Bishop Ze Ravenka

Kybern's page

Organized Play Member. 13 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




This seems like an error/oversight.

It isn't even exceptionally good to make up for the 2 action cost.
It's an attack, so both the 2 actions and the focus point are utterly wasted on a miss, something that is more than likely to happen as a wizard.
It has only 30 ft range, which means not only does the wizard risk wasting resources for potentially no reward, but he also has to put himself in danger for just the attempt.


I have a question about some of the wording in the Spellbook Prodigy feat.

I looked both on the paizo forums and reddit, but couldn't find anything about it, which is pretty astounding since it's been in the game for so long.

Specifically, the feat has the wordings "when you ROLL a critical failure", "you GET a failure" and "when you ROLL a failure".

Does this mean that if I ROLL a critical failure on the Learn a Spell action and GET a failure instead, I would not be allowed to repeat the Learn a Spell after 1 week, as I would be if I had ROLLED a failure instead?

Essentially my question is:
Do the game designers make a difference in nomenclature when it comes to "rolling" a degree of success and "getting" a degree of success?

Is "getting a failure" different from "rolling a failure"?

One can also compare the Spellbook Prodigy feat with the Magical Shorthand feat, which is a very similar feat and does not make that distinction, it only speaks of "if you fail". This would clearly encompass both a normal and a critical failure.


Is there a Book of the Dead errata and/or FAQ? I can't find anything in the errata/faq section nor any subforum to that effect.

Here are a few features I have questions about:

1) Sepulchral Sublimation:

What exactly counts as "permanently control"? Does that refer to the duration of the control itself (as one would expect)? Or does it also include the duration of the undead minion's existence?

Sepulchral Sublimation obviously applies to undead created by the Create Undead ritual, since the undead minions created that way are permanently under your control and their existence is permanent.

And for some forms of control Sepulchral Sublimation quite clearly does not apply: the spells Shadow Zombie, Bind Undead and Subjugate Undead are clearly time limited control spells where the undead still exist (and then act "uncontrolled") after the spells end.

However, there are some spells that are edge cases where it is less clear if Sepulchral Sublimation could work: Animate Dead and Shambling Horror summon/create an undead minion that ceases to exist after the spell ends. As such the control over those undead minions is permanent. IF permanent control in this case only refers to the time frame of the minion's existence.

2) Bonds of Death:

How does this Reanimator feat interact with the Effortless Concentration wizard feat?
As I read it, Effortless Concentration would apply, since it gives the benefit of the "Sustain a Spell" action, which is what Bonds of Death also refers to when granting its effect.

3) Deathly Secrets:

The wording "If you don't already have one, you gain a focus pool of 1 Focus Point" of this Reanimator feat is quite confusing.

Does this mean I don't get an additional Focus Point if I already have a Focus Pool? And if not, doesn't this contradict the rule on page 302 of the CRB "Focus Points from multiple sources"? Since it states that any ability that gives a Focus Pool will increase the number of Focus Points you have by 1 if you already have a Focus Pool.