![]() ![]()
![]() Hello all,
1. Can a PFS character use multiple archetypes for the same core class, so long as the abilities from each archetype do not replace the same core class abilities? Example: The Drunken Master and Sacred Mountain archetypes for the Monk core class each replaces different core abilities. Can I play a Drunken Master of the Sacred Mountain? 2. If the answer to #1 is yes, can a character use two archetypes that replace the same core class ability with the same archetype ability? Example: The Hospialer and Sacred Servant archetypes replace different Paladin core class abilities, except both archetypes modify the paladin's Smite Evil from +1 per day/2 class levels to +1 per day/4 class levels. Can I play a Super Holy Healer of Sarenrae? 3. If a character multiclasses, can I take archetypes for each class? Ex: A Savage Skald 2/ Elemental Kin 1 instead of a Bard 2/Barbarian 1. Thanks in advance for your answers! ![]()
![]() Christopher Van Horn wrote: I wouldn't necessarily run it that way either. I also still have questions about whether the spell ending is an instantaneous teleportation or an actually elevator motion. The spell doesn't really cover that part very well. I would probably have it be instantaneous to stop the kind of cheese of moving someone through objects and effects. Its bad enough with readied actions and other spell casters as is. I my cleric buddy readies a blade barrier and my fighter buddy readies a bull rush to make sure you fall in. The spell is a very powerful option to combine with many different effects because of the ability to force movement through things via falling. It shows a spell that is mechanically on its own probably a little weaker than some but when used correctly can be combined to make an instant blender/Cuisinart deathtrap. I'm leaning more towards the elevator motion, since it specifically states that the floor rises up to it's original position in a one turn period at the end of the spell. I would think any effects in the shaft hit you both coming and going. :D ![]()
![]() Christopher Van Horn wrote: I agree for objects affected by movement but a spell cast on a fixed extra-dimensional location would not move unless it was targeted on the floor itself. Otherwise the space it was targeted on would be gone. I agree oil and conjured things should move but not all effects work that way. Although it would be funny as everything is forced into that square instantaneously forcing another pass through the horrible effects. By RAW it might move spell effects up with it but I'm unsure that an immobile spell effect targeted at a point in space would move. Since by the spell description only the floor moves not the space. But, the rising floor would still push them one last time trough the prismatic sphere you cast 10 ft above the pit floor, right? Bonus. ![]()
![]() Christopher Van Horn wrote: Actually the pit is an extra dimensional space so when it closes the other spells would cease to exist I believe. Their location is somewhere else not transported. The pit does not so much extend downwards as it is a portal like a bag of holding or portable hole. But the pit doesn't actually close. The bottom of the pit is the same floor that was there origanally, it has just been dropped X feet through an extradimensional space. When the spell ends, the floor just rises back up to it's original position. Presumably bringing whatever was in the pit with it. Or am I wrong? ![]()
![]() Ah, good catch. I missed the bit about not being able to lay force walls flat. Anywho, I knew it was too good to be true. Still, the concept can be used in a similar manner with Hungry Pit and stone Wall. 1. Drop BBEG in hungry pit.
Also, I like the idea of filling the pit with super-harmful stuff, but what happens to the spells inside the pit when the pit spell ends? do they just become centered on the ground above where the pit was? ![]()
![]() So, I was reading the APG rules for the new Create Pit spell and it's variants, and faster than you can shout "THIS IS SPARTA!" I came up with this little conundrum. I'll set the scene: Let's say a level 10 wizard walking through a forest comes upon a big burly orc chief and a couple of his flunkies in a clearing. Winning initiative and seeing that the orcs are all grouped together, he casts Create Pit. Three flubbed reflex saves later, all the orcs are in a jumble at the bottom of said pit. Noticing that the three now VERY unhappy orcs are beginning to climb out, the wizard decides to buy more time by casting a flat 60' by 60' Force Wall centered over the pit one inch above ground level (so it doesn't hit the odd upturned pebble). The wall overlaps the slanted edge of the pit by 5', allowing absolutely no space for the orcs to climb out without some form of magical assistance. As the wizard sits on top of the force wall, smugly watching the orcs frantic attempts to escape, he has a realization: Create Pit only lasts for one minute, while his force wall lasts for ten. Less than a minute later, he watches with great interest as the pit floor raises the helpless orcs up and... What? Squish?
All joking aside, I can't see any way that this is not an instant kill for anything inside the pit. You can't try to burrow your way out, since the pit is an extra-dimensional space. The rules for Create Pit specifically state that at the end of the spell, in one round the floor of the pit rises back up to it's original level. Then, anything in the pit is caught between the ultimate rock (the planet) and a hard place (unmovable DR 30, 20 HP per CL force wall). Since the wall isn't actually in the pit, there is no interference between spells. You can't save because there is no where to escape to. What ever was in the pit is now smashed into a 1 inch high meat pancake. Armor won't help. DR and SR won't help. Unless you can escape magically (gaseous form, teleport) or somehow break through the wall (good luck), you're 100% boned. It's the ultimate trash compactor. Granted, any equipment carried by the smashees is completely trashed, but still, I call shenanigans. Anyone have any thoughts? ![]()
![]() Great job keeping up with all the questions, Sean, but there is still one key issue that's been brought up that a lot of people will want an answer to: The Holy Super-Soaker!!! :D If someone were fill up a pump water canister with holy water, schlep it to the nearest crypt, and point it at some unlucky undead or evil outsider, how much damage would it do per turn? In the core rule book, one flask (1 pint) of holy water is said to do 2d4 pts. of damage to the targeted creature, plus 1 pt. of damage to every adjacent creature. If we simply apply those stats to the gallon of water the pump puts out per a turn, that's 16d4 pts. to the target creature plus 8 pts. to every creature adjacent! (1 gallon = 8 pints) Sure, you're flushing 200g down the drain per turn, but dang, that is one big canister of Zom-b-gone... Also, what kind of roll would you need to make for the attack? Ranged touch? What happens if you miss? ![]()
![]() Are the battle poi a double weapon? In table at the back of the Armory, they are listed as an one -handed melee weapon with no special abilities. My understanding of the game mechanics is if you were to wield two battle poi and had Exotic Proficiency (Battle Poi), You would get two attacks at -4 attack penalty since you get to use the TWF feat but are not using a light weapon in your off hand. This seems a bit harsh, especially since the Battle Poi have always been described as being made specifically to be wielded in pairs (both in the LOF book and the AA). Perhaps an extra bit of descriptive text got left off? ;) When wielded in pairs by someone proficient, should battle poi take a -4 or a -2 to each attack roll? |