Kenku

Nefreet's page

Starfinder Charter Superscriber. ******** Pathfinder Society GM. Starfinder Society GM. 16,206 posts (23,661 including aliases). 2 reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 57 Organized Play characters. 25 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 16,206 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Anyone can learn regional languages, and even if you start with a 20 Int, that only means one extra language above your starting potential (Kobolds start with Draconic in place of Common).

I guarantee that you won't be "audited" for that, but even if you encounter a GM who (for some reason) says you can't have your one extra regional language, it won't hinder your character or invalidate your build.

(plus I assume you'll be continuing to increase your Int and/or putting ranks into Linguistics)

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I take it you don't do much PbP?

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Multi-session module or AP isn't a thing right now. There's only Campaign Mode.

Play-by-Post, yes, you'd have to hold it, but you're going to know what Downtime you're doing, because you roll for that when you sign-in.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Just be mindful of this when their turn comes up:

You need at least two hands to climb, but you can cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell, shoot a small arm, or take some other action that takes only one hand.

Other than that, I am not aware of some reactionary check to cling to their rope. But if the climber had been Taking 10 to climb because their modifier is low, they might be in trouble now since they'll have to roll.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

This was probably meant to be posted in the Rules Questions Forum?

I am not aware of any rules that cover this, however there is at least one adventure where the PCs have a tracking device hidden on their ship that the BBEG uses to follow them out into the Vast.

My particular gripe is that, theoretically, such a beacon would still be subject to the Xd6 days of sending a signal through space, but said trackers catch up to the PCs after as little as one day.

I had to explain it away as "Plot is faster than the speed of light".

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Personally, although I think I already stated this, I believe the rules for #1-00 are the best practice we've probably ever had. Apply to any character within range, and use the Pregen's stats for the Downtime check.

Avoids "holding" the Chronicle, worrying about character stats, and worrying about interrupting whatever the character might have been in the middle of doing.

Please, let's do this going forward. The possible extra cash that you might earn by rolling a crit success isn't overpowering, and will help make these pregen scenarios more attractive.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Control+F wrote:
Creatures cannot be reduced to fewer than 0 Hit Points. When most creatures reach 0 Hit Points, they die and are removed from play unless the attack was nonlethal, in which case they are instead knocked out for a significant amount of time (usually 1 minute or more). When undead and construct creatures reach 0 Hit Points, they are destroyed.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
The DM of wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Pathfinder is a permissive rules system. What you need is evidence showing you can hold or save your increases for a later level.
I'm not able to find the word permissive in the core book.

It's a legal definition that game design takes after.

Restrictive - Allow everything except those things which are forbidden by the rules
Permissive - Disallow everything except those things for which permission is given by the rules

The all-too-common example being, "Nothing says I can't <insert crazy idea here>, so I can"

In Pathfinder2 (and Pathfinder1 and Starfinder) you need to be given permission to do something. In this case, if you want to retain a skill increase for a later level, you need evidence supporting that idea (or a GM who says it's okay). You can't just go ahead on your own.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Holding back feats could be advantageous as well, depending on your build.

For further context, you couldn't hold things back in PF1, either, and you can't currently in Starfinder.

Two different games, yes, but similar design elements from the same company.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can't prove a negative.

Pathfinder is a permissive rules system. What you need is evidence showing you can hold or save your increases for a later level.

I am unaware of any Designer statements or published text that supports that idea.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Huh.

#1 would be a mess if, by the time you applied the Chronicle, you were already in the middle of Crafting something else.

#2 would be hard to do if you didn't have your character with you (which I did not; the table I was GMing folded and I helped make a 1-00 session legal).

I could have guessed his Crafting bonus, I suppose, but that definitely doesn't sound like a sustainable practice for everyone.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If I had a character who wanted to wield an Earthbreaker, and a scenario's description hints at a mission in Varisia to help out a tribe of Shoanti, there's a better than average chance that Chronicle will have what I'm looking for.

Now, are there any current scenarios that take place in a region where katanas are more likely to be used against you?

Maaaaaaybeeee.... ^_^

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It's like when people were claiming ammunition wasn't consumable, because the text clarifying that ammunition was consumable existed outside of the equipment chapter. Then the errata clarified that, no really, ammunition is consumable.

The idea behind this iteration of the Core Rulebook is that Ctrl+F is a thing, and redundancies can be limited to save on page count.

I also believe that transferring runes requires some level of crafting, which since they are magical, requires an ability to craft magical items (such as the Magical Crafting feat or some other to-be-published ability).

