|
Daniel Turner Zen Archer's page
213 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|


Quote: Wisdom in the Flesh Religion Trait, Irori
Benefits: Select any Strength-, Constitution-, or Dexterity-based skill. You may make checks with that skill using your Wisdom modifier instead of the skill's normal ability score. That skill is always a class skill for you.
Quote: Monkey Style (Combat, Style)
Benefit: You add your Wisdom bonus on Acrobatics checks. While using this style, you take no penalty on melee attack rolls or to AC while prone. Further, you can crawl and stand up from lying prone without provoking attacks of opportunity, and you can stand up as a swift action if you succeed at a DC 20 Acrobatics check.
So my question it to how the trait would interact with the Monkey Style Feat if I took the Trait and applied it to Acrobatics to use acrobatics with my Wisdom modifier instead of Dexterity, since Monkey Style allows me to add my Wis bonus to Acrobatics checks. Taking the trait already does this in a way, so I'm unsure how these two effects would work with each other. Any thoughts of opinions?

Okay, so I was thinking of my cleric who uses the variant channeling rules to do the 'forge' channel variant, where he heals an extra 50% damage to constructs and metallic objects that are subjected to his channel energy. I know that when an undead is within the range of positive energy that said undead is hurt by the positive energy, but then I came across the Necrostruct of the Louis Porter Jr. Design sets of content. Long story short, the necrostruct is an undead construct and I'm unsure of how my channeled positive energy would affect such an entity. Currently I'm a level 5 elven cleric without selective channeled energy so I can't simply keep the necrostruct's out of my 30 foot area of positive energy healing, but since the necrostructs are also undead I wondered if they would instead be harmed by the positive energy?
Eh, I'm at a loss on this one, but will the necrostruct be healed by my positive energy (Forge) channeling (as per being a construct), will they be hurt by my positive energy (per being undead as well), or would they be healed first then harmed, or would their being an undead construct simply cancel out any healing/harming affects from my positive energy (forge) variant?
I'm not looking for ways to keep the necrostruct being affected, nor am I concerned about the effectiveness of my cleric build, I just wanted to know what affects my cleric's channeled energy will have on a necrostruct. Thanks in advance on any of your thoughts, I'm somewhat at a loss as to how to decide this on my own, and the Gm isn't too sure either, so he simply ruled that as per the construct rules, my channeled energy healed the construct by an extra 50% (per the variant channeling rules for the Forge variant) and then harmed the construct as an undead (per the channeled positive energy of the base cleric stating that you can choose to harm undead when channeling positive energy.
Can anyone help clear this one up for me?

Prerequisites: Unarmored Specialist, evasion class feature.
Improved Unarmored Specialist (Combat)
Benefit: As long as you do not have any armor bonus to AC (such as from wearing armor, or from the spell mage armor), double your Dexterity bonus for the purposes of your AC (for example, a character with a Dexterity score of 15 would have a +4 Dexterity bonus to AC, because the normal bonus is +2, and doubled it becomes +4). Anything that would cause you to be denied your Dexterity bonus to AC still causes you to lose the entire bonus.
Normal: Normally you add your Dexterity bonus, rather than twice your Dexterity bonus, to AC.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Now, the above feat is a third-party feat, so allowing this is up to the individual GM, but I wanted to know how the feat actually extends to the AC of a character. In Pathfinder, there's regular AC, Touch-AC, and flat-footed AC, where regular AC applies to all weapon attacks, Touch-AC is normally against spells and/or incorporeal attacks, and flat-footed AC normally occurs from things such as sneak-attacks or when someone has been grappled.
My question is that the above feat states that you doubly your Dex modifier for determining your AC, but it doesn't state whether this bonus applies only to your regular AC, or if it extends to Touch AC as well. I know you lose your Dex modifier when you're caught flat-footed, so I know this feat wouldn't help in the case of a sneak-attack.
For example, there's a Magus Arcana that allows you to add your INT modifier to your Touch-AC, rather than your full AC. However, there's a later arcana that allows your INT modifier to apply to your full AC.
Since the above feat doesn't state that the bonus to your AC applies to Touch AC, should I assume that it only applies to standard AC, rather than to both my regular AC and touch AC?

