Melshyahr's page

24 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.



1 person marked this as a favorite.

I had roughly the same question in the Iron Gods AP I was running. My character was a dedicated crafter rogue/wizard wyrwood. It took my a while to discuss both IC and OoC with my fellow PC to convince that my services should be paid. I did the same calculation and ended up with the same "tax" on the raw cost of the crafting. All but one of the players agreed that it was fair and use my price, whereas one of the player found it outrageous and refused to use any craft from my character.

So, I believe that, even if you can work out the equation to smooth out the disparity within the PC team, it is also a OoC issue that may need to be discussed.

I am also a physicist. Sometimes, it is hard to convince people that something is in the best interest of everyone, on a equal basis :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I did such a character. Honestly, the difference between class and non-class skills is just a +3 to the check. With you revelations to add charisma, to take 20 on Int's skills, to increase your intelligence and so so, you should have enough to have decent knowledge checks without the class skill bonuses. I feel that to get a few but key arcane spells in my available known spells more important that a few +3 in knowledge checks. Also, you can take traits to add class skills.
My oracle ended up with nearly as much in Int than in Cha, and I had 10 skill points per level to put. That's enough to fill any skill role you want to do (I chose social and craft because the knowledge stuff was the bard's party thing, but up to you).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello every one.

Recently, with my group we used the Ultimate Campaign downtime rules. We enjoy these rules but I have an issue with the bargaining rules. We found the "sell at half price" rules quite boring and we tried the bargain rules on the selling of our previous loot. We rolled the dice and my character managed to earn some extra money. We are about to sell our current loot and I have a deeper look on the bargain rules.

There is something striking: unless I do not understand correctly the rules, the only way for a seller to earn some extra money is that the buyer fails his Appraise check. If the buyer succeeds his check, we will have initial and final offer bellow the price of the item.

So I have a couple of questions. In the PRD, there is the sentence: "The buyer chooses to attempt either an Appraise check to estimate the item's value or a Sense Motive check opposed by the seller's Bluff check (with failure meaning the buyer believes the seller is being fair)."

My understanding is that the buyer should try an Appraise check first. The DC is a flat 20 and nearly any NPC above level 5 should manage such a DC with a Take-10. Am I correct ? Or does the above sentences mean the Appraise check is opposed by the Bluff check of the seller. This is important because only if this check is a failure it is possible to have a deal with a price above the value.

Let's do an example. I try to sell a magic item with a value of 10000 gp. The market value to sell it is 5000 gp. I try to sell it at 7500. If the buyer manage his appraise check (DC 20), he knows the item's value is 5000 gp and make an offer of 4600 or so, and he will never go above 4900 gp. If he failed his Appraise check and if I manage to bluff him, then I can sell this item at something like 7000 gp.

Is my understanding of the process correct ?

Link to the given rule


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi there,

I am the player Eglanto talked about.

In fact, there is two subjects here. One is about the CR of a kobold as it is written is the rules, the second one is a way to balance the kobold in a group of PC. Only the first one should be addressed in this section.

So, according to the rules,

reference document wrote:
Adding NPCs: Creatures whose Hit Dice are solely a factor of their class levels and not a feature of their race, such as all of the PC races detailed in Races, are factored into combats a little differently than normal monsters or monsters with class levels. A creature that possesses class levels, but does not have any racial Hit Dice, is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –1. A creature that only possesses non-player class levels (such as a warrior or adept) is factored in as a creature with a CR equal to its class levels –2. If this reduction would reduce a creature's CR to below 1, its CR drops one step on the following progression for each step below 1 this reduction would make: 1/2, 1/3, 1/4, 1/6, 1/8.

So, a human fighter 3 is CR 2 for example, and a human warrior 3 is CR 1.

Then, we have a look to the kobold and find this text :

reference document wrote:
Kobolds are defined by their class levels—they do not possess racial Hit Dice. A kobold with NPC class levels takes a –3 penalty to its CR (rather than the normal –2 penalty).

So it seems that a kobold fighter 3 is CR 2 and a kobold warrior 3 is CR 1/2.

But if we have a look on some examples, we found this : a kobold rogue 2 with a CR of 1/2, as if the kobold's CR is defined as its class levels minus 2.

So, the rule question is : what is the CR of a kobold with pc class levels, with npc class levels, with mixed pc and npc class levels, and is the kobold rogue 2 example wrong ?