version.

Ah, I see, thank you very much for the assist

Jeraa wrote:

Thank you as well Jeraa.


Jeraa wrote:

It only increases the DC by +5.

Quote:
The creator also needs a fairly quiet, comfortable, and well-lit place in which to work. Any place suitable for preparing spells is suitable for making items. Creating an item requires 8 hours of work per 1,000 gp in the item's base price (or fraction thereof), with a minimum of at least 8 hours. Potions and scrolls are an exception to this rule; they can take as little as 2 hours to create (if their base price is 250 gp or less). Scrolls and potions whose base price is more than 250 gp, but less than 1,000 gp, take 8 hours to create, just like any other magic item. The character must spend the gold at the beginning of the construction process. Regardless of the time needed for construction, a caster can create no more than one magic item per day. This process can be accelerated to 4 hours of work per 1,000 gp in the item's base price (or fraction thereof) by increasing the DC to create the item by +5.

Allo, thanks for responding.

I was aware of that one, but was unsure if that could accelerate a two days job to just one day.
The one I'd seen used was:
Quote:
Accelerated Crafting You may voluntarily add +10 to the indicated DC to craft an item. This allows you to create the item more quickly (since you'll be multiplying this higher DC by your Craft check result to determine progress). You must decide whether to increase the DC before you make each weekly or daily check.

(found the link: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jznz?Crafting-magic-items-should-you-ever-not )


Hello, I've been poking around a wee bit looking at magic item creation as I've been taking mostly feats based around it.

I was looking for ways to speed up the process, and I came across something called "Accelerated Crafting", and in a few forums I saw it can halve the time required for making magic items.

One of the main examples I saw was making your first +1 enhancement bonus.
The normal price is 2k gold, meaning it would normally take two days to make. With accelerated crafting, this would reduce it to one day by increasing the DC by 10. Is this correct?


bbangerter wrote:
Spoiler:
If you leave a threatened square via movement (and not 5' step) you provoke an AoO, regardless of whether the square you are moving into is threatened or not.

Thank you for your assistance.


Quintain wrote:

Spoiler:
Yes, if normal movement is being performed, and the enemy enters leaves the 1st threatened square and enters into a 2nd threatened square, he provokes unless he takes special action to avoid the AoO.


Thank you for your assistance.


Alanya wrote:
Spoiler:
Most people have "normal" reach, which means they threaten all 8 squares around them (one square out). People with reach weapons, or creatures/enlarged persons with reach threaten two squares out (10 ft reach. 3 squares out for 15 ft out, etc.) Any enemy passing through (i.e. out of a threatened square) provokes as normal with reach. Also, since you provoke when you leave the square, but before you enter the next one, the aoo takes place in the square you're leaving (this is important if you have a reach weapon you can only use at 10 ft, and not close up).

Thank you very much for the clarification.


Blakmane wrote:

Spoiler:
No need for clarification. You don't provoke for moving into squares: you provoke for moving OUT of them. Thus, the enemy provokes from both players for moving out of the first threatened square.

If a player had a reach weapon, he would threaten squares 10ft away but not 5 ft away. In your example, the enemy would be in a threatened square 1 square before he moved within 5ft, and would provoke on that first movement. He wouldn't provoke on the second movement, because a reach weapon doesn't provoke within 5ft.

If a player had 10ft reach (due to being large, for example), he threatens all squares within 10ft. In your example, the enemy would provoke from the first movement and theoretically also from the second movement (but remember that continued movement through threatened squares doesn't provoke additional AOOs, in your particular case, he would only provoke once).

*edit*

Also, sounds like you shouldn't be listening too closely to the 'advice' of that experienced player, heh.

His argument has been that the first part of the rules for provoking an attack is that you don't if you're moving into a threatened square. So with his argument, you could move from one threatened square to another without creating an attack of opportunity because the rule states that moving into a threatened square doesn't provoke an aoo.

But it's good to get some clarification from those who are willing to give it. Thank you for your post.


Alanya wrote:
Spoiler:
Yes, though of course by free I mean it still uses movement, just that you don't provoke. Also, if you leave a threatened square to go into a non-threatened square, that still provokes (unless it is a 5 foot step, withdraw, or acrobatics check)since that is still considered leaving a threatened square. (Just to make that clear in case there was any question.)

Could you please elaborate how reach interacts with this? Myself and my gm are grateful for your responses.


Alanya wrote:

Spoiler:
From the Core Rulebook under attacks of opportunity:

"Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.

Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action."

Moving into the threatened square doesn't provoke, but moving out of one does. Thus the first threatened square is "free", but the next one will provoke because you have to move out of the first one to get to it. You can also attempt to acrobatics through to avoid the aoo.

So this effectively means that moving into a threatened square is considerably "free" as it doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity, but moving from one threatened square to another counts as having left the previous threatened square and provokes an attack unless a 5 foot step, withdraw action, or acrobatics movement is taken?


Long story short, my group fell into an issue regarding attacks of opportunity.

The situation:
Two players are standing one square away from each other.
An enemy makes a move action. This move action moves them into the first square threatened by both players not provoking an attack of opportunity.

The enemy then proceeds to continue its movement through that threatened square and into another.

Before continuing its movement for the turn we run into the complication here.

One of the players brought up that it should result in an attack of opportunity from both players whose threatened squares it just moved through, and then cites the book example.

We have another player who has been playing Pathfinder, and D&D games for longer than I've been alive (I'm 23). He argues that it doesn't because the rules state that moving into a threatened square doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity even if they are leaving a square that is threatened. When we point out the example, he vehemently argues that the rules are contradicting themselves and that it would be idiotic to follow that.

We are currently attempting to clear this up so no more large arguments appear in the future in regards to this. If I could get some well renowned explanations, or quotes from the developers explaining this, it would be very much appreciated.