Zoudra, High Priestess of Asmodeus

Koi Eokei's page

137 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 137 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

But if he already has an item at 17th level to use, which he should, this argument is moot. But a first level character picking up the feat isn't going to be so lucky.

RAW says it has to be masterwork. RAW says A wizard gets it free. I would agree a sorcerer who picks the bloodline at first gets it free. Another character at -2 levels is going to have a hard time proving he's a first level wizard.


Yes, RAW a 1st level wizard gets a free bonded item. The feat gives you access to the sorcerer bloodline at -2 levels.

"You gain the first-level bloodline power for the selected bloodline. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer."

"At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object.."

Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost."

He's not a 1st level wizard and he's not beginning play. He's a -1st level wizard.

The feat gives you access to a bloodline power, doesn't make to a wizard beginning play. He's not taking a level in sorcerer either, he's picking up a feat.


grapple
"you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you."

threaten
"You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn."

flanking
"When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner."

It's not a hard track to follow.

And the toolbox says something that show's it's not unprecedented.
"Using the total defense action prevents you from attacking-including making attacks of opportunity-but you still threaten foes for the purposes of flanking."


^Word.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Stephen Ede wrote:
bbangerter wrote:


Quote:
Using the total defense action prevents you from attacking-including making attacks of opportunity-but you still threaten foes for the purposes of flanking.
There is nothing fluff about that. It is talking about the total defense action (a rules mechanic) and its interaction with AoOs (another rules mechanic) and its interaction with threatening (another rules mechanic). The entire sentence is rules mechanics. That is not conversational writing with multiple possible meanings - it is very clear and plain in its meaning.

To quote another poster regarding the Tactics Toolbox and your reference.

I think he covers quite well why that statement is of limited value.

Diego Rossi wrote:


It is a section of that book with generic guidelines written in a conversational tone. I would be very careful about calling it "a rule".

To cite a few section of the same part of the book:
"Ranks in Acrobatics allow you to avoid attacks of opportunity when you’re moving and increase your Armor Class bonuses from fighting defensively or using total defense."
So now we only need to have ranks in acrobatics to avoid AoO?

"A shield can also allow you to flexibly switch between offensive and defensive options by doubling as an off-hand weapon with feats such as Bashing Finish, Improved Shield Bash, Shield Master, and Shield Slam"
You now need those feats to use a shield offensively?

It was printed at a later date then core. It's always a rule of thumb that later printings of a rule or clarification supersedes prior issues.

AND YES, it may be written in a conversational tone, but so is the majority of the core rulebook. And I would say that the writers of melee tactics HAD the rules in mind when writing that conversation.


NOW THAT I'VE DUG DEEPER, THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A SPELL COMPONENT POUCH AND A COMMON BACKPACK IS A COMPONENT POUCH IS WATERPROOF. SO, THE COMPONENTS IN QUESTION CAN IN FACT FIT WITHIN. NORMALLY RETREIVING A STORED ITEM IS A STANDARD ACTION (MOVE ACTION WITH HAVERSACK), BUT THE FREE ACTION PREPERATION OF MATERIAL COMPONENTS FOR CASTING A SPELL APPLIES FOR THE RETREIVAL OF THESE ITEMS.

I RULED WRONG.


Skip Williams wrote:
"Since manipulating a material component (including a focus) is part of casting the spell, it's best to consider the hand that holds the material component or focus as "free" for purposes of completing a somatic component."

I'm willing to question how it's possible that holy water could be same hand as somatic, but materials is material, AND a cleric that needs to hold his divine focus, make somatic component gestures, and consume the materials in question, the casting of a spell becomes almost impossible.

I'm just questioning the action required to retrieve the materials if they aren't "negligible."


I'm lenient with the RP and the purchasing, I don't micromanage their inventory. That's not my issue.

"except for components that have a specific cost, divine focuses, and focuses that wouldn't fit in a pouch."

handy haversack wrote:
Retrieving any specific item from a haversack is a move action

"Unless these components are elaborate, preparing them is a free action."


