Seagull

Memento Corgi's page

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

We also play on a VTT that automatically tracks ammo so for us its pretty trivial. While I've never had PCs run out of ammo, certain players frequently neglect to swap out batteries or consolidate charges between battles. That's proven entertaining several times as the character strides up, makes some dramatic speech, and then levels their weapon to finish off a boss only to have it go *click* instead of fire.

Like clear spindle aeon stones for food/water, there are relatively low-level upgrades like the backup generator and conserving fusion that facilitate handwaving ammo tracking.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The CRB defines the "explode" property as:
"Explosives have the explode special property, which lists the amount of damage the explosion deals and the damage type (if any), special effects (with a duration, if necessary), and the radius of the explosion. When you attack with this type of weapon or ammunition, aim at a grid intersection. Each creature within the blast radius takes the listed damage but can attempt a Reflex saving throw for half damage. If you score a critical hit, it applies only to the creature closest to the targeted intersection (you choose the creature if several are equally close). If the explode special property has any special effects other than damage, they are negated with a successful saving throw."

So as an example I see the entry for Incendiary Grenade I as:

"Explode (1d6 F, burning 1d4, 5 ft.)"

While burn is often a crit effect from a weapon, here it is a special effect. In this case, toss the grenade; any creature within the 5' blast radius takes 1d6 fire damage but can attempt a reflex save for half damage. Any creature that fails its reflex save *also* suffers burning 1d4. If you crit, you roll twice the initial damage (1d6, now 2d6) against the creature closest to the targeted intersection.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
BigNorseWolf wrote:

Pathfinder had a line stating that reach weapons handled cover just like ranged weapons did. Starfinder lost the lone, either on purpose or in editing.

Without that line being there

To determine whether your target has cover from your attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover.

If you follow those directions, the target has cover.

The counterargument is ""Creatures, even enemies, between you and the source of an effect provide you with cover against ranged attacks ,

However, not stating that you get cover from reach weapons doesn't mean that you don't get cover from reach weapons. If witness A says Bob and Jim are at the store, and witness B says Bob is at the store, there is no contradiction. Jim's location is simply unknown, not counterindicated.

The rules for soft cover don't superceed the rules for cover, not that the regular cover rules include a creature. Which means that the rules apply whether it's a pillar or a critter.

I think we agree on outcome but I disagree with the analysis. The rule for cover states that an attack that passes through a space occupied by a creature (PC/NPC/monster) has cover, that is +4 AC and +2 Reflex. This rule does not specify the type of attack, so presumably it applies to both melee and ranged. The rule for soft cover says creatures between a ranged attack's point of origin and the target provide soft cover to the target, that is + 4 AC. This rule does specify a type of attack (ranged). One speaks broadly and one speaks narrowly.

To use your analogy, the rules are:

* All Jims are at a Subway sandwich shop (an intervening creature provides cover against any attack).
* Jim Smith is at a Quiznos sandwich shop (an intervening creature provides soft cover against a specific type of attack, here ranged).

I think the rule for soft cover *must* supersede the rule for cover, otherwise you end up Jim Smith at Subway and at Quiznos simultaneously, which is not possible.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hey team,

I searched the forums and saw similar questions were asked over the years, but without much discussion. So tossing out the below for feedback:

One of my players is playing a large species with a natural 10' reach (referred to as "R" below). Directly north of that character are two other PCs/allies ("A" and "B"), occupying a 5' space each. And, directly north of ally "A" is an enemy ("E"), at the 10' space. So in ASCII art, the battleground looks like this (4xRs depicted to show the large size of "R"):

E
AB
RR
RR

Melee player "R" wants to do a full round attack on enemy "E", using their 10' natural reach. However, ally "A" are "B" between them.

I am using the following definition of the

cover rules:
"Cover does not necessarily block precise senses, but it does make it more difficult to hit a target. To determine whether your target has cover from your attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover. Cover grants you a +4 bonus to AC and a +2 bonus to Reflex saves against attacks that originate from a point on the other side of the cover from you. Note that spread effects can extend around corners and negate these bonuses."
and
soft cover rules:
"Creatures, even enemies, between you and the source of an effect provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC. However, soft cover provides no bonus to Reflex saves, nor does soft cover allow you to attempt a Stealth check."

Because regardless of originating corner, the attack of "R" goes through a space occupied by a creature (either ally "A" or "B") before reaching the target, I believe "E" has cover. Although when we discuss other creatures complicating attacks it is often in the context of soft cover, soft cover only applies to ranged attacks. While I think there is some tension between the basic cover rule and soft cover rule, I believe that can be resolved by treating intervening creatures as providing cover against melee attacks and soft cover against ranged attacks.

Thoughts? Already resolved some place that I missed because I am a fool?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
CrystalSeas wrote:

Since IT staff haven't responded yet, I've cross posted this in the Customer Service forum

IN general, it's very bad to bump someone's thread in the CS forum, since staff works from the oldest to the newest, and bumping a thread puts them at the end of the line.

But I think it's ok to bump this one, if you want to chime in.

I appreciate the etiquette lesson about posts in the customer service forum!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Chiming in that I would like to start a Paizo subscription with the Pathfinder Society book, but cannot do so through the website.