Melshyahr's page

24 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Hi there.

I have an interpretation question on the Commando Construct archetype.
More specifically, about the sentence:

Quote:
A commando construct’s materials cost an additional 10,000 gp above the base creature’s cost

Is this additional cost part of the material you paid to form the body of the construct, or is it past of the enchantement in the overall construction cost? My initial thought is that it is part of the body construction rather than the enchantement part, but I have a doubt.

It may impact how long the construction will last.
Thank you.


Hi there,

I am planning a new character, a crafter one, and when I was reading the impossible bloodline (quite thematic for this character) I just ask myself what happens if I cast feeblemind on a construct, especially a mindless construct that I should have crafted myself. Does common sense rule that fleeblemind "drop" the intelligence to 1 and so doesn't affect it, and does the construct miraculously gain a intelligence score ?

Impossible bloodline arcane specifies:
-Constructs are susceptible to your enchantment (compulsion) spells as if they were not mind-affecting.
-Constructs are treated as living creatures for the purposes of determining which spells affect them.

So, no problem to cast charm monster on a clockwork leviathan, but what about feeblemind?

So, here is my question:
What happens if a sorcerer of the impossible bloodline cast feeblemind on a mindless construct? Does it acquire intelligence or does it change nothing the Int score?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello every one.

Recently, with my group we used the Ultimate Campaign downtime rules. We enjoy these rules but I have an issue with the bargaining rules. We found the "sell at half price" rules quite boring and we tried the bargain rules on the selling of our previous loot. We rolled the dice and my character managed to earn some extra money. We are about to sell our current loot and I have a deeper look on the bargain rules.

There is something striking: unless I do not understand correctly the rules, the only way for a seller to earn some extra money is that the buyer fails his Appraise check. If the buyer succeeds his check, we will have initial and final offer bellow the price of the item.

So I have a couple of questions. In the PRD, there is the sentence: "The buyer chooses to attempt either an Appraise check to estimate the item's value or a Sense Motive check opposed by the seller's Bluff check (with failure meaning the buyer believes the seller is being fair)."

My understanding is that the buyer should try an Appraise check first. The DC is a flat 20 and nearly any NPC above level 5 should manage such a DC with a Take-10. Am I correct ? Or does the above sentences mean the Appraise check is opposed by the Bluff check of the seller. This is important because only if this check is a failure it is possible to have a deal with a price above the value.

Let's do an example. I try to sell a magic item with a value of 10000 gp. The market value to sell it is 5000 gp. I try to sell it at 7500. If the buyer manage his appraise check (DC 20), he knows the item's value is 5000 gp and make an offer of 4600 or so, and he will never go above 4900 gp. If he failed his Appraise check and if I manage to bluff him, then I can sell this item at something like 7000 gp.

Is my understanding of the process correct ?

Link to the given rule