During combat, one of my players casted consecrate...

components wrote:
Usually you don't need to worry about components, but when you can't use a component for some reason or when a material or focus component is expensive, then the components are important.
cast a spell wrote:
Unless these components are elaborate, preparing them is a free action.
spell component pouch wrote:
A spellcaster with a spell component pouch is assumed to have all the material components and focuses needed for spellcasting, except for components that have a specific cost, divine focuses, and focuses that wouldn't fit in a pouch.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT HAVING A FREE HAND FOR MATERIAL COMPONENTS. Although Holy Water is not a negligible component, so the ruling that somatics and materials are same hand loophole wouldn't apply. (That's not what this discussion is about, unless you'd like to include it with your ruling).

Concecrate wrote:
Components V, S, M (a vial of holy water and 25 gp worth of silver dust), DF

I ruled it was not in his pouch, but I gave my player the benefit of the doubt and assumed he kept the two items together (as they're components for the same spell)in his haversack, so I cost him a move action to retrieve it. Then the argument started.

I've always understood that retrieving a material component is a free action as part of the casting a spell, especially if it's coming from the pouch, but Holy Water and 25 gp of silver dust isn't being held in the pouch, is it safe to rule that retrieving these items is more than a free action?


Chess Pwn wrote:
Melee Tactics Toolbox wrote:
Using the total defense action prevents you from attacking— including making attacks of opportunity—but you still threaten foes for the purposes of flanking.
This should make it pretty clear that AoO and threatening for flanking are not linked.

I'm sold. It was hazy for a second how to interpret, but this proves it. Flanking approved while grappled.


If your taking levels in in a class that gives you arcane bond (ie: wizard) then you'll get it free just like your spell book would be free. The eldritch heritage feat with the arcane bloodline I would argue you'd have to buy a masterwork item.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would agree if he took a level in the wizard class, it's be free just like his spell book would be. But this is the Eldritch Heritage feat giving him access to the arcane bloodline first level ability.

"At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level."

I'd say he'd have to already have a masterwork version of whatever he's using.

He's not a wizard, so he's not beginning play with anything.


All the wordage in "if you are grappled" makes the assumption it's your turn to act. It doesn't ever state you don't threaten, just states you can't make AoOs due to the grappled condition. So, I'd say flanking is fair. Because if you have a usable weapon AND are able to attack your grappled from and adjacent square, then he is threated.

But as Stephen said, it's all about how you read the text.

If you decide because you can't make AoOs, then it's because you aren't able to threaten, then no. If you read it as text, it never says you don't threaten nor declares you can't provide flanking.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Blistering Invective wrote:
You unleash an insulting tirade so vicious and spiteful that enemies who hear it are physically scorched by your fury. When you cast this spell, make an Intimidate check to demoralize each enemy within 30 feet of you. Enemies that are demoralized this way take 1d10 points of fire damage and must succeed at a Reflex save or catch fire. Spell Resistance can negate the fire damage caused by this spell, but does not protect the creature from the demoralizing effect.

Great spell, but you'll have to have a decent intimidate check, so boost it up thus.

Enlarge Person, Eagle's Splendor, Tap Inner Beauty,

And a quick search on Archives popped up these good ones as well:

Bloody Tears and Jagged Smile, Chastise, Face of the Devoured, Focused Scrutiny, Eaglesoul, Pain Strike.


Could a permanent spell on an object be considered a magic item and be fooled with a use magic device check?

My party was up against a lawful evil cleric who seemed to walk through a wall. Detect magic etc. determined it was a permanent phase door. The neutral good sorcerer of the party declared himself of the same alignment of the cleric, rolled a use magic device check, rolled ridiculously high then stepped.. into.. and... through the wall?

phase door wrote:
You can allow other creatures to use the phase door by setting some triggering condition for the door. Such conditions can be as simple or elaborate as you desire. They can be based on a creature's name, identity, or alignment, but otherwise must be based on observable actions or qualities. Intangibles such as level, class, HD, and hit points don't qualify.

