Nuclearspatula's page

48 posts (57 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 aliases.


RSS


Java Man wrote:
I'm afraid there is too much ambiguity to this, folks here have their ideas, but you just have to talk to your GM to know how it will work for you.

That's essentially what I'm gathering.

So, thank you to everyone who's responding. I will show the thread to my GM, as it is ultimately his decision regardless.


A normal, mundane quiver (or any other normal mundane wearable container which it could fit in) could definitely work.

Use of a different container doesn't negate the question though. There's no need for my character to find a place to buy a quiver (he doesn't own one, or a bow) if the glove works.


Diego Rossi wrote:

You can carry the rod in a backpack, or in a quiver (it will use up about the same space as a single arrow) and it will still work.

While it is stored in the glove it is shrunk to a fraction of its normal size, I am not really convinced it will still work as normal.

If you store a lit torch, it will continue to shed light and it will burn down until it is consumed?

Just noting I mentioned it earlier, but my character has a handy haversack. So he can't put the rod in his backpack, it will be in an extradimensional space.

As far as a quiver, its much bigger than an arrow. This isn't a wand, its a rod (usually 2-3 feet long and 5 pounds)


AwesomenessDog

You can believe that I'm a min/maxer if you want. I didn't ask for a critique of how I play my character, I asked about how a rule works.

Since it seems you care though...

My character has a rod of splendor, he does not have a headband of charisma. Both the rod and the glove were treasure we acquired. They are what I have to work with. I can't simply exchange one for the other.

Do you know how sealing works as a combat maneuver?

Advanced Player's Guide pg. 322 wrote:
You can attempt to take an item from a foe as a standard action. This maneuver can be used in melee to take any item that is neither held nor hidden in a bag or pack. You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to attempt this maneuver.

If I have the rod on my side, there's no reason for someone to *not* attempt this even if they don't know what the rod is, as it is described as a "fantastically bejeweled rod " and is worth 25,000gp with a strong magical aura.

The rod gives my character 2 spell slots (one 3rd and one 4th), +2 DC on all his spell saves, +2 uses of panache per day, +2 to his charmed life ability (Charisma to saves as an immediate action), as well as +2 to all his charisma based skills. That's not a tiny amount of abilities, and even though they are what I mentioned in my last post, social skills are actually bottom of the list.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
I would argue no you don't count as carrying something when it's in any extradimensional space; that said, while the glove isn't technically an extradimensional space, I'd argue it does also act like one as there is no mention of the super tiny shrunk item fitting into the stitching or still being held in the palm (it is likely just floating a few micrometers away but that is still neither held nor carried). Secondly, if you can just have it hanging off your belt, why do you need it in an extradimensional space?

1) I don't want it in an extradimensional space.

2) I don't want people to know that I have (and am using) a Rod of Splendor. Its a very recognizable, insanely expensive magic item that increases your charisma.
3) I don't want someone to simply be able to steal it off of me, thus losing the +4 CHA I get from it (The character is a bard/Swashbuckler, every ability works off Charisma).
4) its not small, or light weight.
PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 484 wrote:
Rods weigh approximately 5 pounds. They range from 2 feet to 3 feet long and are usually made of iron or some other metal.

5) I want the item somewhere where it won't hinder the character's ability to move, or talk to people (preferably hidden), and I can't just put it in my backpack as that is a Handy Haversack, and I know it being in an extradimensional space means I don't count as carrying it.


So, I've read the entry for Gloves of Storing multiple times, and I can't figure one thing out: Does an item stop functioning while being stored?

My character just got a Rod of Splendor, but doesn't want to openly carry it around all the time. He also just got a Gloves of Storing.

