Valdania

Katelyn Scarlett's page

5 posts. Alias of katelynscarlett.


RSS


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

You can use Intimidate check to demoralize opponents, which grants them the Shaken condition. This condition can never upgrade an existing Fear condition, no matter what the source, and vice versa. They only EXTEND the duration of the Shaken condition. So using Demoralize then a spell like Cause Fear only makes them very, very shakened. (see Joshua J. Frost's clarification on this)

Dazzling Display allows you to use Demoralize all opponents within 30 feet of you with a full round action.

In the Advanced Class Guide, there is a feat called Disheartening Display:

PRD wrote:
When you successfully use Dazzling Display against any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponents, their fear increases by one step. An already panicked creature demoralized by this feat cowers.

Does Disheartening Display make it so you CAN upgrade a shaken/frightened/panicked condition, no matter what the original source? Or does the original condition need to be from a non-Demoralize source?

Because it says demoralize doesn't stack with any fear effect, yet Disheartening Display specifically says that they are being "demoralized" using this feat, so it seems to circumvent it?

Example: An Inquisitor uses Blistering Invective, which allows a free Intimidate check to demoralize everyone within 30 feet. Everyone within 30 feet now has the Shaken condition. She then performs Disheartening Display. Does everything with a Shaken condition then get advanced to Frightened?


I'm making a Rogue/Inquisitor/Gray Gardener and I just have one question about the awkward wording in the Gray Gardener's abilities.

SRD wrote:

Harsh Judgment (Su): At 2nd level, a Gray Warden can pronounce judgment on his enemies. This ability functions like the inquisitor judgment ability, except a Gray Warden can choose only the destruction, piercing, purity, and smiting judgments. For the purpose of determining the bonuses provided by these judgments, a Gray Warden's class levels stack with any levels in other classes that grant the judgment ability.

At 6th level, and again at 10th level, a Gray Warden can use this ability one additional time per day.

Second Judgment (Su): At 4th level, whenever a Gray Warden uses his judgment or harsh judgment ability, he selects two different judgments. This consumes only one use of this ability. As a swift action, he can change one of these judgments to another type.

Slaying Judgment (Su): At 8th level, while using the judgment or harsh judgment ability, a Gray Warden can declare a slaying judgment against a foe when he makes a melee attack (or ranged attack, if the foe is within 30 feet) against the target. If the attack hits, it deals damage normally and the creature must make a Fortitude saving throw as if struck by a slaying arrow of its creature type. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + the Gray Warden's class level + the Gray Warden's Wisdom modifier. A Gray Warden can use this ability once per day.

It's the "judgment or harsh judgment" that is throwing me for a loop. Because technically Gray Gardeners only have Harsh Judgments. Does this mean you can apply Second/Slaying to your all Inquisitor Judgments? Or just destruction, piercing, purity, and smiting, which are allowed to be Harsh Judgments?

And what if you have the Inquisitor's Second Judgment ability as well? What does it mean to have TWO Second Judgment abilities? Nothing, just a repetitious ability that doesn't have any mechanical benefit (like multi-classing and having the same class skill in both classes)?


I'm making an character centering around the use of intimidation. I have this feat:

Advanced Player's Guide wrote:

Enforcer:

Whenever you deal nonlethal damage with a melee weapon, you can make an Intimidate check to demoralize your target as a free action. If you are successful, the target is shaken for a number of rounds equal to the damage dealt. If your attack was a critical hit, your target is frightened for 1 round with a successful Intimidate check, as well as being shaken for a number of rounds equal to the damage dealt.

Because of some racial traits, I get free proficiency in whips. Whips deal nonlethal damage only and have this:

Core Rulebook wrote:
A whip deals no damage to any creature with an armor bonus of +1 or higher or a natural armor bonus of +3 or higher. The whip is treated as a melee weapon with 15-foot reach, though you don't threaten the area into which you can make an attack. In addition, unlike most other weapons with reach, you can use it against foes anywhere within your reach (including adjacent foes).

I found this magic weapon enhancement.

Advanced Race Guide wrote:

Deadly:

This special ability can only be placed on weapons that normally deal nonlethal damage, such as whips and saps. All damage a deadly weapon deals is lethal damage. A whip (or similar weapon that cannot damage creatures with armor or natural armor bonuses) with this special ability deals damage even to creatures with armor or natural armor. On command, the weapon suppresses this ability until told to resume it.

Here's my question:

Does the suppression include the lethal damage AND the ability to hit creatures with armor?

I'm thinking not, but confirmation would be helpful.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Here's the direct text that I'm using as support:

The eidolon evolution "Magic Attack" makes it "treat all of its natural attacks as if they were magic for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction."

Incorporeal creatures "can be harmed only by other incorporeal creatures, magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons, and spells, spell-like abilities, or supernatural abilities. It is immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy). "

Ghost touch weapons: "an incorporeal creature's 50% reduction in damage from corporeal sources does not apply to attacks made against it with ghost touch weapons. (Note the bolded text and how it's not-quite-a-DR)

So incorporeal creatures have something that is functions like having a Damage Reduction, but it isn't considered mechanically as having it.

The "Magic Attack" evolution is only for the purpose of the mechanical DR.

Is there any rules that clear this up, saying that Magic Attack also works on the incorporeal creature's quasi-DR?


I'm pretty sure one of these faces is Nicolas Cage.