I ruled it didn't work. Nice try though.

The phase door only allowed those of the lawful evil to pass through, but its not a device. I said, because RAW it didn't work. AND if I allowed it to work on one spell, then protection from good, cloak of chaos, unhallow, magic circle, and many more can be fooled because of a silly skill check?

Then we opened the book.

use magic device wrote:

If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

You must consciously choose which requirement to emulate. That is, you must know what you are trying to emulate when you make a Use Magic Device check for that purpose.

Emulate an Alignment: Some magic items have positive or negative effects based on the user's alignment. Use Magic Device lets you use these items as if you were of an alignment of your choice. You can emulate only one alignment at a time.

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

He said I lean against the wall and try to activate it. I know its there and I know what I'm doing.

"The wall isn't a magic item."

The spell is a permanent effect on the wall. It sure seems a lot like a magic item. And I rolled high.

"Great job. Are you lawful evil? No.. Sorry Beetlejuice, its not a door its a wall."


You didn't have to make the attack roll from your monk at all. That's putting yourself in a bad spot where player complaints run the game instead of rules. You caught it. The sword is now yours.

I did the same thing to one of my players, but his sword was also his arcane bond. Big dummy.


You don't get extra off hand attacks.

improved two-weapon fighting wrote:

You are skilled at fighting with two weapons.

Prerequisites: Dex 17, Two-Weapon Fighting, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: In addition to the standard single extra attack you get with an off-hand weapon, you get a second attack with it, albeit at a –5 penalty.

Normal: Without this feat, you can only get a single extra attack with an off-hand weapon.

Get this feat and it's greater counterpart as you level up to gain extra iterative attacks with off hand.


Sculpt Spell from 3.x was overkill. You could turn a burning hands into a 2nd level 5d4 fireball. Sleep into a 2nd level 120ft line.

Glad Paizo decided not to include it.


arcane bond wrote:
Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material.

So, you'd only need to have a masterwork item that will become your bonded object. Since you didn't begin play, it's not free.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Imbue Arrow (Su) wrote:
At 2nd level, an arcane archer gains the ability to place an area spell upon an arrow. When the arrow is fired, the spell’s area is centered where the arrow lands, even if the spell could normally be centered only on the caster. This ability allows the archer to use the bow’s range rather than the spell’s range. A spell cast in this way uses its standard casting time and the arcane archer can fire the arrow as part of the casting. The arrow must be fired during the round that the casting is completed or the spell is wasted. If the arrow misses, the spell is wasted.

Any spell the mentions the word "area" under effect or in it's description AND has a center. sleep, grease, create pit, fireball, etc.

Spells without a "center" like burning hand, lightening bolt, etc. which have a point of origin, typically a corner of your square, don't have a "center," so I would rule those out.

Widen Spell wrote:

You can cast your spells so that they occupy a larger space.

Benefit: You can alter a burst, emanation, or spread-shaped spell to increase its area. Any numeric measurements of the spell’s area increase by 100%.

Level Increase: +3 (a widened spell uses up a spell slot three levels higher than the spell’s actual level.)

Spells that do not have an area of one of these four sorts are not affected by this feat.

These spells have to be specific, mentions three types of areas, but says there's four. Weird. (Maybe it's meant to include shapeable spells too.. another thread topic maybe) Anyhow, create pit is out. Fireball, sleep, burnings hands, lightening bolt, etc. are good. As long as under "effect" it's one of those listed types, the "Cone, Cylinder, Line, or Sphere: Most spells that affect an area have a particular shape."<--- double that.


Yes.

"If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)."

"Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you."

"Only a creature or character that threatens the defender can help an attacker get a flanking bonus."

So, you're moved to an adjacent square and you threaten the creature grappling you. Flanking successful.


If the Paizo Team answers this FAQ Request then the answer could very well shed light on this same (and often asked) question.