The Gloves read:

Quote:
This device is a single leather glove. On command, one item held in the hand wearing the glove disappears. The item can weigh no more than 20 pounds and must be able to be held in one hand. While stored, the item has negligible weight. With a snap of the fingers wearing the glove, the item reappears. A glove can only store one item at a time. Storing or retrieving the item is a free action. The item is shrunk down so small within the palm of the glove that it cannot be seen. Spell durations are not suppressed, but continue to expire. If the glove’s effect is suppressed or dispelled, the stored item appears instantly. A glove of storing uses up the wearer’s entire hands slot. The wearer may not use another item (even another glove of storing) that also uses the hands slot.

Please note, it says that the item is shrunk down, not stored inside the glove in any extra-dimensional sense. It also specifies that "Spell durations are not suppressed, but continue to expire."

The Rod of Splendor reads:

Quote:

The possessor of this fantastically bejeweled rod gains a +4 enhancement bonus to her Charisma score for as long as she holds or carries the item. Once per day, the rod garbs her in magically created clothing of the finest fabrics, and adorns her with furs and jewels.

Apparel created by the magic of the rod remains in existence for 12 hours. However, if the possessor attempts to sell or give away any part of it, use it for a spell component, or the like, all the apparel immediately disappears. The same applies if any of it is forcibly taken from her.

The value of the noble garb created by the rod ranges from 7,000 to 10,000 gp (1d4+6 x 1,000 gp)—1,000 gp for the fabric alone, 5,000 gp for the furs, and the rest for the jewels (maximum of 20 gems; maximum value 200 gp each).

In addition, the rod has a second special power, usable once per week. Upon command, it creates a palatial tent—a huge pavilion of silk 60 feet across. Inside the tent are temporary furnishings and food suitable to the splendor of the pavilion and sufficient to entertain as many as 100 people. The tent and its trappings last for 1 day. At the end of that time, the tent and all objects associated with it (including any items that were taken out of the tent) disappear.

Only the first sentence of the description matters for my purposes, specifically the part that says "...for as long as she holds or carries the item." As far as I understand the item I can have it strapped to my back and I still get the +4 CHA.

So, understanding these two items, if I put my Rod of Splendor in my Glove of Storing do I still count as carrying the item? Does it turn off while shrunk and stored?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Karmagator wrote:


The rules for activating ammo don't work very well when applied to anything but bows and weren't future-proofed very well either, as the others have pointed out. The actual idea seems to be that you have to have the ammo "in use" (e.g. loaded into a firearm) or in an accessible location and have to spend an extra action to get the effects. As long as that is fulfilled, you can safely ignore the specific logistics.

As far as making unarmed attacks while using a two-handed weapon go, that's a separate topic. Afaik you don't even need to take a hand off the weapon. You can make unarmed attacks with any part of your body, so long as it makes sense ("You can Strike with your fist or another body part..."). Your character can kick perfectly well while wielding a musket. If you specifically wanted to punch someone, then yes, you would have to later re-grip your weapon. That is done as either a seperate Interact action or as part of reloading the weapon your are wielding.

I was looking at having a gunslinger (specifically a triggerbrand) with a Sterling Dynamo, and using a gunsword (two-handed). So, specifically I'd have to punch, and it would have to be with that specific arm.

I just didn't realize that this ^ and interacting to activate then reload worked differently. oops. Thank you for the correction (honestly)


Squiggit wrote:
If a GM wants to add an extra action in there, they can, though I can't fathom why they'd want to nerf crossbows and two-handed rifles.

Okay, I was going off of something else because I was thinking about the fact that you are removing the hand to do something separate (activating the ammo).

I was told that if I was using a two handed weapon, and I wanted to take a hand off of it in order to punch someone, I would need to use an interact action to put the punching hand back on the weapon.


Squiggit wrote:

RAW, two-gun and sword-and-gun characters are out of luck, so are repeating weapons.

Two-handed gun users that don't use magazines can activate, then load, then shoot, per normal rules.

But doesn't removing and then replacing your hand on a weapon count as an interact action?

So, with a two-handed gun, it would be remove hand (free action), interact (action) to take out and activate the alchemical round, interact (action) to load the round, interact (action) to replace the hand.

so using alchemical ammo would allow you one shot every 4 actions.


