Pomf's page

1 post. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


So, I just was playing a game where I decided to jump across a 15 foot, 40 foot deep pit to avoid a skeleton boss that had been chasing my ranger for multiple turns. The pit was directly behind me, and the boss to the SE corner square(from me).
As I understood, acrobatics can be used to avoid attacks in the first place, so I tried to say to the DM that I would not get an attack of opportunity by very nature of jumping away from the skeleton and over the pit as an acrobatic check.

In any case, the DM had me do an acrobats check to avoid the attack of opportunity AND to jump over the pit. Lucky, I was able to pass both rolls, not getting hit and making it over, but I would still like clarification for situations that might be similar in the future.

I mean, in hindsight, I shouldn't even have been able to do 2 acrobatic rolls right because that would not fit into the rules governing turn actions?