In a game I'm currently playing in Pathfinder (specifically one of the Inner Sea modules, not sure which one), I've gotten into an argument about the price of a construct. My argument is that as a high level wizard, I can create construct however I see fit (using standard rules for pathfinder, of course). So when I wanted to create a construct that works as armor for one my fellow players, who happens to be a Magus by the way, I thought this would be a great idea. Seeing as how there's already rules for modifying constructs for new abilities, hit dice by size, I wanted to create an Adamantine Golem for the Magus, which would necessitate my changing the size of the construct from its normal size of Huge down to Medium.
My thoughts are that since the construct is now created as a medium sized construct, instead of being a Huge construct, the price/cost of creating the construct should be decreased to indicate the lessened amount of materials needed to create it. However, some of my fellow players (though not the GM or the Magus in question) say that regardless of the size, an Adamantine Golem should cost the same to create regardless of size.
A Tiny adamantine Cobra shouldn't need as much materials or time/money to create as a Huge adamantine Cobra, so I should think the same would apply to creating the opposite effect, allowing me to create a smaller version of a standard construct and use less money for said creation
What are the rules for determining the price of a construct that's simply two size categories smaller, and is there really any reason why a Huge construct should cost just as much as it's medium sized version?
So I remember playing a Cleric in 3.5, and I liked having the True Creation spell as one of my domain spell (seeing as how I was playing a crafting/healing cleric, this was an ideal spell at late levels). Now, when I started playing Pathfinder I was slightly bummed that True Creation wasn't a spell that any class could choose, but it's since come to my attention that the True Creation spell has since been added.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/t/true-creation
This link says that the source book is within the "Pathfinder Campaign Setting 207" material, but none of the campaign settings use simple numbers for their titles. Does anyone know what the actual title of the sourcebook that holds the True Creation spell within it is? I'd like to purchase this as a hardcopy book or a PDF, but to do that I'll need the title of this particular source material. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
I have some questions about some of the Archetypes from the Advanced Player's Guide, and as yet I haven't seen an update on them with the errata that I've received thus far. My first question is about the Zen Archer archetype for the Monk core class, linked below.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/monk/archetypes/paizo---monk-a rchetypes/zen-archer
The Flurry of Blows class feature for the Zen Archer only works when using a bow for the archetype, but what is the range of the Flurry of Blows when using a bow? Is the range of Flurry of Blows still only five feet (or whatever range the monk threatens due to his/her size), or can the monk flurry out to the range of his bow? I'm playing a Zen Archer in a current campaign, and a number of my fellows have expressed some issues with how far I can Flurry as a Zen Archer, and rightly so since I'm currently using a longbow (composite, I think) with the distance magical quality to defeat enemies with my Flurry ability out to roughly 180 feet away from me. I don't see anything that states what the range increment of the Zen Archer's FOB, so I'm not sure as to whether or not I'm using the Zen Archer's FOB properly. The Zen Archer states that the FOB for the Zen Archer can only be used with a bow.
My second question about the Zen Archer monk archetype is about the Reflexive Shot class ability. In the text, the ability states that "At 9th level, a zen archer can make attacks of opportunity with arrows from his bow. The monk still threatens squares he could reach with unarmed strikes, and can still only make one attack of opportunity per round (unless he has Combat Reflexes)."
When I read this ability, I thought that it meant that I can make Attacks of Opportunities out to the range my bow, and still make attacks of opportunities in squares adjacent to me with my unarmed strikes. However, one of my fellow players think that since the class states that I can still make AOO to squares I threaten with my unarmed strike, that my arrows can only threaten to within five feet (or 10 feet away with enlarge person) unless I take Snap Shot/Improved Snap Shot.
With Reflexive Shot, what was the intended range of the class ability to make AOO's out to? My current GM is saying he would allow me to use Reflexive Shot out to 30 feet away, yet I now wonder if my initial thoughts on the range of Reflexive Shot was too broad. The ability states that I can make AOO's with arrows from my bow. The arrows can only do damage when fired from a weapon, since dropping an arrow onto the ground wouldn't deal damage unless it landed on your toe. I thought that the class ability meant I could make AOO's out to the range of the particular weapon using Reflexive Shot.
So I wanted to know what the range of the class feature Reflexive Shot is supposed to be, any thoughts?
Thirdly, I wanted to know about one of the Sorcerer Bloodlines, the Boreal bloodline. I noticed that the Child of Ancient Winters (Su) ability doesn't have a level to indicate when the ability is gained.
Child of Ancient Winters (Su): You gain the cold subtype and you become immune to fatigue and exhaustion. In addition, you gain immunity to sneak attacks and critical hits. This power causes you to gain vulnerability to fire.
Is this meant to be a class ability from level 1, or is it meant to be a level 20 ability?
|