I guess if what they say is true, then yeah, 1 level dip ranger would be the bronze medal- BAB, fort, ref, perception. See if you can trade Track out for something different. It's normally a waste, especially when you have a decent perception to notice tracks.


Jeraa wrote:
Just raise its 12 Strength to 13. Then you don't have to recalculate or change anything, the rest of the creature would stay the same.

^This.


Bummer.. So no Familiar Folio? What about Advanced Class Guide?

Do a 1 level dip in Skald then, you get so much versatility, still perception as class skill, fort and will bump, martial and shield proficiency. Couple songs, inspired rage (which is impressive moral bonus to con, anyone drops you start singing, boost their con and they're back up) and you're still a charisma based character. Plus you'll get two first level bard spells known, CURE LIGHT WOUNDS, baby!


Yeah, don't waste the feat, take a 1 level dip in Eldritch Guardian fighter archetype! All the proficiencies, BAB of fighter, perception as a class skill, the boost on fort save, AND.YOU.GET.A.FAMILIAR!


Yeah. It's nit-picky but worded "The banner must be at least Small or larger and must be carried or displayed by the cavalier or his mount to function."

Never states what the banner has to be. Never states gold piece value or anything. Its unfair that we get two pages on arcane bonds for wizard, but other classes are glossed over for whatever reason.

Now ultimate equipment was already released when advanced player's guide came out, so there shouldn't be any reason not to put the banner description in the text. I get that a banner should be a banner, but no mention of pacing it in a polearm, etc.

Battle Herald came out same time, at least it says "fly a battle standard.." but still..


Isn't displaying "and must be carried" a clearly visible "symbol of inspiration to his allies and companions" very similar to the wording of this feat?

Motivating Display (Combat)
You can empower your allies through their fear of you.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, Dazzling Display, Weapon Focus.

Benefit: Whenever you use Dazzling Display to demoralize foes, you can motivate your allies to better serve you. In addition to possibly demoralizing foes within 30 feet, your Intimidate check while using Dazzling Display also applies to allies within 30 feet who can see you. The DC for this effect is the same as it would be to demoralize your allies. Each ally so affected gains a +1 morale bonus on attack rolls and skill checks for the duration that it would normally be shaken.


Dazzling Display is the first thing that comes to mind. Isn't that also a visual effect within 30ft. or something if I'm not mistaking..


The mundane item from UE is almost convincing, except, it's not stated as being such in the ability. It doesn't reference adhering it to a polearm or anything.

A coat of arms on your shield, an insignia, an ensign, a badge of office. What's to say what a banner should be for the cavalier's ability when it's not specified.


I'd need to see proof.

Some magic items and feats specify that the banner or effect is a flag, but the cavalier ability makes no reference.

As far as "facing..." not sure what you're talking about.. does that even exist?

"a symbol of inspiration to his allies and companions. As long as the cavalier's banner is clearly visible.."

Besides the fluff in the cavalier description, there's no specific mention.


As written, you calculate the damage, then apply saves for half, vulnerabilities, resistances, etc.


Vulnerability states they take 150% damage from certain types of energy.

So, say an empowered fireball you rolled the dice, 50 total, times 1.5 does 75 points on a failed save. That's the damage amount. Vulnerability would be 150% of 75. So add another 37 for a total of 112 damage on a failed save.


ready or drop a shield wrote:

unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move.

Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.


I posted this exact same clarification on your other page Vince about whether you could use a wand in the same hand as your light shield, but I'd be happy to hear how others weigh in.

If you do a search function of the core rulebook PDF like I did.

"hold" then "carr" and see all the various reference each one makes all throughout the book.

You'll learn that held is a more precise term than carry.

Core Rulebook Examples: All thumbs are fingers, but not all fingers are thumbs. . Items held are considered carried, but carried items in your hand are not automatically considered held.
Specific trumps general.

Climb says "You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand. You also can’t use a shield while climbing."

