In the first printing of the book, the bard playing an occult spell on an instrument used that instrument as a focus component substitution. And so use of this focus component substitution was subject to the MANIPULATE tag.
I see now that the 2nd printing errata removed this specification that the instrument was a focus component. How come exactly?
Can bards play their instrument while grabbed without the required flat save?
Also I am afraid to ask about what the official status on how many hands a bard needs to use while casting with said instrument? All musical instruments say two hands. But a war-kazoo could theoretically, be one handed right?