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

A wand of heal has been very useful to our group.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You can GM the scenario and apply that Chronicle to the character you want ^_^

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

There are, off the top of my head, 4 ways to fail a scenario (generally):

1) TPK (Total Party Killed)
2) TPC (Total Party Captured)
3) TPRA (Total Party Ran Away)
4) TPFXNOSCADDTT (Total Party Failed X Number Of Skill Checks And Didn't Discover The Thing)

The Boon you're referencing helps with #2.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

There are multiple scenarios where you fight slavers, and success is not always guaranteed, sooo...

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I flagged your post because it contains spoilers, but what that means is a web guru will just hide part of your post behind a spoiler tag. No harm ^_^

Charm wrote:

Failure The target's attitude becomes friendly toward you. If it was friendly, it becomes helpful. It can't use hostile actions against you.

Critical Failure The target's attitude becomes helpful toward you, and it can't use hostile actions against you.

Imagine you have two friends who draw swords and start fighting. You don't want to harm either of them. That doesn't stop you from assisting one or the other, like healing or casting beneficial spells.

Charm just nerfs someone's ability to harm you.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I really take issue with the claim that this is "forcing the player to lock themselves into a decision".

This is a *bonus* above and beyond what's usually available.

If someone decides not to utilize it, they're not out anything.

It's like showing up to the tail-end of a bake sale, seeing that they're giving away what's left, and not liking what the options are. Nobody's forcing you to eat the coconut macaroons.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber
N N 959 wrote:
The most important question that hasn't been answered is why not just do it the same way we do for a GM who has no pregen stats to use?

*raises hand*

Because the GM has no Pregen stats to use?

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I get an "Error 502 Bad Gateway" when I click on the Twitch link =(

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I don't see any long term issues by having specific rulings for specific scenarios.

That's fairly common practice.

It would be nice if the specific ruling for that specific scenario became the general practice.

But if it isn't, it doesn't cause problems for any other scenario.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Ah. Thanks for that.

In that case, I hope Campaign Leadership considers making that the general rule.

Everyone was very happy to hear that was how it worked.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

My GM quoted something different. I even earned Gold for a 3rd level PC. Perhaps that section of the Guide still needs to be updated.

I did not read this anywhere myself; I have yet to GM PFS2.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber
N N 959 wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
When I played this (as Fumbus) and applied the credit to my 3rd level character, my GM said the "official" answer was that Campaign Leadership didn't care about the one-time earning bonus potential.

How did you apply a lvl 5 chronicle to a lvl 3 character?

I thought the guide says it has to be to a lvl 1 or the level of the pregen you played?

Nope. Any level up to the level of the Pregen.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Gary Bush wrote:
Kriptini wrote:
Finally, if you select Bargain Hunter during character creation at 1st level, you start play with an additional 2 gp.
I find it interesting that the extra 2 GP bump is allowed in Organized Play. Usually things that change the wealth curve gets excluded.

I initially thought the same thing, but back in PFS1, a wealth bump could buy you significantly more powerful starting gear.

In this edition magic items and consumables are also restricted by level access, so it's harder to start off with much of a wealth gap.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Rat o' one tail?

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Looks like it's just a regular Earn Income check to me.

Task Level = Character Level–2

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
CraziFuzzy wrote:
I'm pretty sure that is not the intention of the campaign leadership.

Since you're pretty sure, and I'm absolutely sure, why are we having this discussion?

We know Pathfinder Society Lore is valid. We know Pathfinder Society Lore comes up in games.

Doesn't seem like an issue to me.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

When I played this (as Fumbus) and applied the credit to my 3rd level character, my GM said the "official" answer was that Campaign Leadership didn't care about the one-time earning bonus potential.

I don't know where they heard that. Perhaps in the GM Discussion thread. Maybe someone else who has a link will be able to provide that here.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I don't understand why you would want to buy it, and transfer it. Just upgrade the weapon you already have.

You can't transfer runes during the scenario, for the already stated reason that transferring runes is a Downtime activity.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Good suggestion for future scenario authors ^_^

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
CraziFuzzy wrote:
pfs1 had almost no references to profession checks at all

Did you... Play PFS1 at all?

I know you didn't GM it, but speaking as someone who GMed a lot, the ratio is pretty equivalent.

CraziFuzzy wrote:
if it's only this one exception, then all it would take is a single sentence in the PFS character creation section

Problem solved, then. It's already listed in the PFS character creation guide (I again reference my -2001 with Pathfinder Society Lore), and it's in the Lost Omens book.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

When I played Fumbus at a local Con, THIS was the impromptu table tent I made.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Damage bonuses, hit points and healing are all balanced differently in this edition. It may seem like something was "lost", but it's less a nerf than just being a different game.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The description you quoted is also the errata'd version. They used to be a swift action to use, which essentially allowed for

Swift Action => Weapon Cord
Full-round Action => Full Attack

Now they're more balanced with what you pay for.