If you had your shield in one hand and sword in the other, could you deflect or snatch arrows? No. "You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat."

If you're carrying a net in your shield hand, you can't "control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it."

Tower shield has a sentence "targeting the shield you are holding." Now light shields aren't tower, but are still held.

Can you hold a charge in your light shield hand? No. A held charge considers you armed, and you can't wield weapons.

Now if you were a monster with the grab ability and you shield bashed then attempted to grab the target with your shield hand at a -20, I'd say yes because the rules apply penalties for not having hands free.

If i cast command and tell you to drop, you would drop your weapon, then shield, and by default, your carried wand becomes held, then dropped. "Drop: On its turn, the subject drops whatever it is holding."

If you're carrying a map in your shield hand, and i cast erase then touch it. You're left with a blank piece of paper."Nonmagical writing is automatically erased if you touch it and no one else is holding it."

Haste would grant you another shield bash but not an attack with a carried weapon in shield hand "a hasted creature may make one extra attack with any weapon he is holding."

Irresistable Dance references shields as being held "it negates any AC bonus granted by a shield the target holds."

Sandstorms "contaminating carried gear."

Urban adventures states "Different cities have different laws about such issues as carrying weapons in public.."

Magic items on the body "Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect. Some items can be worn or carried without taking up a slot on a character’s body."

Slot: Most magic items can only be utilized if worn or wielded in their proper slots. If the item is stowed or placed elsewhere, it does not function. If the slot lists “none,” the item must be held or otherwise carried to function.

Ring of shooting stars says "Those wearing metal armor and/or carrying a metal weapon take 4d8 points of damage."

Rod of Splendor proves this point "The possessor of this fantastically bejeweled rod gains a +4 enhancement bonus to her Charisma score for as long as she holds or carries the item."

Horn of blasting :Crystalline objects and creatures take 7d6 points of sonic damage, with no save unless they’re held, worn, or carried by creatures (Fortitude DC 16 negates).

Mirror of life trapping: "A victim’s equipment (including clothing and anything being carried) remains behind."

Etc. Etc. Etc.

"If you are a player, you make all of the decisions for your character, from what abilities your character has to the type of weapon he carries."

Conclusion:
If a wand requires you to hold it in your hand, but a light shield only allows you to carry items in your hand, then you can't use the wand, because you're already holding a shield in your hand.
Specific Trumps General. Items held are considered carried, but carried items in your hand are not automatically considered held.


Strike Back is essentially more than what I described. The feat specifies limbs and weapons, and can apply to any attack action.

Similar to how weapon finesse allows you to apply your dex to combat maneuvers involving your weapon and agile maneuvers allows you to apply you dex to all combat maneuvers.

My interpretation of the rules and readied actions, you can attack their weapon or limb as they're attack enters your square. The feat would allow you much greater benefit.

Anyhow, the feats existence nullifies any argument within rules I could come up with.. for now.


Sunder wrote:

You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Sunder feat, or a similar ability, attempting to sunder an item provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.

If your attack is successful, you deal damage to the item normally. Damage that exceeds the object's Hardness is subtracted from its hit points. If an object has equal to or less than half its total hit points remaining, it gains the broken condition (see Conditions). If the damage you deal would reduce the object to less than 0 hit points, you can choose to destroy it. If you do not choose to destroy it, the object is left with only 1 hit point and the broken condition.

Disarm wrote:

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.

Readying an Action wrote:

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

incorporeal wrote:
An incorporeal creature inside an object has total cover, but when it attacks a creature outside the object it only has cover, so a creature outside with a readied action could strike at it as it attacks. An incorporeal creature cannot pass through a force effect.

You don't have to reach their square to perform either sunder or disarm. Just remember if you don't have improved, you'll provoke AoO. So, you can specify a readied action to 5ft. Step and attempt either combat maneuver (specify ahead of time) when his weapon enters your square.

I posted the incorporeal quote emphasis to demonstrate this action isn't without president. Attack as you're being attacked as a readied action.


