![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() Chief Sull says "The difficulty of the check to acquire Chief Sull is equal to the highest difficulty to acquire a random item from the box" Pauper's Thighbone says "Check to acquire: Banish an item“ So, um, what do we do? Is it difficulty 0, difficulty impossible, or banish an item? My gut says difficulty impossible but I'd really like that thighbone... ![]()
![]() Steal Soul requires someone at your location (such as yourself) to defeat a monster which is "not immune to the attack trait" before you can play it. Some monsters have the text "you may not play spells with the attack trait" - sometimes with a check to fail first or sometimes just outright. That's different from an immunity, so I can happily steal their soul, yes? Pretty sure the answer is technically yes, but not sure if I should feel guilty about it or not. ![]()
![]() Can I just confirm that Kyra's ability to recharge a spell for an attack-spell-like effect against demons and undead does not actually count as "playing a spell"? So for example against a cambion I don't need to make a check first to use the ability. I'm asking mostly whether this is "as intended", since I'm on-board with the idea that according to RAW if nothing says it's playing a spell then it isn't playing a spell. It just seems most similar powers (e.g. the sorcerers) say they count as playing-a-thing. I can see that the carry-on golem has its own errata that would block this ability regardless. Although of course you can't use the ability in the first place anyway, because it's clearly just a soulless animation of dead flesh, as (obviously) entirely distinct from being "undead". ![]()
![]() This FAQ entry:
says to "search" the blessings deck for blessings when the villain is undefeated. Technically this then means you get to look at the blessings, which in turn means you know which blessings they are and may often have a clue to where the villain is (or at least isn't) when you encounter either the same or different blessings in a location deck. My interpretation of the situation is this:
Is this right? ![]()
![]() Between three different cards, the Haunts are referred to as being:
More seriously though, assuming these are all the same place, it's still not clear to me how the scenario power interacts with the text on the Haunts themselves. Do you follow the scenario instructions before, after or instead of following the Haunt text? I think the right interpretation is this:
2. Then you should attempt to close the location. This is because the closing the location text on the Haunt uses the word "immediately", while the scenario text does not. The check will be harder than usual because of the Haunt. 3. Then you arrange yourself in such a way that the Haunt is both in front of you and next to your character card. This is because I'm assuming all these different places aren't meant to be different. The important thing is the Haunts still add 1 to the difficulty of all your checks, irrespective of having been told to put them somewhere else. 4. Then you count the number of Haunts that you can see around the table, including your own, roll d6, add the numbers together and compare it to 5. 5. Finally, you might then encounter Iesha. If you're Kyra you can then read all the other text on the card, but otherwise you just roll some dice and hope not to lose your whole hand. Does this look right? I searched for other threads about this, but the only thing that was ever confirmed was not to pull d6 additional Haunts out of the box. Some asked the question but never got a confirmed response and none seemed to put the entire sequence together. ![]()
![]() So, I tried to find a discussion on this but couldn't, which surprises me. According to the rules, you can fill in blank spots in your deck with cards up to two adventure decks lower than the current scenario. Also according to the rules though, if anyone in your entire party has a card which has the appropriate type to go in your deck, you have to use that card, no matter how close to completely worthless it is. This comes up whenever you have to banish a card, gain a card feat, or to some extent just whenever you reach a new adventure deck and the value of "2 less than the current" ticks up. However, the rules, as far as I understand, also allow the following:
The end result is I'm forced to choose between three things which I absolutely hate:
I'll just to elaborate on the "play suboptimally" option, which might otherwise be the lesser of those three evils. It results in some very weird, and immersion-breaking choices and behaviour. Some examples; wizard/priest-types giving spells to warrior-types for the "power" to banish them after use, seeking out potions for their ability to banish an item (i.e. themselves) from your deck, deliberately declining every attempt to acquire cards of a particular type, scuttling your ship to banish plunder of a particular type (I got burned once by not realising I needed to do this one), seeing any effects that banish a card as an upside rather than a penalty. To me, the whole situation just seems awkward. What approach does everyone else take (my impression is (1))? We did (3) most of the way through RotR but later switched to (1), mostly because we were finding the game too easy. If I was to change things to get rid of the awkwardness, I would do one of the following (from most to least preferred)
![]()
![]() Hi, here's a few somewhat unrelated questions which I've built up over time, and which I haven't found or figured out an answer to yet. 1) I'd like confirmation on my understanding of the interaction between cards like Poison Cloud and Blizzard etc., with different cards that make it difficult or impossible to play them through different means.
2) Isawyn the Diva says you can't play cards with the attack trait or weapons if you fail a certain check. I auto-failed the check (d4 for an 11), then used a Buckler Gun. Was this legit? It's an armour not a weapon, but it says it "counts as playing a weapon". The apparent purpose of saying that is to allow you to play another armour (and to not allow another weapon I guess, though as far as I can tell that's never relevant). But does this extend to not being able to play it in the first place? My interpretation was that I'm playing an armour which counts as a weapon. From a technical perspective it doesn't "count as playing a weapon" until I play it to activate that text, by which time I've already played it so it's too late to tell me I can't. Am I just being too much of a lawyer here? 3) The Pirate Council has an alternative method of defeat, by banishing some plunder cards. It doesn't say random, so does that mean you can choose the cards? I know the plunder pile is face down, but for instance you might remember that for the bottom card we rolled armour, the second card weapon and the top card spell. If you want weapons the most, can you choose for instance to give away the top and bottom card (armour and spell) but keep the middle (weapon)? ![]()
![]() Hi, just a question on what dice qualify as being "for this weapon" when using the Dogslicer - "If any d6 rolled for this weapon is a 1..." (emphasis mine). In other words, which d6 can I upgrade the 1s to 3s on? Is it:
My inner lawyer thinks (B) seems more correct since the card could have said "for this check" instead of "for this weapon". On the other hand I expect the intention was (C), which is how I've been playing it so far, on the principle that the game does not generally have any concept of which dice came from which effect and having to roll the dice separately would be a nuisance. |