![]() ![]()
Are we ever going to get an errata for the Gunslinger? It has been years since it was released and there is a pretty major mistake with it's weapon proficiency for non-firearm weapons being locked at expert instead of rising to master. It was already stated to be a typo by the devs but it hasn't gotten a correction yet. In fact guns and gears hasn't gotten any errata. I'm certain there are other mistakes in the book but the gunslinger one really sticks out. When can we expect this to be fixed? ![]()
Does the new cantrip Glass Shield have the same 10 cooldown as the Shield cantrip? The spell states:
It clearly states that it functions as the Shield cantrip but doesn't state that it doesn't have the 10 min cooldown if you block with it. Which doesn't seem to make sense given the nature of the spell is to block a small amount of damage and deal a small amount of damage to the creature who broke it... So if it does have the 10 min cooldown the spell seems very weak as it blocks very little damage and deals very little. At rank 1 it only blocks 2 and deals 1d4 (avg 2.5) damage and to only be able to do that once per 10 min seems way to weak a spell. Even at rank 9 it only blocks 12 damage and deals 4d4+mod (avg 10+mod) which is pretty low even for a cantrip. However, if it doesn't have the 10 min cooldown it would be a really good Cantrip at most levels... One action AC buff like Shield but can be used to block every round to reduce damage and deal damage to the creature that hits you. That would make it much better than Shield by a lot though... three rounds of blocking would give it more damage reduction than Shield and it was dealing damage those times too AND you can still cast it for the +1 AC. It just sounds too good to be true so it must have the 10 min cooldown right? Is there something I'm missing or should I swap Shield on all my casters to Glass Shield? ![]()
Squiggit wrote:
That is clearly not the case as the FAQ clearly states that you do not gain additional spells if you are a spellcaster. "If you're already a spellcaster, you use your normal allotment of spells for eldritch archer abilities and don't gain more spells." Why would that be included in the FAQ if you got the spell? As I have said multiple times this obviously needs clarification... ![]()
Squiggit wrote:
This is the reason why I think the dedication needs to be looked into again. When I asked about this archetype on the discord for the archives of Nethys there was confusion about it as well. The consensus was that the dedication does not give extra spells if you are already a spell caster. Which is what it does say in the dedication. You only get the cantrip if you are not a spellcaster. That is the whole reason I came he to hopefully get Paizo staff to clarify the archetype as since the change it is no longer in line with how other spell casting dedications work. So there is obviously a lot of confusion now about how it works. The dedication made much more sense prior to the change but now it's very unclear. ![]()
Squiggit wrote:
But then it doesn't make sense with what was stated in the FAQ about not getting extra spells. So does the dedication give you additional spells if you are already a caster or not? Like I mentioned before the FAQ clearly states that "If you're already a spellcaster, you use your normal allotment of spells for eldritch archer abilities and don't gain more spells." But if I use the logic that you're saying then the dedication would give you additional spells even if I'm already a spell caster... Do you see me issue here? It clear that the intention of the FAQ is that if you're already a spellcaster you do not gain additional spells. So I definitely think that this archetype need to be looked at again because the official FAQ says it doesn't give additional spells but apparently it does according to your reading of it. ![]()
Errenor wrote:
No need to be rude. I have looked at the most recent writing and that is where I quoted the text from. I will link it here for you. eldritch archer The entire paragraph is under the statement that "if you are not a spellcaster"... So everything in that paragraph is under that condition. So I would like some clarification about it. ![]()
Errenor wrote:
