So are you saying its not considered a goblin PC unless you have the boon?
Simply quoting back the additional resources isn't that helpful, as racial heritage would make you human and goblin and thus wouldn't you be considered a human/goblin PC.
Anyways, if it is that you need the goblin boon to use the content that is okay too.
In the bestiary I, the Gorilla stat block says to apply the young simple template for orangutans and chimpanzees.
Are these valid animals to transform into? Polymorph spells can't apply templates; Does this disqualify them because they were not given a separate entry to save space?
Is this different then the giant ant and its 3 templates (worker, Drone, Queen)?
Joshua J. Frost wrote:
It's an immaterial touch attack delivered via spell. It functions "as a scimitar" but is not a scimitar. It is one-handed and you are considered to be casting a spell, not wielding a weapon and therefor proficiencies don't enter into it. It is not a light weapon--it is an immaterial touch attack. You cannot hold anything in the hand that is wielding a flameblade.
That clears up
I did a little more searching and I found something that might apply.
In Gods and Magic pg 19 There is a spell Gozreh's trident. Basically the same wording as Flame Blade except for,
"You wield this spear-like bolt as if it were a trident (you are proficient witht he bolt)."
This seems to indicate that Flame Blade grants proficiency as well.
I'll update the OP.
I've been seeing varying opinions on how Flame Blade operates, so I've decided to consolidate it and see if we can standardize the ruling and possibly get some thing official.
School evocation [fire]; Level druid 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, DF
Range 0 ft.
Effect sword-like beam
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
A 3-foot-long, blazing beam of red-hot fire springs forth from your hand. You wield this blade-like beam as if it were a scimitar. Attacks with the flame blade are melee touch attacks. The blade deals 1d8 points of fire damage + 1 point per two caster levels (maximum +10). Since the blade is immaterial, your Strength modifier does not apply to the damage. A flame blade can ignite combustible materials such as parchment, straw, dry sticks, and cloth.
1. Does Flame Blade require scimitar proficiency?
This generally doesn't come up as Druids and followers of Sarenrae already have the proficiency. But what about other characters using this spell? (Sarenrae Bard, Pathfinder Savant etc)
Edit: There is a similar spell, Gozreh's Trident, with text almost identical to Flame Blade but it states "You wield this spear-like bolt as if it were a trident (you are proficient with the bolt)." - Gods and Magic pg 19.
2. What is the crit range?
a) 18-20/x2, just as a scimitar
b) It does actually create a scimitar, just 3-foot long flame, therefore its only x2
3. Does Weapon Focus (Scimitar) Apply?
Yes, since it is wielded as a scimitar. In addition Weapon Specialization and Fighter Training would apply.
4. Can you use Weapon Finesse with it?
a) Yes, its immaterial, no more dificult then waving your hand around.
b) No, its wielded as a scimitar which is one-handed.
5. Can you use a Flame Blade with Dervish Dance?
Yes, however it doesn't get the dex added to its damage.
6. What about Arcane Strike and other feats and spells that enhance weapons?
a) Yes, it is a scimitar made of fire!
b) No, although it is wielded as a scimitar (thus benefiting from weapon focus and the like) it is not an actual weapon but a spell, and can not be imbueded with Arcane Strike. Similarly it cannot be the target of Magic Weapon or Holy Sword.
7. How do metamagic feats interact with Flame Blade?
Metamagic feats apply to every swing. Maximized Spell cause each swing to deal 8+1/2lvl, Dazing Spell has a chance to daze on each hit.
Point out anything I'm missing and I'll add that in.
Flame Blade is a spell because it is affected by SR? So Shadow weapon would also be a spell and not be able to be buffed? or is it based on the kind of dmg it does (magical vs physical)?
as a side note,