Your banner is any symbol you say it. Family crest is usually the route. A banners whatever you have your insignia on. Even a shield would work.

Flagbearer specifically says flag, so if you made it a flag and held it in hand, yes the flag effects would overlap but not stack. So within 60ft your allies get the effects, and within 30 the additional benefits from flagbearer would kick in.

Yes, your banner level would be 5th. It stacks, and it's effects are the same as your archetype, if its different at all.

My advice would be ignore the flagbearer feat, and put your banner on your shield.

"This ability is identical to the cavalier's banner ability, and cavalier levels stack with battle herald levels to determine the bonuses provided by the banner." it says it's identical, and you'd have banner at 1st level archetype, these levels stack with those levels. As long as one class has access to it your levels stack.

Example, if your were a 4th level cavalier and a 4th level battle Harold, neither class has access to banner class ability yet, so the stacking wouldn't take effect until one does.

Make sense?


Moral bonuses don't stack.

The feat requires you to hold it (which means held in hand).

The Banner (Ex) class ability only says it needs to be clearly visible and carried. So you can strap it to your gear creatively.

Only cavalier levels count for the banner ability, unless you find the same ability granted as a bard, then your effective levels would stack. Aside from that, any bard levels count toward character level, but not class level.


Could you please cite and quote relevant text so we know the general area to look and we're not hunting down all the information ourselves?


Weapon Size wrote:

Every weapon has a size category. This designation indicates the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.

A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.

Rock Throwing (Ex) wrote:

This creature is an accomplished rock thrower and has a +1 racial bonus on attack rolls with thrown rocks. A creature can hurl rocks up to two categories smaller than its size; for example, a Large hill giant can hurl Small rocks. A “rock” is any large, bulky, and relatively regularly shaped object made of any material with a hardness of at least 5. The creature can hurl the rock up to five range increments. The size of the range increment varies with the creature. Damage from a thrown rock is generally twice the creature’s base slam damage plus 1-1/2 times its Strength bonus.

So, if you're a medium character, you can throw a tiny rock. Suffering serious negatives, it'd be two-handed (2d4+1.5x str). Range increment 10ft. That's all I've got at the moment.


Eldritch Heritage feat with the Arcane bloodline.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
So swap weapon and wand, cast, swap again.

^^or this. Rules don't limit how many items you can "carry" in one hand. I'm sure holding a weapon would prevent you from carrying any other items, but light shield says "items" plural, so there you go.


I honestly think spells with an effect (like walls) should originate in a corner or middle of one side, just for clear drawing purposes so you know what's effected. If blade barrier just down a gridline, or infinitesimally to one side, it would hold the same effect where it would only grant cover or cause issues if directly interacted with.

Sure its in my square, but like flaming sphere, make your save, declare which "side" you on within your square, and go about your day.


Dude, King, that was my whole argument it that other thread. There is definitely a difference, but no one was hearing it then. Lol.

I was using "line" and area rules for my argument, and that didn't blow over well, because it's an effect.

IF IT DID HAVE SIMILAR VERBAGE TO LINE EFFECTS, THEN YES, you have to pick the side it effects. Since it doesn't, you're supposed to just put it wherever you want and if it goes through the corner of my square, then I just argue, well my small sized character isn't close enough to that corner to be effected.


Bump for FAQ.


Core Rulebook Examples: All thumbs are fingers, but not all fingers are thumbs. . Items held are considered carried, but carried items in your hand are not automatically considered held.
Specific trumps general.

Climb says "You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand. You also can’t use a shield while climbing."

If you had your shield in one hand and sword in the other, could you deflect or snatch arrows? No. "You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat."

If you're carrying a net in your shield hand, you can't "control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it."

Tower shield has a sentence "targeting the shield you are holding." Now light shields aren't tower, but are still held.

Can you hold a charge in your light shield hand? No. A held charge considers you armed, and you can't wield weapons.

