Zoudra, High Priestess of Asmodeus

Koi Eokei's page

137 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




During combat, one of my players casted consecrate...

components wrote:
Usually you don't need to worry about components, but when you can't use a component for some reason or when a material or focus component is expensive, then the components are important.
cast a spell wrote:
Unless these components are elaborate, preparing them is a free action.
spell component pouch wrote:
A spellcaster with a spell component pouch is assumed to have all the material components and focuses needed for spellcasting, except for components that have a specific cost, divine focuses, and focuses that wouldn't fit in a pouch.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT HAVING A FREE HAND FOR MATERIAL COMPONENTS. Although Holy Water is not a negligible component, so the ruling that somatics and materials are same hand loophole wouldn't apply. (That's not what this discussion is about, unless you'd like to include it with your ruling).

Concecrate wrote:
Components V, S, M (a vial of holy water and 25 gp worth of silver dust), DF

I ruled it was not in his pouch, but I gave my player the benefit of the doubt and assumed he kept the two items together (as they're components for the same spell)in his haversack, so I cost him a move action to retrieve it. Then the argument started.

I've always understood that retrieving a material component is a free action as part of the casting a spell, especially if it's coming from the pouch, but Holy Water and 25 gp of silver dust isn't being held in the pouch, is it safe to rule that retrieving these items is more than a free action?


Could a permanent spell on an object be considered a magic item and be fooled with a use magic device check?

My party was up against a lawful evil cleric who seemed to walk through a wall. Detect magic etc. determined it was a permanent phase door. The neutral good sorcerer of the party declared himself of the same alignment of the cleric, rolled a use magic device check, rolled ridiculously high then stepped.. into.. and... through the wall?

phase door wrote:
You can allow other creatures to use the phase door by setting some triggering condition for the door. Such conditions can be as simple or elaborate as you desire. They can be based on a creature's name, identity, or alignment, but otherwise must be based on observable actions or qualities. Intangibles such as level, class, HD, and hit points don't qualify.

I ruled it didn't work. Nice try though.

The phase door only allowed those of the lawful evil to pass through, but its not a device. I said, because RAW it didn't work. AND if I allowed it to work on one spell, then protection from good, cloak of chaos, unhallow, magic circle, and many more can be fooled because of a silly skill check?

Then we opened the book.

use magic device wrote:

If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

You must consciously choose which requirement to emulate. That is, you must know what you are trying to emulate when you make a Use Magic Device check for that purpose.

Emulate an Alignment: Some magic items have positive or negative effects based on the user's alignment. Use Magic Device lets you use these items as if you were of an alignment of your choice. You can emulate only one alignment at a time.

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

He said I lean against the wall and try to activate it. I know its there and I know what I'm doing.

"The wall isn't a magic item."

The spell is a permanent effect on the wall. It sure seems a lot like a magic item. And I rolled high.

"Great job. Are you lawful evil? No.. Sorry Beetlejuice, its not a door its a wall."


Not a big question, but my party is about to face a mediocre bard in this module, and his tactics stats says he casts blink on himself in the first round, well this encounter occurs on the second floor of a building... Is he instantly going to fall through the floor which is, based on my limited knowledge of architecture less than 5ft. thick?

blink wrote:
While blinking, you can step through (but not see through) solid objects. For each 5 feet of solid material you walk through, there is a 50% chance that you become material. If this occurs, you are shunted off to the nearest open space and take 1d6 points of damage per 5 feet so traveled.

I am imagining because of gravity, he'd fall through. Period. Which is not the intended effect I'm assuming.


Killing some birds here.

Total Defense wrote:
You can defend yourself as a standard action. You get a +4 dodge bonus to your AC for 1 round. Your AC improves at the start of this action. You can't combine total defense with fighting defensively or with the benefit of the Combat Expertise feat. You can't make attacks of opportunity while using total defense.
Threatened Squares wrote:
You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.

If my ally and I are flanking an opponent and on my turn I decide to take the total defense action, it states I can't make any AoO. It doesn't say I stop threatening and therefore still provide flanking for my ally. Threatened squares is described under the Attack of Opportunity section, but that's not a defining attribute of the text.

So, my understanding is that I still threaten my opponent, I just can't make an attack if he provokes one. Is this the correct consensus?

Similar situation, if I've already taken an AoO this round and don't have combat reflexes, and it's not my turn, would I still count as threatening an opponent for purposes of providing flanking? Once again, just because I can't take an AoO, doesn't mean I don't threaten.

Final scenario; if on my turn I use my standard action to total defense, then I use a swift action to cast and quickened shocking grasp (why I didn't cast it prior to total defensing is irrelevant), clearly I would be able to make a touch attack, therefore I am a threat even when in total defense. Just not one who can capitalize on an opportunity.


Sash of the War Champion states:
The wearer treats his fighter level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of the armor training and bravery class features.
and Headband of the Stalwart Warrior states:
If the wearer has the bravery class feature, she is considered four levels higher when determining that class feature’s effect.
If a 10th level fighter is wearing both, would his bonus to Bravery be +5 as his class level is effectively 18?