That doesn't seem to be the case according to the errata for the archetype. "Page 172: Remove the paragraph from the first printing that begins, "If you already cast spells from spell slots, you gain one additional cantrip from that tradition." If you're already a spellcaster, you use your normal allotment of spells for eldritch archer abilities and don't gain more spells." So with that paragraph removed you only gain a spell casting tradition if you are not already a spellcaster. This is the paragraph from the archetype: "If you don't already cast spells from spell slots, you learn to cast spontaneous spells and gain the Cast a Spell activity. You gain a spell repertoire with one cantrip of your choice, from a spell list of your choice. You choose this cantrip from the common spells on your chosen spell list or from other spells to which you have access on that list. This cantrip must require a spell attack roll. You're trained in spell attack rolls and spell DCs for that tradition. Your key spellcasting ability for these spells is Charisma." This is what has me confused. The errata clearly states that if your already a spellcaster you do not gain extra spells. However, that means that the archetype works differently depending when you gain spellcasting. So if your a fighter with the wizard dedication and take the archetype you are locked out of additional spellcasting from the eldritch archer archetype... But if your a fighter and take eldritch archer first you can then take the sorcerer dedication and you can gain sorcerer spells effectively doubling the amount of spells you have. Which feels like it was not intended...I think the eldritch archer archetype needs more clarification as it doesn't match other spell casting dedications ![]()
So I have a question about how the spell casting feats work for the eldritch archer if you're already a caster. Since the dedication was changed in errata the dedication only grants spellcasting if you are not a caster. So if you are already a spell caster does that mean you cannot take the basic, expert, and master spellcasting feats from the archetype? From my understanding of the errata I wouldn't be able to. So if I was a fighter with the wizard dedication and the basic spellcasting feat and I take eldritch archer I cannot gain additional spellcasting from the eldritch Archer archetype... But if I'm a fighter with just the eldritch archer dedication I can take the basic spellcasting feat from the archetype to cast using charisma. Then if I take the sorcerer dedication and the spellcasting feats from sorcerer afterwards I can get extra spells but not the other way around?? That doesn't seem right... Is there something I'm missing? ![]()
Castilliano wrote:
I just think that the 10ft movement speed was a typo or a design mistake honestly. I think having a 20ft move speed in the form without needing another spell would be the easiest fix. Also is the athletic modifier a -4 penalty on your own athletic skill or is it a modifier of -4? They use different wording for the stealth and acrobatics skills. In the spell it states that stealth and acrobatics have a modifier OF +10 but for athletics they say athletic modifier -4... So I'm not sure what it was supposed to be. ![]()
HumbleGamer wrote:
What about the ancestries that get pest forms though? A kitsune fighter with fox form doesn't have the spell longstrider. ![]()
Gortle wrote:
Ok I guess that makes sense but the 10ft speed has to be a mistake though. With a 10ft speed the pest form can't really sneak, climb, swim, or balance as they can only move 5ft and in difficult terrain it can't move at all. The spell gives a 20ft fly speed at level 4 but doesn't increase the land speed? I think this spell need errata for it to actually work... It really feels like it was meant to have a 20ft land speed. Like according to the sneak rules you'd have to roll a stealth check for every 5ft of movement and you would have to have cover/concealment the entire time or you are automatically observed... ![]()
Can you attack in pest form? It doesn't say you can't in the spell and the battle form rules don't say you can't either... So if you're a kitsune can you use foxfire in your fox pest form? If your a catfolk with claws can you make your claw attack while using pest form to be a cat. Also is the -4 athletics a penalty or the actual skill check? If it is then you can't really climb as a cat or jump as a fox or a grasshopper etc... I think pest form doesn't actually work at all given the rules. With 10ft of movement and many of the special movement rules like sneak only allowing you to move at half speed means that you can't move more than 5ft or at all in difficult terrain. Can someone explain how this spell was intended to work please? ![]()
I have a player who has an animal companion and he recently got horseshoes of speed. Now we've seen in the core rulebook that the animal companions can only benefit from item bonuses to speed and AC (max +3). The problem that we are having is that the horseshoes of speed give a +2 item bonus to Athletics checks for jumping... But the animal companion cannot gain that bonus because it is not a bonus to either speed or AC. Is this a typo and it's supposed to be a circumstance or status bonus instead?
|