FhqwhgadsX2's page

Organized Play Member. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


One way of thinking about it is the location where the damage manifests. That is, when the medium creature is struck by the huge creature, if it is outside of the radius of effect of the antimagic field, the magic should function. On the flip-side, trying to make your attack into the antimagic field won't work because as soon as the blade enters the boundary, the magic ceases to function.

Using this thinking, the only way for the medium creature to attack the huge creature with magic bonuses is perhaps that readied action.


FhqwhgadsX2 wrote:


1. So, imagine your battle grid and the large creature is totally confined within the field (middle square plus all of the edges), but his opponent, 10' away, is not. The large creature...

Thanks for the rule on the area part! I didn't know that before. There was a typo in my original post, I meant to say the HUGE creature instead of large (I had changed my theoretical creature and I realized it seemed confusing as to which I was talking about). The other creature I had in mind was just a 5' x 5' player or something, but it can apply to any size really. Is that grid link you used a tool in the forum somewhere? Or an external site?


I'm having some trouble working out the intricacies of this spell. The lines in the spell pertaining to this situation are:

Area 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you

And

An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it.

And

Furthermore, while a magic sword does not function magically within the area, it is still a sword (and a masterwork sword at that).

Let's say we have a Huge (tall) sized creature (15' x 15') with 15' reach. This creature is wielding a +2 flaming greatsword. This creature also has Antimagic Field cast upon him (he cast it). He is fighting an opponent who has a +2 flaming longsword who is standing 10' away from the nearest square occupied by the huge creature.

1. So, imagine your battle grid and the large creature is totally confined within the field (middle square plus all of the edges), but his opponent, 10' away, is not. The large creature attacks his opponent with reach, does he get to add the benefits of his +2 flaming weapon because he is reaching outside the 10' radius emination of the antimagic field? Or does he only get the masterwork bonus?

2. The opponent will now take his turn to 5' step and attack the huge creature. In order to do so though, he must reach inside the anti-magic field to strike said creature, does the opponent lose his magic bonuses to his weapon? Therefore, he only receives the masterwork bonus from his weapon?

3. The huge creature now attacks again, but his opponent is outside the antimagic field's radius yet again. The creature strikes his opponent, but this time without having to reach. Does the huge creature retain his magic bonuses to the attack because he is still attacking a square that is outside the antimagic field?

4. Let's say the opponent had readied an attack for when the creature attacked him so that he could avoid the antimagic field and strike the huge creature's arm? Will the opponent get to use his bonuses at that point?

Case 4 seems to be the easiest to rule in favor of the opponent, but of the first three, I can see cases made for both sides and would like to ask another's opinion.

Thank you!


I think I figured out the cleanest way for this ability to work. You helped by pointing out the "become" flat footed part. I think I want to change your suggestion on the "new performance" part because I don't know why the bard would have to start a "new performance" unless you meant, on the bard's turn, when he continues playing or has the "lingering song" feat. (Or lingering performance, can't remember exact name.)

Basically, when it is the affected person's turn in initiative, they lose their flat-footed status because they are now acting. However, if they have not previously (within 24 hours) passed a save from this bard's Glorious Epic, then, if they are within range, they must pass another save provided the bardic performance is still going (via lingering or the free action to continue performance).

If they pass this save, they don't have to care about this performance anymore (for 24 hours). If they fail the save, they become flat-footed again.

This process repeats each turn until they make their save. No need for a full-round action or anything because once it is their turn, they lose the flat-footed status, but just need to make another save because they are not yet immune to the bardic performance.

Thank you Glandis!


This is the entry for the Court Bard's Glorious Epic ability under Bardic Performance:

Glorious Epic (Su): A court bard of 8th level or higher can weave captivating tales that engross those who hear them. Enemies within 30 feet become flat-footed unless they succeed at a Will save (DC 10 + 1/2 the bard’s level + the bard’s Cha modifier). A save renders them immune to this ability for 24 hours. Glorious epic is a language-dependent, mind-affecting ability that uses audible components.

This performance replaces dirge of doom.

If someone has a RAW quote for how this save is handled, that would be lovely, otherwise I will take interpretations because I can't find this on the forums or anywhere in the rule books.

So, case 1, this save is a 1 save deal where if you fail it and remain inside the bard's range (provided he still maintains the performance) then you are flat-footed until you leave the range.

Or, case 2, the save is something you can make every round at the beginning of your turn to try to ignore the effects of this performance. Once made, you have 24 hours of immunity.

If it is indeed the latter, case 2, should it be a full-round action? Much like certain spells such as hideous laughter or hold person read?