Kalron_'s page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Interesting so your read is essentially #1 on my list but with the additional caveat that the movement effect for each action used matches the stunt instead of mixing and matching. I can see that making sense

I just found the Power Slide skill feat yesterday and figured I may as well bring it into this conversation. It does have the 1-3 action variation of drive and lets you move full speed before turning up to 90 degrees on success or 180 degrees on critical success at the end of your movement.

The wording on this feat is super clear which is great. It's also interesting to compare this feat to the flip and burn stunt. The feat lets you move farther without the double reckless check with the caveat that you can only turn 180 degrees on crit success.

Since the feat exists it makes me feel like multi-actions stunts are the intention


Copying the relevant rules here

Piloting a Vehicle:

In encounter mode, a vehicle moves on its pilot's turn, and the pilot must use their actions to control it. A vehicle can take part in only 1 move action each round, even if multiple creatures Take Control as pilots on the same round.

----

Stunt [one-action] Manipulate, Move, Reckless

You perform a stunt while Driving your vehicle, temporarily improving its effective capabilities at the risk of losing control. Drive your vehicle and choose a stunt. All Piloting checks attempted as part of your Stunt receive the listed penalty, including Piloting checks made to take a reckless action. If the Drive action and Stunt are both reckless, you must attempt the Piloting check to keep control of the vehicle twice.

---

Drive [one-action] to [three-actions] Move

You pilot your vehicle to move. Decide how many actions you intend to spend before you begin Driving. The effects depend on the number of actions you spend. You can't Drive through spaces occupied by creatures, even if they're allies.

[one-action] Attempt a piloting check. On a success, the vehicle moves up to its Speed and can turn normally. On a failure, the vehicle moves its Speed in a straight line. On a critical failure, the vehicle moves its Speed in a straight line and becomes uncontrolled.

[two-actions] (reckless) The vehicle moves up to twice its Speed in a straight line at the vehicle's current heading.

[three-actions] (reckless) You take a –5 penalty on your piloting check to maintain control of the vehicle. The vehicle moves up to three times its Speed in a straight line at the vehicle's current heading.

----------------------------------------

Now to the question:

Since a vehicle in an encounter can only have a single move action per round you cannot use both Stunt and Drive on one turn.

RAW imply that Stunt has Drive as a sub-action which makes sense since you have to roll a piloting check to maintain control of the vehicle while stunting.

What is unclear to me is this bit: "If the Drive action and Stunt are both reckless, you must attempt the Piloting check to keep control of the vehicle twice."

Does this mean that Stunt should also be a 1-3 action activity that functions like a superset of drive? For example:

I choose to Stunt for 2 actions. 2-action drive is reckless and my stunt action is reckless so I need to roll 2 piloting checks to keep control of the vehicle (both with the penalty from my chosen stunt). If I succeed on both I keep control of the vehicle and then have the movement of the stunt + the movement effect of 1 drive action?

This seems like it would get pretty complex fast but right now there isn't another reason for the line in stunt about Drive and Stunt both being reckless to exist. One possibility is that that line is there because some future spell/ability will cause driving vehicles to be reckless.

Long story short does Stunt:
1. need Errata to make it a 1 to 3 action activity?
2. need Errata to remove the line in question (maybe it was just a leftover of an old vehicle system)
3. need to be read without that line since its just there for some future spell/ability to interact with
4. something else that I haven't considered