Jacob Jett wrote:
Generally that is correct, RAW implies 2 interact actions be completed. However there's a lack of specific verbage bluntly stating as such in the same way as magical ammunition. So you might be able to argue to your GM that the interacts be combined into a single action...

The extra action to interact is less important to me than the "touching it with a free hand" part. Two-guns, Gun-and-sword, and two-handed guns are staples of the class. In fact there are several feats that work specifically with both and allow you to reload with no free hand (otherwise none of it would work, even the two-handed guns, as its an interact action to place a hand on the gun)

So, (looking for RAW/RAI) how is one of these gunslingers supposed to use alchemical ammo?


Sorry to resurrect this thread, I just found it. I am bringing a gunslinger into an existing campaign. I'm the only one in the group to ever try playing this class, and I don't understand some of this stuff (dealing with activating ammo).

If I understand this thread correctly, for anything other than normal ammunition you need to interact with it (as its own action, and not part of the interact to reload) in order to activate it.

Karmagator wrote:


The Activate an Item entry has the following requirements:

"You can Activate an Item with the invested trait only if it’s invested by you. If the item requires you to Interact with it, you must be wielding it (if it’s a held item) or touching it with a free hand (if it’s another type of item)."

If the ammo is loaded inside a magazine, you have no way of touching it. Similarly, when using a two-handed weapon with repeating, you do not have a free hand, meaning you cannot activate it at all. Without the whole process taking 3 actions at least, which defeats the point of having a repeating weapon.

The rules around special ammunition in general are really janky.

Karmagator if I am following what you are saying here, how is this supposed to function with someone using two guns or gun-and-sword?


HumbleGamer wrote:

Well, a lvl 0 formula is worth 5sp.

I'd probably buy it and get some other lvl 1 recipe.

I just don't think it makes sense that the "munitions" feat doesn't automatically give you the ability to make munitions.

Also, as an out-of-the-gate, level 1 character that extra 5sp is a lot. In order to get any use from my Way, I have to spend a minimum of 8 gold on my main weapon (I'm trying to build a Triggerbrand)


YuriP wrote:
So you are playing with a gunslinger. Things about firearms including black powder are common to you. You may now be in area where weapons, ammo and black powder aren't common but IMO you basic class training may allow you to consider these kind of items and formulas as common.

The problem isn't just that black powder is uncommon, its that its level zero.

The feat(s) only say that I get level 1 formulas.

EDIT: So do I need to pay for the formula for the black powder?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've searched and can't locate an answer, so I'm sorry if this has been asked before.

The feat Alchemical Crafting says: "When you select this feat, you immediately add the formulas for four common 1st-level alchemical items to your formula book."

The Munitions Crafter Feat says: "You also gain the Alchemical Crafting feat and four additional formulas for 1st-level alchemical items."

A formula book starts out blank.

Black Powder is an uncommon Level ZERO item.

RAW, how do I get the formula for Black Powder in my book?

Edit: the only thing I care about crafting is normal black powder.


And I forgot to mention, Healer's Hands also allows you to heal the same person multiple times per day.


Azothath wrote:

Heal Skill Treating Deadly Wounds takes 1hr and a target can only benefit once per day(24hrs).

It's an out-of-combat activity and you are spending feats on it. I understand, just don't let your group guilt you into being the healer.

I am the party healer regardless, as I'm not just the only character with ranks in the heal skill, but also the only one capable of casting a cure spell.

Also, I took the feat "Healer's Hands" Its noted in the OP.

The feat allows you to Treat Deadly Wounds as a standard action, without need of a healer's kit, and (if you exceed the DC by 10) add your ranks in Knowledge Planes to the roll. You can only use the feat a number of times per day equal to your ranks in Knowledge Planes. Its a Conduit Feat.


