Rafael Ángel Barranco Hidalgo's page

5 posts (31 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.




Hi campaing fellows!

We had a quasi-TPK at the end of CoBI, but thanks that the only survivor was a seeker, it was easy to rebuild the party and they have succefully completed SoS. The only drawback in rebuilding the group have been that the 15th level characters my players have made from scratch have proved to be maximized killing machines! One of them is particulary dangerous and tricky, and he is the character I want to question about: Bastian, Human Necromancer. Bastian is at 17th level now, and he make extensive use of metamagic feats. He has aquired Black Lore of Moil and Twin Spell (both from the Complete Arcane handbook) and have a metamagic rod of maximize. My doubt is simple: If he studies a vampiric touch spell, augmented with the metamagic feats of Black Lore of Moil, Empower Spell and Twin Spell, and he uses when he cast the spell his metamagic rod....¿Has the twinned spell be maximized, empowered and "moilianed"? The player says YES and he says that the damage would be 72 hp (10d6 (base)+2d6 (moilian) of maximized damage)plus 6d6 (half of 12d6 from the empower spell) PLUS another 72+6d6 hp from the Twinned Spell. I think, in the other hand, that the twinned spell IS NOT maximized, nor "moilianed", nor empowered, and the damage will be 72+6d6+10d6....What do you think?

Thank you!!


Hello! last game session of my Savage Tide Campaing, the Arcane Trickster of my group of players did something that I´m not sure to be legal: he used the "vampiric touch" spell with his sneak attack ability and he said the extra damage inflicted by the sneak attack was also converted in extra hit points like the damage caused by the spell because the sneak attack damage becames of the same type that the spell. I consulted the Complete Arcane rules about sneak attack and weaponlike spells and I have my doubts...What do you think on this matter?

Thank you!


I had tried to buy on your online store many times since some months ago and your system says my credit card number is invalid. I´m sure I had entered correctly the numbers, and I had buyed with my credit card several times lately in other online shops without trouble. I´m very interested in purchase some of your products, and I´m a registered customer. Can you help me?

Thank you!


Last night, after two long months of real game time, we were going to play the last game session of SWW, hoping we could getting into HTBM...I like the Isle of Dread, its dinosaurs and its old-pulp-adventures flavour! I prepared carefully the Second Storm encounter so it seemed the shipwreck were an event as spontaneous as possible (I like -and my players too- they feel the least railroaded possible). The session began with the expedition leaving Renkrue; the Pearl Current and the First Storm were not a problem and although the Sargasso involved the death of several members of the tripulation, they came straight to the problem and finished Mother of All quickly. At the end of this encounter, the wizard of the party (a little b****rd gnome called "Oper") went up 8th level, and he gained two more spells to his spellbook. The player who runs the character never before had play with an arcane spellcasting class, he always used to play with more melee combat focused classes (as barbarian), and all in my group were gratefully surprised with his decision. The player was so exited about the new possibilities of play (what he always had denostate previously in other campaings) that even bought the Spell Compendium to make extense use of it...I use to allow official contents with no problems, but I told him he ask me every time he choose a new spell from this source for my approval. With the firts spells he chose I read them carefully, but lately I admit I became a bit careless. When he chose the spell "Raise from the Deep" (SC pg. 165-166) in the 5 day travel interval from Journey´s End to the Second Storm, he told me...but I, thinking about other issues like how many PC´s will swallow whole the T-Rex in the Hungry Welcome, just said: Ok, ok, new spell, good, get the spell you like!! Next chapter: Ship trapped in the Masher Reef and battle with the Masher: While the fighter, the wizard and the cleric killed the Masher, the rogue (as brave as usual) with members of the crew went down to the hold to check the amount of damage the ship sustained...they figured the ship is badly damaged and, once the masher is finished, they told to the captain and the PCs...Guess what spell casts the wizard on the Sea Wyvern...8 hours of magical buoyancy and the storm weakening! 3 4th level spells/day ((th level wizard with Int 18)...They can go to Farshore freely!!...No T-Rex welcome! No LOST-like adventure!!...Help to this poor DM in trouble please!!!