Then Craft (Alchemy)/(Gunsmithing) being explicitly available as a crafting option for Gunslingers is unnecessary, because the Feat itself provides the ability to purchase the ammunition supplies without crafting.
A single rank in Craft (Alchemy) is required to *purchase* alchemical cartridges, but anyone can take ranks in Crafting skills.
At any rate, everyone is allowed to take Crafting of any kind for it to apply to Day Jobs and other situational rolls (profession knowledge), but the caveat in the guild guide is supposed to be for the creation of items. It would be weird if it was a typo, that it was intended to be Craft (Alchemy) since anyone could buy one rank in this skill to complete the prerequisite to purchase alchemical cartridges under the Gunsmithing feat description. Again, the Gunsmithing feat applies to only the purchase of firearms supplies, not their crafting, in Society play.
Craft (Gunsmithing) is an annoying typo that has persisted for two iterations of the Guide. It's supposed to be Craft (Alchemy), for cartridges.
IS it a typo at this point? They corrected it for Investigator, and it makes sense that Gunslingers could use Craft (Gunsmithing) for ammunition if they weren't near an available merchant.
I just find it all awkward.
So I'm not so good when it comes to tracking down elusive rules, and I'm making a Gunslinger and am trying to interpret these documents.
According to the Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guide Guide:
According to Additional Resources:
I think it is worth noting that Additional Resources only refers to the FEAT of Gunsmithing, not Craft (Gunsmithing). If they wanted this to additionally cover Craft (Gunsmithing), they should have added it to the feat description in Additional Resources. To me, the feat is only intended to allow non-Gunslingers to purchase firearms and firearms accessories. Additionally, the feat Gunsmithing, plus a single rank in Craft (Alchemy) already allows the Gunslinger to purchase all necessary ammunition for the same price as crafting it.
So. What does Craft (Gunsmithing) do for Gunslingers? Or is only intended as a means to create ammunition should an appropriate merchant be unavailable?
But at this moment, until a GM or Venture Captain or the Lord James Jacobs himself shuts me down, my gnome is probably going to make sure to get a couple of Dye blowgun darts into the fight inbetween bombs, and at some point when the GM's defenses are down, out comes the Splintercloud darts. Slowburn darts when I can afford them and Raining darts when I can compensate for the -2 on the ranged attack bonus.
Kyrie Ebonblade, wrote:
I did a very bad thing and made a gnome alchemist who kind of childishly wants to be a dragon. So as part of her starting equipment bought her a monster mask and a pocketed scarf (which boosts Sleight of Hand!), but I'm making it that the pockets on either end of the scarf she can put her hands into, like one of those hats for kids, and use the ends as her dragon wings or claws or whatever.
I decided I would find a way to use Sleight of Hand on this character, but she's definitely going to be...unique.
In the Alchemy Manual there is an entry for making alchemical ammunition. For example, the Raining Arrows that deliver Holy Water splash weapons.
Quoting from the new Additional Resources document published August 10th, "Class Bonuses: The favored class bonuses in this book are legal for play except the gathlain’s kineticist favored class bonus."
Additionally, Additional Resources says all Additional Racial Traits and Feats are legal, and doesn't list the Gathlain material as excluded.
Are there any Gathlain boons, am I missing something, or is this a hint at changes to Season 9?
I've only been playing Pathfinder since March, and there is a lot of material spread out all over, so it's entirely possible I've missed something.
The other night the Venture Captain told me that I could only purchase one thing at a time using Prestige points. I had made multiple purchases of vanities, not realizing there may have been a limit.
Checking the guild guide, on page 22 there is a reference stating that a GM can limit the spending of Prestige if it obstructs gameplay, making it sound like Prestige can be spent multiple times.
The Venture Captain pointed out that on page 21, there is a note that only once per chronicle may you spend 2 Prestige to purchase an item worth 750 gold of less for free.
As I'm purchasing vanities (such as multiple vanity followers, titles, and businesses) and not items with an explicit gold value, I don't see this as applying to the free item purchase limit.