Belafon wrote:
You seem really heal-focused, so I'm wondering a bit about your minimum roll. Is Heal not a class skill (+3) for you? Do you not have a healer's kit (a Healer's Satchel counts as one)? That's a +2 circumstance bonus. Does your group not have buffs like heroism running most of the time? A cracked incandescent blue sphere ioun stone is only 200 gp for a +1 competence bonus to any one Wisdom-based skill (choose heal). A cracked magenta prism is 800gp for +2 competence instead.

Sorry, my math was slightly off. We are leveling to 9. I have max ranks, Skill Focus, and Wis +5.

9+3+5+3= 20. So I should have said my minimum is 21, not 22

I have a healer's kit, but I (sadly) never thought to use it when using Healing Hands (because it isn't needed).

No, we don't have anyone in the group who can cast Heroism.

I don't have any magic items that increase my healing. And we don't have an item crafter in the group either.

I'm not as heal focused as it may seem, but I'm the only character in the group who has any ranks in the skill or can cast a healing spell. I'm actually a Speaker for the Past Life Shaman. (I honestly planned on only dedicating 2 feats to this.) This is actually a third feat, because we really seem to need it.

Quote:
Replace. So if you have 10 ranks in Heal, a 10 HD creature would heal 40 HP....

okay


Quote:
That is correct, 31 instead of 25, though I would question whether or not 6 hp per use is worth a feat.

In combat where I can't take 10 on the check is where I think it would really matter, if I choose to use Healer's Hands instead of casting a spell. (Because with Healer's Hands I can tread deadly wounds in combat)

My minimum roll is 22 (not enough to add my Wis or Planes to the roll, so a PC in the group would heal only 10. That becomes 22 with Incredible Healer. My maximum without using incredible healer becomes 25 (If I roll a 9 for a total heal check of 30), but the number I roll for the heal check is always better than what I can get from Healer's Hands alone.

So, in that aspect I definitely think its worth it.

Quote:
If your GM allows it you might want to take the Signature Skill feat and get the Heal Skill Unlock instead.

So I want to make sure, are the abilities from the Unchained Skill Unlockes supposed to stack with what you normally get when you Treat Deadly Wounds, or does it instead does it replace the normal?


Diego Rossi wrote:

Your Healer's Hands, Knowledge (Planes) included, is the "normal amount". You replace it completely when you use Incredible Healer.

So you cure 25 points when using Healer's Hands and 31 when using Incredible Healer.

Can use both feats together though? So when I use Healer's hands, if I take 10, I still get to heal the person 31


Quote:
Treat Deadly Wounds: When treating deadly wounds, you can restore hit points to a damaged creature. Treating deadly wounds restores 1 hit point per level of the creature. If you exceed the DC by 5 or more, add your Wisdom modifier (if positive) to this amount. A creature can only benefit from its deadly wounds being treated within 24 hours of being injured and never more than once per day. You must expend two uses from a healer’s kit to perform this task. You take a –2 penalty on your Heal skill check for each use from the healer’s kit that you lack.

My character has the Healer's Hands feat:

Quote:
You can use the Heal skill to treat deadly wounds as a full-round action. You do not take a penalty for not using a healer’s kit when treating deadly wounds this way, and you can do so on a given creature more than once per day. When treating deadly wounds this way, if your result exceeds the DC by 10 or more, add your ranks in Knowledge (planes) to the damage healed. These benefits do not apply to creatures that are not healed by positive energy. You can use this feat’s benefit a number of times per day equal to your ranks in Knowledge (planes).

We just leveled and I want to have him take Incredible Healer:

Quote:
When you use the Heal skill to treat deadly wounds, the target heals a number of hit points equal to either the result of your Heal check or the normal amount, whichever is higher. A creature can still benefit from having deadly wounds treated no more than once per day.

My problem is that I can't figure out how the feats interact?

I have +21 Heal check (10 ranks, skill focus, Wisdom bonus +5) and 10 ranks in Knowledge Planes.
The DC for Treat Deadly Wounds is 20.
If I take 10 I automatically get a 31.

The normal amount I'd heal a target would be Their level + my Wisdom Modifier (15 for any of the other PCs).

