Nudist's page

Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.


RSS


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:
Unleash Psyche doesn't give any bonus. If you are under Unleash Psyche you don't get anything. What gives you a bonus is that your Psyche is Unleashed. Use the word you want to describe that, but it's a state. So if you are under Unleash Psyche but that your Psyche is not Unleashed you have no bonus. And that's a perfect interpretation of RAW, not RAI.

Makes sense. Thanks for your response!


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:

Well, there are 2 ways of ruling that:

- Considering that having your Psyche Unleashed is a state, your Psyche is either Unleashed or not Unleashed (Leashed...).
- Considering that having your Psyche Unleashed is not mechanical and that the effects of having your Psyche Unleashed are the Unleash Psyche effects.

You have detailed the second interpretation.
Under the first interpretation, the first time you use Unleash Psyche, your Psyche Unleashes and it triggers the effects when your Psyche Unleashes (Violent Unleash and such). The second time you use Unleash Psyche nothing happens (as your Psyche is already Unleashed, it doesn't get Unleashed again). When the first Unleash Psyche ends, your Psyche subsides, you get Stupefied and lose the bonuses from having your Psyche Unleashed. You are still under the effects of the second Unleash Psyche, but it's doing nothing as it's sole effect is to Unleash and subside your Psyche.
This reading doesn't allow any shenanigan with Unleash Psyche and as such I expect most GMs to stick to this interpretation which is both RAW and RAI.

Is "state" defined anywhere in the rules? I think this interpretation is perfectly reasonable, but I've not seen any rules clarification on states and inability to enter them while they're active, etc. The text on Rage specifically excludes using the Rage ability while the character is raging. Stances have the limit of one-per-round but otherwise no text stating that one can't enter them while already in them, as far as I could find. While I think what you're saying may be RAI, I'm not clear on why it's RAW.


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber

Per the text of Unleash Psyche, there are only a few requirements to cast it.

Quote:

UNLEASH PSYCHE (free-action)

PSYCHIC
Trigger Your turn begins.
Requirements You’re in an encounter, you Cast a Spell on your previous turn, and you aren’t stupefied.

You call on the depths of your mind and let psychic power flood through. Your Psyche remains Unleashed for 2 rounds or until your fall unconscious, whichever comes first. You can’t voluntarily quell your unleashed psyche. While your Psyche is Unleashed, the following effects occur.
[...]
After your unleashed psyche subsides, your mind must
recover from the strain of channeling its full power. You
can’t use Unleash Psyche again for 2 rounds, and
you’re stupefied 1 for 2 rounds.

Specifically, note that there's no requirement that the character does not have an Unleashed Psyche. Furthermore, while there is a limit on using Unleash Psyche again for 2 rounds, it only applies after the unleashed psyche subsides. Because the Psyche remains Unleashed for 2 rounds, it lasts for the round used and the following round.

Per RAW, it seems clear that if I cast a spell on Round 1 of combat and then, on Round 2, Unleash Psyche and cast a spell, I still meet the requirements to Unleash Psyche on Round 3 of combat. What happens in this instance? Specifically, I have the following two questions:

First, if my Psyche is Unleashed when I use Unleash Psyche, does it fulfill the "You Unleash your Psyche" trigger for activities like Violent Unleash?

Second, how does this affect the number of rounds for which my "Psyche remains Unleashed"?

The CRB p. 444 on Duplicate Effects says the following:

Quote:
When you’re affected by the same thing multiple times, only one instance applies, using the higher level of the effects, or the newer effect if the two are the same level. For example, if you were using mage armor and then cast it again, you’d still benefit from only one casting of that spell. Casting a spell again on the same target might get you a better duration or effect if it were cast at a higher level the second time, but otherwise doing so gives you no advantage.

Based on the above, the duration of Unleashed Psyche should increase to two more rounds (expiring at the start of turn on Round Five) since the newer effect is the instanced applied to the character. However, it's still not clear if this counts for the trigger, since the Unleashed effect was already on the character. Similarly, it's not clear if the first instance counts as terminating, triggering the subside effects (You can't use Unleash Psyche again for 2 rounds, and you're stupefied 1 for 2 rounds). Thus I can see a few outcomes...

[u]Additional Unleash Psyche uses count as "You Unleash your Psyche" and do not trigger the subside effects[/u]: In this ruling, as long as I continue to cast a spell each of my turns and don't gain the stupefied condition from something else (or fall unconscious and trigger the subside effects that way), each round of the encounter I can Unleash Psyche and Violent Unleash. That means I'm always dealing 2*Spell Level bonus damage on psychic spellcasting and starting with a Violent Unleash but only ever have two actions on my turns, at least one of which must be used to cast a spell (e.g. cast Telekinetic Projectile or cast Shield and Stride). I can forgo the Violent Unleash to gain three actions on my turn, but it still may cause issues if there's a lot of necessary movement or if an enemy can perform reactions to Cast a Spell (or if the character goes unconscious or becomes stupefied by another source, which seem to be the main antagonist counters to this scenario).

[u]Additional Unleash Psyche activations do not count as "You Unleash your Psyche" and do not trigger the subside effects[/u]: In this ruling, Violent Unleash will likely only happen once per encounter unless the character gains stupefied from some other source or fails to cast a spell on their turn, thereby becoming ineligible to extend the Unleashed Psyche effect, or falls unconscious, thereby triggering the subside effects. However, as long as the character continues to meet the requirements to extend the effect, the character will still have the bonus damage for the entire encounter. At least one action each turn will need to be used for the Cast a Spell activity.

[u]Additional Unleash Psyche activations trigger the subside effects[/u]: I'm not to worried about the Violent Unleash trigger effect in this instance, but technically there are two variants of this situation. The character has a weird cycle when using Unleash Psyche on Round 3: They continue to benefit from Unleashed Psyche for Round 3 and Round 4 (ending at the start of turn on Round 5) but are Stupefied 1 for Round 3 and Round 4 (ending at the start of turn on Round 5), and cannot use Unleash Psyche until the start of Round 5 from the first subside effect. At the start of their turn on Round 5, the Unleashed Pscyhe ends, triggering a fresh round of subside effects, leaving them Stupefied 1 for Round 5 and Round 6 and unable to cast Unleash Psyche on those rounds. This leaves the following cycle:

  • Round 1: No Unleashed effect, cannot use Unleash Psyche
  • Round 2: Uses Unleash Psyche to gain the Unleashed effect
  • Round 3: Has the Unleashed effect, uses Unleash Psyche to extend the Unleashed effect, gains Stupefied 1 from subside effects
  • Round 4: Has the Unleashed effect, cannot use Unleash Psyche, Stupefied 1
  • Round 5: No Unleashed effect, cannot use Unleash Psyche, Stupefied 1
  • Round 6: No Unleashed effect, cannot use Unleash Psyche, Stupefied 1
  • Round 8: Uses Unleash Psyche to gain the Unleashed effect (thus repeating the above cycle from Round 2).

The above seems really weird to me because the Round 3 use of Unleash Psyche also triggers the inability to use Unleash Psyche for the same round that it was just used, but I don't think it leads to an inherent contradiction.

Alternatively, this confusion could all be avoided if Paizo just did an errata on the Unleash Psyche effect that adds "your Psyche is not Unleashed" to the requirements, similar to the way Rage works. The fact that it's not there seems to imply that the effect is intended to be extendable, but it could just be an oversight (similar to not specifying "Standard Psi Cantrip" in The Oscillating Wave's Conservation of Energy feature.