OverlordXenu's page

Organized Play Member. 9 posts (11 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Organized Play characters.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

If it's legal on the Additional Resources document, you cannot ban it. If it is illegal on the Additional Resources document, you cannot allow it.

This looks highly interesting. I love character builders, and the news that this includes Unchained already is highly intriguing.

If you're still offering codes, I'd love one!

He's right.

"With a light weapon, elven curve blade, rapier, whip, or spiked chain made for a creature of your size category, you may use your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier on attack rolls. If you carry a shield, its armor check penalty applies to your attack rolls."

Melkiador wrote:

Being nitpicky is fine if that's what you want. The rules as written are left vague here, but the intent is clear that you can not.

"This enhancement can only be placed on a melee weapon which is usable with the Weapon Finesse feat." But any melee weapon is usable with Weapon Finesse if you try hard enough, so why include that limitation at all. For instance, I can finesse a longsword if I cast Enlarge Person on myself before I pick it up, so a longsword is finessable.

Technically, yes. You COULD do that, but you'd still need Finesse and it would be a pretty crappy setup.

But on the flip side, your interpretation keeps some weapons which are finessible via Swashbuckler Finesse from being very viable for Swashbucklers since they cannot have Dex added to their damage.

And at the end of the day, barring FAQ, Society players cannot for certain know RAI and must go by RAW.

DM_Blake wrote:


A heavy shield is, by definition, a one-handed (not light) weapon. The physical properties of a heavy shield are that of a one-handed weapon. For example, its hardness, hit points, ability to be crafted out of special materials, category for using the Craft skill, effect of alchemical silver, and so on, are all that of a one-handed weapon.

Compare to this FAQ which admittedly is about bastard swords but the same exact line of reasoning applies here in the same exact way.

The Agile enhancement can only be applied to light weapons which the heavy shield is not.

Melkiador's FAQ reference is another good example here.

Except the FAQ you linked states that, for all intents and purposes, when you are wielding a bastard sword one handed (requiring an ability to do so), it is a one-handed weapon.

By that same logic, when wielding a heavy shield as a weapon and possessing the Gorumite shield trait, itbis for all intents and purposes a light weapon. Therefore finessible, therefore a viable target for Agile.

I made my feelings on this clear in the original discussion, but I'll summarize them here.

Society play only cares about RAW. The text of Agile makes no distinction between weapons which can be finessed and those which can be finessed without modification. If you can use it with Weapon Finesse, it is a viable candidate for Agile.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Oh thanks, cuz martial classes need more of a kick in the teeth at higher levels.

So I see the Pathfinder Society Field Guide is, strangely, not listed as a valid source for the Core Campaign.

I guess that means that all the vanities and faction goodies listed within it are also not available for acquisition?

So I asked my GMs this question the other day, and there was some disagreement on it. Figured I'd give these boards a shot to help clear it up.

The wording for the discovery "Tumor Familiar" has the following line.

"An alchemist’s extracts and mutagens are considered spells for the purposes of familiar abilities like share spells and deliver touch spells."

This implies, to me, that if a companion entity is bonded with an alchemist with the "share spells" ability, it can make use of an alchemist's mutagen. Now, if an alchemist gains access to an animal companion (such as, for instance, via the feat Animal Ally) that has the share spells ability, would this still hold true?