But if I use my Healer's Hands what counts as "the normal amount"? When do I check to see if I get to add my Planes ranks?

Taking 10 when using Healer's Hands at my current level would I heal a party member 25, 31, or 41 HP?


Male

society: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (4) + 12 = 16


Male

identify, divine: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (1) + 7 = 8


Male

[roll=soothe for Thaine]3d10+10[/roll]


Male

performance: 1d20 + 13 ⇒ (7) + 13 = 20


Male

Attack Roll: 1d20 + 5 ⇒ (11) + 5 = 16


Male

Hello


Thank you.


I'm not sure I'm reading the Heal spell correctly.

Heal reads:
"The number of actions you spend when
Casting this Spell determines its targets, range, area, and
other parameters.
[one-action] (somatic) The spell has a range of touch.
[two-actions] (verbal, somatic) The spell has a range of 30 feet. If you’re
healing a living creature, increase the Hit Points restored
by 8.
[three-actions] (material, somatic, verbal) You disperse positive energy
in a 30-foot emanation. This targets all living and undead
creatures in the burst."

If I take 3 actions to cast the spell, how much to I heal people? Is it 1d8 or 1d8+8?


Twin Takedown takes one action and says "Make two Strikes against your hunted prey, one with each of the required weapons. If both hit the same hunted prey, combine their damage for the purpose of its resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to each Strike normally."

Does this mean that if I don't need to move or take an action for anything other than attacking if I use Twin Takedown I can get 4 attacks in a round?

What does "Apply your multiple attack penalty to each Strike normally." mean exactly? If the first thing I do in a round is use Twin Takedown does my secondary weapon take a penalty? If so, what's my penalty to strike if my second action is also an attack?

If Twin Takedown *does* mean I can get 4 attacks, what's the penalty on my 4th strike in the round?


I read this exactly the same way Wheldrake did. Which means, yes it is potentially very expensive to aid someone. But do remember that DC doesn't *need* to be a 20, that's just the "standard"


James has the number correct, but is doing unnecessary math

There are two kinds of enchantments you can put on a weapon or armor:

Enchantments that have a + value (+1, +2, +3, etc...)
Enchantments that have a flat money value (2700 gold)

When upgrading you NEVER count the value of the original item, only the value of the enchantment.

When adding to an item that has both, ignore all flat money value enchantments.

CRB page 461, table 15-3 has the prices.

A +1 enchantment on armor is worth 1,000 gp
A +2 enchantment on armor is worth 4,000 gp

The value of the armor (including masterwork), and the value of the glamor enchantment don't factor in.

You pay the difference between value of the +1 enchantment and the value of the +2 enchantment

3,000 Gold


Some people were saying not it can but it does which is why there was a question about it.

I'm saying I wouldn't do it, and my previous post was one of the reasons why.


Devilkiller, this causes problems though. Your cohort can easily end up 3-4 levels below the PC.

FE: Jake just earned level 15 and takes leadership. He has a charisma of 14, and is known to be Fair and Generous but his GM says he doesn't get any other positive modifiers. This makes his leadership score 18. The maximum level cohort attractable with that leadership score is 12th.

As with most GMs I know, the cohort starts at minimum exp for that level: 145,000 (f); 220,000 (m); or 330,000 (s).

If Jake doesn't get a Charisma item, chances are his Leadership Score won't increase until he gains level 16.

Advancing from level 15 to level 16 takes:

175,000 exp (f)
255,000 exp (m)
395,000 exp (s)

Advancing from level 12 to level 13 takes:

65,000 exp (f)
95,000 exp (m)
145,000 exp (s)

The Cohort gains approximately 80% of the exp of the PC each time exp is awarded. That means Jake's cohort will top out at level 1 exp shy of level 13 several thousand exp prior to Jake earning level 17.

Once Jake earns level 17, his cohort starts gaining exp again. However, until the GM awards Jake exp again, the cohort is still level 12, and thus not 2 levels low, but 4.