(but yes, please check the dates of posts you're replying to; older threads have probably had discussions since that provide missing context)

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

"Pathfinder Society Lore" is an actual Lore skill (my character earned it from his Background). It's also referenced in at least two scenarios. So no problem selecting or using that.

"Guild Lore" is a valid choice as well, but it wouldn't, by default, cover Pathfinder Society Lore, as the Pathfinder Society is not a guild. You're probably confusing the OOC Roleplaying Guild Guide for an IC organization.

Likewise, if you have a bonus to one Lore skill, it would not apply to a different Lore skill. If you happen to encounter a GM that allows it, then enjoy the privilege for that game.

There will never be an all encompassing list, just as there wasn't such a list in PFS1, and there isn't such a list in SFS. There doesn't need to be. Nobody wants there to be. Table variation is fine.

It's like asking whether the green plotches on a map are difficult terrain. Sometimes the scenario has it listed. Sometimes a GM says "No". Sometimes "Yes". Play it however they rule and move on.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Why would you want to select it more than once?

Sczarni

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I'll be darned:

"Retrieving an item stowed in your own backpack requires first taking off the backpack with a separate Interact action."

That's text that really should belong in the write-up for the backpack, and not on some obscure table.

And that action does indeed require two hands. My characters have a plethora of containers and sheathes, but I'll have to get into the habit of enforcing that when I GM.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Backpack wrote:
A backpack holds up to 4 Bulk of items. If you’re carrying or stowing the pack rather than wearing it on your back, its bulk is light instead of negligible.

Where are you seeing that it takes any extra actions? If it's an extra action for a backpack, it'd have to be an extra action for all containers, because their descriptions merely state the bulk that they carry.

Sack wrote:
A sack can hold up to 8 Bulk worth of items. A sack containing 2 Bulk or less can be worn on the body, usually tucked into a belt. You can carry a sack with one hand, but must use two hands to transfer items in and out.

A sack does state that you need two hands to take items in and out. So I suppose if your hands weren't free, you would need extra actions to deal with that first, but you wouldn't need extra actions on top of that.

Imagine how difficult spellcasting would be if you needed even more actions to use your material component pouch.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

OPF is still very new. I don't think Paizo quite knows yet how to utilize them. I imagine right now it's messy.

OPF is spending their time updating the online Guide, organizing volunteers for Conventions, and offering insight into what content to sanction.

Campaign Leadership has to review and correct what's being put into the Guide, coordinate their schedules with the OPF, and finalize what goes into Additional Resources.

It's like having a volunteer base to do the time consuming legwork, but you still need to finalize the business side of things.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I *really* hope we don't have to start supporting or using HeroLab in order to play PFS.

That will be the straw that breaks this tengu's back.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

But I can't imagine it coming up often. Even if someone changes their mind about what they want their primary weapon to be, by Level 3 you're earning 38+ gold a scenario, so upgrading your new choice isn't costly.

Having a backup weapon is always a good idea in Pathfinder.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Campaign Leadership is made up of paid Paizo employees. Very few of them.

The Organized Play Foundation is made up of unpaid volunteers.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The conflict there is that transferring is a Downtime activity, and can't be done in Exploration Mode.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Thanks for finding that!

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

GMs get Downtime just the same as players.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber
BigNorseWolf wrote:
*sits down in the rocking chair*

While I did laugh reading this, I don't think it's a good analogy.

I look at COM as being equivalent to Pathfinder's Advanced Race Guide.

There were a couple alternate racial abilities that were banned from that book, of which most were drow-related, but the vast majority were open.

And you saw really varied characters come out of it. Were their munchkins, too? Sure. But there were munchkins of all the races. And, ironically, the Aasimar/Tiefling heritages weren't even in that book!

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

35 gold quickly becomes a trivial amount. Maybe just keep using your current +1 weapon, and upgrade your next one when you have the cash?

I am not aware of how a character Untrained in Crafting could transfer a rune, but luckily it's not something that will come up often.

Of course, if you haven't actually played the character since you bought/upgraded your weapon, you can just make the change before your next game.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

My -2001 is currently going Slow Track, but even then he'll hit level 5 after two more adventures.

I want my -2002 to be a lizardfolk, so I guess I'll just put my play on hold for a while.

1 to 50 of 16,206 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>