Jaxom5's page

Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


I believe that you could rule that the body itself would cushion the blow to many objects. Effectively the only ones destroyed would be the ones between his body and the ground, for instance.

I have a slightly different question to ask though, and since it falls under the same title as this post I didn't want to create a new thread.

How much damage does an object take when it falls? (When it is NOT in the possession of a creature)

I assumed it was the same as for a character, ie 1d6/10 ft. This would mean that a one-handed bladed weapon (Hardness 10, HP 10) would be destroyed, on average, by a fall of 60 ft (average damage 21) on to stone.

I don't like the last sentence of the falling object rules that states

Paizo wrote:
Note that a falling object takes the same amount of damage as it deals.

because that covers an object hitting a (squishy) creature. I'm interested in if it misses.

This is also silly for a creature that misses his target when falling. Example: A medium creature leaps off of an 80 ft high ledge to fall onto an opponent. RAW says that if he hits, he deals 3d6 damage and takes 3d6 damage. If he misses, he hits the (unforgiving) ground and takes 7d6 damage + 1d6 nonlethal.


Ok, I just found this description:

Paizo wrote:

Bonus (Enhancement):

An enhancement bonus represents an increase in the sturdiness and/or effectiveness of armor or natural armor, or the effectiveness of a weapon, or a general bonus to an ability score. Multiple enhancement bonuses on the same object (in the case of armor and weapons), creature (in the case of natural armor), or ability score do not stack. Only the highest enhancement bonus applies. Since enhancement bonuses to armor or natural armor effectively increase the armor or natural armor's bonus to AC, they don't apply against touch attacks.

I think this means that the katana becomes a +4 Flaming, Defending katana for 1 round since Enhancement bonuses seem to exclusively refer to the "+number" in front of the magical weapon's description. Also, the other abilities seem to be treated as +1 bonuses only for determining price in the Magic Item chapter of the CRB.


I understand that the Scabbard's bonus doesn't stack with the, say, +2 bonus on a +2 Flaming, Defending Katana, but can it enhance the +2 Flaming, Defending Katana (Suishen) at all?

Since Flaming and Defending both count as a "+1" bonus, this sword technically has "+4" worth of magical enhancements already. So if you drew Suishen and tried to apply a +4 bonus for 1 round to it, would it become a "+4 Flaming, Defending katana" for 1 round or would it remain a "+2 Flaming, Defending katana" as it would if the special abilities count towards the +4 bonus?