This is would be even worse if Jake had only a 12 or 13 Charisma Score, no positive modifiers for reputation or had any negatives (like a familiar or animal companion).


Queen Morgan, thank you. That was how I thought it was supposed to work. The passage in Ultimate Campaign just confused me, and I had a hard time getting my issue across well.

That clears everything up. I appreciate the time.


That was my question in the first place.

According to the chart in the PCR and the SRD the your Leadership score determines the level you can recruit.

According to what the OP posted Ultimate Campaign says:

"If you exploit your cohort, you'll quickly find your Leadership score shrinking away. Although this doesn't change the cohort's level, the cohort can't gain levels until your Leadership score allows for a level increase, so if you're a poor leader, you must wait longer for your cohort to level up. In extreme cases, the cohort might abandon you, and you'll have to recruit a new cohort."

That passage indicates that your leadership score would not only determine you cohort's starting level, but also his MAXIMUM level.

So PCR: A cohort traveling with an 18th level character who has a Leadership Score of 22 can gain exp up to and including level 16. Said Cohort cannot become level 17 until the PC he is associated with becomes level 19.

UC: A cohort traveling with an 18th level character who has a Leadership Score of 22 can gain exp up to and including level 14. Said Cohort cannot become level 15 until the PC he is associated with raises his Leadership Score to a 23.


Right, but even not counting my mount I only have a score of 22 (max cohort level of 15. You need a score of 23 to have a cohort of level 16.


Queen Moragan wrote:

This is the relevant sentence in Leadership;

If a cohort gains enough XP to bring it to a level one lower than your level, the cohort does not gain the new level—its new XP total is 1 less than the amount needed to attain the next level.

The maximum amount of xp that a cohort can earn places him 1 xp short of your level -1, or in other words your level -2.

Your leadership score really only applies if it would result in a number that is less than your level -2.

In your own post, the line above that refers to advancing the cohort. Only the first sentence refers to gaining a cohort. The second sentence refers to equipping him. Then his race & class, then his alignment.

So if I am level 18, and my leadership score is a 20 because of my special mount (chart says max cohort level 14), what is the maximum level of my cohort?

Is it level 14 or 16?


Here's what I mean:

I am level 18 with a leadership score of 22, and a level 15 cohort. My Cohort currently sits at 326 exp below level 16.

During tonight's game session I gain 5 negative levels (thus assumingly bringing my leadership down to a 17). The group gains 5,000 exp for the night, but we end before I have had any of my negative levels dealt with.

How much exp does my cohort gain for the game session?
Does my cohort gain level 16?


Queen Moragan wrote:

cohort maxes out at level -2, but only 1 xp short of level -1.

Think of leadership score being the lower limit, and your level -2 being the upper limit.

So in YOUR opinion, what level should my cohort be? Level 15 or level 16?


Thank you chbgraphicarts, that is what I was trying to explain.

I do have a question though:

When YOU consider this:

Quote:
So, basically, if you're a lv19 Character, you're a douche to your lv17 Cohort, and your Leadership score falls from 24 to 23 or less, your Cohort stops gaining XP until your Leadership score rises to 24 or higher.

How do you factor in temporary losses to Charisma or level (including permanent until cured, and permanent until duration ends effects.)


(posted too soon and didn't want to edit)

If my leadership score determines the max level of my cohort, and the cohort maxes out at level-1 in exp, that actually means that she will never gain exp until I reach level 19. She will not be 2 levels below me, or even 3, she will be 4 levels below me.


Hold on. I think you are missing my point:

I have a Leadership score of 22 (20 for purposes of attracting a cohort according to the second modifier chart because I have a special mount.)

I am level 18, and my cohort has been part of the group since I was level 13 (she was level 10).

A 22 leadership score allows you to gain a cohort of level 15 or lower. My cohort has gained enough exp to become level 16 (two levels lower than me).

