Enferac's page

2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I must ask a question about Tie up:

Most post about tie up seem to say that you can try a tie up when target is grappled, but with a -10 modifier to your CMB. I'm not native to the language and I wonder if that's correct. I will try to make my point as follows:
From corebook:
"Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple)."
One of those options you can do is "pinned"
Pin: You can give your opponent the pinned condition (see Conditions). Despite pinning your opponent, you still only have the grappled condition, but you lose your Dexterity bonus to AC.
When you have your target pinned you can make a "Tie up":
Tie Up: If you have your target pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, you can use rope to tie him up. This works like a pin effect, but the DC to escape the bonds is equal to 20 + your Combat Maneuver Bonus (instead of your CMD). The ropes do not need to make a check every round to maintain the pin. If you are grappling the target, you can attempt to tie him up in ropes, but doing so requires a combat maneuver check at a –10 penalty. If the DC to escape from these bindings is higher than 20 + the target's CMB, the target cannot escape from the bonds, even with a natural 20 on the check.
I would like to have it that if you are doing the grapple and trying to tie up you target, you still have the grappled condition and you would have to take a -10 penalty on the check. It makes sense that you have some trouble putting ropes or shackles on your target while holding him/her. I would have the unmodified CMB check to apply to an assisting person putting on the restrains.

Appreciate answers!


Hello!

The following question is about paizo's Pathfinder:
I was wondering if anyone knows the rules about if an attacks of oppertunity "hits". It says it "'interrupts'the normal flow", when you take the action, but it doesn't say anything about if it hits. Will a hit stop the action? I find it logical and funktional when it comes to actions like "grapple", (The defender strikes the attackers arms, etc, to get him away).
I've been reading about AoO and more in the "combat" section of the book, but not been able to find anything about this. If anyone knows anything at all about this, or if you have any "house rules" applications or thoughts about this, I'd appreciate a response. It might be as simple as, I've missed it.

I've been reading some d&d3.5 and it says if the AoO hits when an attacker perform a grapple check, the grapple attempt fails.
But it's not same game, and I prefer to read pathfinder as a new game with similarities to older d20 games.

I'm not english native, but I hope you are able to see my point.

Cheers!


Sign in to create or edit a product review.