![]() ![]()
Yeah that Errata (go here for some explanation: http://paizo.com/store/games/roleplayingGames/p/pathfinderRPG/paizo/pathfin derCompanion/v5748btpy8dmf/discuss&page=12#550) completely destroyed my Brass Knuckle Monk build. It's all good though. I actually didn't find out about that errata until after the character was brutally torn apart by an enraged advanced Owlbear. ![]()
I'll probably go with the Spiritual Weapon comparison until someone says different. This spell does borrow a lot from the wording of that one so it makes sense. I think I can talk my DM into letting me make one Maneuver a turn while still keeping my Standard action. That makes this a pretty cool spell in my book. ![]()
Here's the text from the spell to help any potential answerers: Chain of Perdition
CASTING
EFFECT
DESCRIPTION
The chain can perform the dirty trick (blind or entangle), drag, reposition, and trip combat maneuvers, using your caster level in place of your Combat Maneuver Bonus, and your Charisma modifier (sorcerer), Intelligence modifier (wizard), or Wisdom modifier (cleric) in place of your Strength or Dexterity modifier. The chain does not provoke attacks of opportunity for making combat maneuvers. It suffers no penalty or miss chance due to darkness, invisibility, or other forms of concealment. As a move action, you can move the chain up to 30 feet. If the chain goes beyond the spell’s range or out of your sight, it returns to you. If a creature that the chain attacks has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against that spell resistance the first time the chain performs a successful maneuver against that creature. If the chain is successfully resisted, the spell is dispelled. If not, the weapon has its normal full effect on that creature for the duration of the spell. ![]()
I like the look of the Chain of Perdition spell but I was wondering some specifics on how it actually functions. Do I have to use my Standard action for the turn to cause the Chain to use combat maneuvers or does it do one each turn on its own until the duration runs out? I know I have to use my Move Action to move it but it's not entirely clear from the text if the Chain does it's maneuvers on it's own or not. Thanks for the help. |