I am NOT attracting a cohort. My cohort has been around to see my PC gain 5 levels. The CRB (the passage we both quoted) only refers to ATTRACTING a cohort. In fact nothing in the book discusses loosing a cohort, or leveling a cohort except that the cohort's level can never be more than 2 below the PCs.

If Ultimate Campaign says that your Leadership Score determines the max level of the cohort, that is a huge difference.


In the CRB it never says that you Leadership Score has anything to do with your cohort gaining levels, it only states that it has to do with ATTRACTING a cohort.

Attracting a cohort means: finding and gaining a cohort, not keeping the cohort.

Quoting the SRD (bolding the relevant sections:

Quote:

Cohort Level: You can attract a cohort of up to this level. Regardless of your Leadership score, you can only recruit a cohort who is two or more levels lower than yourself. The cohort should be equipped with gear appropriate for its level (see Creating NPCs). A cohort can be of any race or class. The cohort's alignment may not be opposed to your alignment on either the law/chaos or good/evil axis, and you take a –1 penalty to your Leadership score if you recruit a cohort of an alignment different from your own.

A cohort does not count as a party member when determining the party's XP. Instead, divide the cohort's level by your level. Multiply this result by the total XP awarded to you, then add that number of experience points to the cohort's total.

If a cohort gains enough XP to bring it to a level one lower than your level, the cohort does not gain the new level—its new XP total is 1 less than the amount needed to attain the next level.

This is the only section in the SRD about cohort level. It never says anywhere that your Leadership Score has anything to do with the level of the cohort after he joins the group. That is why I am wondering if the information in Ultimate Campaign should be considered optional.


A) Thank you again for the help. I've never used that section of the PRD before.

Possibly a silly follow up question:

Considering the fact that the beginning of the section on Campaign Systems says:

"This chapter presents a variety of small tweaks for your campaign, each one focused on giving life to moments and depth to activities in your game. You can use these systems individually or mix and match them together to taste."

Do you consider these optional additional rules or clarifications of Core rules?


Also, does the special mount count for this or not?

The section reads: (PRD) "When you try to attract a follower, use the following modifiers."

(PCR) "Other modifiers may apply when you try to attract a cohort, as listed below."

The chart states:

"Has a familiar, special mount, or animal companion: -2"

So is this just for attracting the cohort?

Does this also apply to the cohorts level?

Does it apply to "keeping" the cohort should my leadership score ever drop?"


Thank you.

Can anyone tell me where in the Ultimate Campaign this passage is?

Sadly it matters a whole lot for me, because the cohort in question JUST earned 16th level, and my GM generally uses the non-variant rules from that book.


Sorry, my mistake: Ultimate Campaign.

I don't have access right now to either one, but I also can't find the information in the PRD

Still, the question stands: what level should my character's cohort be?


Sorry to resurrect this thread, however I just found it today.

I want to make sure I understand this whole thing because I have a high level character with a cohort.

I took Leadership around level 13, and have had the same cohort ever since. My character has a Charisma of 15 (+2), the Natural Born Leader trait (+1), and has always shown Fairness and Generosity (+1), but he also has a Special Mount (-2). My character is now level 18, so my leadership score is a 22 (20 in regards to attracting a follower)

I don't have a copy of Ultimate Combat, so I don't know where the OP found the passage he's quoting.

Without using the information in Ultimate Combat, my Leadership Score allows me to attract a cohort of level 15. However (as stated above) I've had my cohort with me for 5 levels now. I already had the special mount and my GM considered me to have all the bonuses listed above, so my cohort started at Level 10.

We have earned enough exp since the characters joined up that my cohort is now level 16 (two levels lower than my PC).

However, if I understand the comments made here correctly, people (especially Claxton) are saying that my Leadership Score is what determines the maximum level of my cohort, not my level. So my Cohort shouldn't be allowed to be level 16 (even though we've earned more than enough EXP) her maximum level is 15 (or possibly even 14 because of my special mount).

Did I get that correct, or am I missing something?