Larrow's page

4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Cool thanks for pointing that out Parody totally missed the 'before acting' keyword.
So wish keywords where bold, or something to make them stand out, on the cards and not just in the rule book. Would make missing phrasing less likely.

Ive only ever played through RotR a number of times, hence my wording :D


Ah so you mean something like a monster saying...

Before the encounter succeed at a wisdom 6 check or the difficulty is increased by 2.

Her power would only be of any use here. Where as her Honor Sheild would go on to allow her to also use it against a non combat monster check.


Something that is confusing me...

Character Sheets:

Seelah: Base role

"When you attempt a check before acting, you may use Divine instead of any listed skill."
Does not "when you attempt a check", cover all checks?
check to aquire is a check,
check to close/guard is a check,
non combat check is a check.
combat check is a check.

In rule book terms glossary - "Check: A die roll that determines whether you succeed or fail at a challenge. See Attempting a Check on page 11."

Page 11 in the rule book - "Many cards require checks to activate powers or to let you recharge them after playing them. If a card refers to a check against another card, that refers to any check required by that card, whether it’s a check to defeat, a check to acquire, a check to recharge, or any other check."

Then in her Honor Shield role it says -
"When you attempt a check before acting (□ or a non-combat check against a monster), you may use Divine instead of any listed skill."

Well the base power by its definition already covers non-combat so this is a useless upgrade. Is there some missing wording here to limit her base ability?


Core set: Rule book PDF

Page 7 Playing Cards
"When you play a boon has several powers,"
"When you play a boon that has several powers,"

Page 22 Banes: Check to Defeat
"This descibes"
"This describes"

Page 35 Example turns Lem
"Since he can no longer explore, he decides to end his turn, and has to deal with the Lightning Touch in his recovery pile. He needs to succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge the spell, or it goes into the vault. "

Lightning Bolt: trait Arcane, During recovery
"If proficient, discard this card; you may succeed at an Arcane or Divine 6 check to recharge instead."

Lem is proficient with Arcane!
Surely this should read "or it goes into his discard"?