Now if you were a monster with the grab ability and you shield bashed then attempted to grab the target with your shield hand at a -20, I'd say yes because the rules apply penalties for not having hands free.

If i cast command and tell you to drop, you would drop your weapon, then shield, and by default, your carried wand becomes held, then dropped. "Drop: On its turn, the subject drops whatever it is holding."

If you're carrying a map in your shield hand, and i cast erase then touch it. You're left with a blank piece of paper."Nonmagical writing is automatically erased if you touch it and no one else is holding it."

Haste would grant you another shield bash but not an attack with a carried weapon in shield hand "a hasted creature may make one extra attack with any weapon he is holding."

Irresistable Dance references shields as being held "it negates any AC bonus granted by a shield the target holds."

Sandstorms "contaminating carried gear."

Urban adventures states "Different cities have different laws about such issues as carrying weapons in public.."

Magic items on the body "Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect. Some items can be worn or carried without taking up a slot on a character’s body."

Slot: Most magic items can only be utilized if worn or wielded in their proper slots. If the item is stowed or placed elsewhere, it does not function. If the slot lists “none,” the item must be held or otherwise carried to function.

Ring of shooting stars says "Those wearing metal armor and/or carrying a metal weapon take 4d8 points of damage."

Rod of Splendor proves this point "The possessor of this fantastically bejeweled rod gains a +4 enhancement bonus to her Charisma score for as long as she holds or carries the item."

Horn of blasting :Crystalline objects and creatures take 7d6 points of sonic damage, with no save unless they’re held, worn, or carried by creatures (Fortitude DC 16 negates).

Mirror of life trapping: "A victim’s equipment (including clothing and anything being carried) remains behind."

Etc. Etc. Etc.

"If you are a player, you make all of the decisions for your character, from what abilities your character has to the type of weapon he carries."

Conclusion:
If a wand requires you to hold it in your hand, but a light shield only allows you to carry items in your hand, then you can't use the wand, because you're already holding a shield in your hand.
Specific Trumps General. Items held are considered carried, but carried items in your hand are not automatically considered held.


Do a search function of the core rulebook pdf.

"hold" then "carr" and see all the various reference each one makes all throughout the book.

You'll learn that held is a more precise term than carry.

So, by many citings in the core rule book, if you're wielding your light shield in one hand, you can't hold your wand effectively in the same hand in order to meet the activation requirements.


UMD carries its own restrictions, using it to activate a wand, still have to use it in a hand that you're able to carry items, but not specifically stated you can use. Activate blindly maybe, but has it's own risks.

I've stated this before, a light weapon is used in one hand. A light shield is a light weapon. It allows you to carry items in your hand along with the grip, but carrying it, is similar but not necessarily the same thing as holding it in hand and able to use.

You shield bash, that your point, so take that feat that lets you shield bash with a buckler, and follows buckler rules and acts as a light shield for feats and bash and such. Or get a ring of force shield and free action to activate/deactivate as much as you want. Hold you wand all you want.

The wording for buckler states what you can/can't do. The wording for light shield states what you can/can't do. The wording for heavy shield states what you can/can't do.

If you take the evidence and it beings you to a place that lets you use one hand to do two things then you're off base.

Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons: This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon's size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.

Light: A light weapon is used in one hand.

Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield's weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.

Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.

Some items can be worn or carried without taking up a slot on a character's body.

Slot: Most magic items can only be utilized if worn or wielded in their proper slots. If the item is stowed or placed elsewhere, it does not function. If the slot lists "none," the item must be held or otherwise carried to function.

To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area.

So, if a shield is being used in one hand, and it's description lets you carry a wand in that hand, but there is a difference between carry and held, you can't effectively be holding the wand in hand to use it if you're already holding a shield.

A buckler clearly states if I attack or cast a spell then you lose you AC. You want to use your light shield hand to activate a wand but essentially keep your AC simply because it's not written that you can't.

That upsetting shield style feat was written for a reason.


Fair enough. But my evidence stands.

1 to 50 of 137 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>