Erudite Owl

MENTATS's page

3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


That makes sense to me. Thank you. Can't wait to try out Wrath. Still enjoying Rise of the Runelords though.


I see. Thanks for the timely responses! Now I have a follow up question:

If you look at the card "Chime of Unlocking" it says "Reveal this card to defeat a barrier with the Lock trait."

Even though the wording on this card says "a barrier," implying that it can be a barrier anyone is encountering, it actually would only work on a barrier you are encountering because of a rule that says you cannot resolve someone else's encounter for them. Is this correct?

So would the general rule of thumb be that it's okay to play cards that add dice to other peoples checks but not cards that would instantly defeat their checks for them? (Unless the card specifies otherwise)

Once again I appreciate the clarification, my friends and I are enjoying this game very much!


I have a question regarding the wording of some cards and how they can be played, specifically when it comes to the words "a check" and "any check."

Consider the card "Aid" which states: "Discard this card to add 1d6 to a check." My understanding is that this can be any check, whether its for your own combat check, or for another character's check to close a location, or recharging a card etc.
So could the word "any" be substituted in for "a" with the same effect?

Now look at the card "Find Traps" which states: "Discard this card to add 2 dice to any check to defeat a barrier." Why doesn't it say "a check to defeat a barrier?"

Are the designers trying to specify a difference in the methods of play for these cards, or are the words "a" and "any" interchangeable?

Thanks for any help you can offer.