Ivtolt's page

10 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The exact mechanics are very important for the Blood Summoner, who can cast Planar Binding as a standard action. So he could cast the (unaugmented) magic circle in the first round and use Planar Ally in the second as a default tactic.

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Planar Binding spell is not really clear about how exactly the opposed Charisma-check is performed. This is particularly interesting for the Blood Summoner archetype, but also for other callers.

How quick can you do it? You have to describe the task, but the rules say:



In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn. Speaking more than a few sentences is generally beyond the limit of a free action.

As soon as the creature is summoned can you immediately make a check to bind it and compel it to serve you?

Otherwise, what kind of action is it?
This is generally of great importance, as the Magic Circle doesn't protect you from ranged attacks of the called creature.

If you can immediately make a check is the trap even necessary?
The description seems to imply that you need the magic circle but is unclear if the dimensional anchor is obligatory for called outsiders that can change plains, or if it is only necessary to "keep it bound for as long as you dare".

If the creature does not break free of the trap, you can keep it bound for as long as you dare. You can attempt to compel the creature to perform a service by describing the service and perhaps offering some sort of reward.

So, is the trap part of the magic of the binding, or is it only highly-advised?

Or are you supposed to wait until the trapped outsider has tried to escape in all possible ways, before you can try to compel it? This doesn't really make sense though, because then the outsider could just wait a few days without trying to escape.

And what if you want to call a creature, but not bind it (e.g. an allied outsider from a different plain, or a creature that you worship)? Can you in this case leave the trap away?

Another clarification is needed here:

Once the requested service is completed, the creature need only to inform you to be instantly sent back whence it came. The creature might later seek revenge.

Does the creature have to do this? Can it not inform you and stay on the current plain indefinitely?

If not, can you make the report part of your service? I guess the service can be very complex if you take the time to describe it, but it does still have to be one task, right?


Impossible demands or unreasonable commands are never agreed to.

What does unreasonable mean here? Such commands that are not logically consistent? Otherwise what marks an unreasonable command?

Isn't the "Bloody Tears and Jagged Smile" spell a bit overpowered? +4 on spell DCs for fear spells - among other useful things?

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Searching through the FAQ about the Darkness spell I found the following:


Darkness: Can adding additional sunrods to the area of the spell increase the light level?

No, sunrods can never increase the light level of an area of darkness because they are not magical sources of light. In such an area, it automatically defaults to the ambient natural light level (the light level from natural sources, such as the sun, moon, and stars—not torches, campfires, light spells, and so on), and then reduces it one step.

I don't understand the logic behind this. What counts as a natural source? Only starlight? Is a lava stream natural light? What if that lava stream starts a fire or lightning? That is a light source as natural as it gets, but it is also the same thing as a campfire.

I have seen that there are other threads about the spell, but I didn't find any proper answer to this question. I hope you can help me out, what makes light natural/ambient light?

That option also illustrates one of the reasons, why it is important, where the queens come from. If they and several adult children of them come from strange worlds, that would have great influence on them and thereby whole Irrisen - they are the rulers and can change or introduce all kinds of things. But from what I have read, all the queens seem like what you would expect, if they had lived in Irrisen all their life.

Well, apparently there are no official statements about it. But I am interested in hearing how you would or even better how you did define this - aside from simply saying, they come from a mysterious, unknown place.

Orthos wrote:
I believe she selects an heir from among the Jadwiga-class citizens of Irrisen, from one of the noble families descended from the original queen(s).

All the queens have been sisters and Baba Yaga's daughters. That much is clear.

And I'm not talking about the actual next ruler, possibly influenced by the PC, I am talking about the next heir in line, if everything would go the usual way.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am currently DM'ing the Reign of Winter AP and the succession to the throne is unclear to me:
The fifteenth daughter of Baba Yaga, who would become queen after Elvanna, is currently in Irrisen, rigth? Elvanna's description mentioned, that all the queens are groomed for their reign, and I assume in Irrisen. But the next queen is never mentioned - and it certainly is something very important. It would be dangerous for the heir to be in Irrisen, but it surely is the best place to learn about it and become connected.
Or does Baba Yaga bring them from somewhere else to Irrisen? In that case from where? From several different worlds (the nature of those worlds could be quite important) or from some special place?
The crown gives the queens a youthful appearance, but doesn't stop them from aging and they rule for 100 years. Also, when they come to power they have to be powerful witches and have adult children to replace the ones, that Baba Yaga takes with her, so she has a solid base for her rule. So does Baba Yaga give birth every 100 or so years in the middle of each reign and bring the child to Irrisen to be raised somewhere? Or to some different place? Does she have a frozen repertoire of pre-groomed (for a out of date situation), upcoming witch-queens plus entourage? How does it work?

Is there somewhere official/semi-official information on this? Otherwise, how did you handle it?

The Bestiary says: "Regenerating creatures [...] can reattach severed limbs or body parts if they are brought together within 1 hour of severing."
That doesn't really make any sense, if severed body parts regrow anyway.

I don't understand why the spellcasting sample armies have such low leveled spells. The Healer's Brigard consists of level 5 adepts, they should be able to cast Cure Moderate Wounds. And the level 5 wizards of the Arcane Army should be able to cast Summon Army III instead of Summon Army II.
Is that an error?

The monk "Ki Pool" ability says:
"By spending 1 point from his ki pool, a monk can make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack."

Does that mean a Sensei can only use Mystic Wisdom on other monks in such a way - others do not have flurry of blows. And do two uses of ki pool in this way stack? This ability does stack with Haste or similar effects, right? Can then a monk, who uses ki for an extra attack, get another attack by being supported by a Sensei?