Colin McMillen's page

7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I liked the harpies' ability -- it guaranteed that we had both Valeros and Lem's "add 1d4+3" feats available every time. ;) It does suck to get pulled to the courtyard or mountain peak though.


The Black Tower scenario says: "After you acquire a spell, bury a card from your hand." If a character gets to "draw a spell from the box" (from defeating Hand Chopper, for example), do they have to bury a card from their hand?

I ruled that the character did not have to bury a card in this case, because the words "draw from the box" don't include the technical term "acquire", but wanted to check if my reading of the rules was correct. [Is it correct to say that "acquire" specifically means "when a boon is encountered and the 'acquire' check is successful"?]


The text on the card Mirror Image says:
"If you are dealt damage by a monster during your turn, you may discard this card to roll 1d4, and on a result other than 1, reduce the damage to 0. Roll again for each additional source of damage for the rest of the turn."

The revised wording in the FAQ says:
"If a monster deals damage to you, you may display this card, even if you have played another spell on this check. Roll 1d4; on a result other than 1, reduce the damage to 0. Do this each time a monster deals damage to you. Discard this card at the end of the turn."

A) The original wording suggests that you can only play Mirror Image on your own turn ("during your turn"), but the new wording doesn't have that. Does that mean that I can cast Mirror Image on someone else's turn? (Say, to avoid damage from a monster that damages "everyone at this location".) The new wording doesn't say "during your turn", so I'm presuming it's legitimate to cast this spell to avoid damage on someone else's turn.

B) Secondary question: the original wording suggests that you have to initially play the card when a *monster* does damage, but after that it's "for each additional source of damage" -- so for example if I encounter a monster and get hit, I cast Mirror Image; if I then explore again and a barrier hits me for additional damage, I could roll again to possibly avoid that damage as well. The new wording says "monster" in both places, so is it correct to assume that the card *only* mitigates damage that comes from monsters, not from other types of cards?


Yes, you shuffle the cards back into your deck, but that's *after* you've redrawn (possibly repeatedly) from your draw pile until finding a hand that contains your favored type.


Additional source for "don't shuffle in before re-draw": http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q4af?Lems-favored-card-type-permanent#1

See the post from Vic Wertz near the bottom: "The way we've told you to do it minimizes the number of draws it takes to ensure you get your favored card. If your favored card were the bottom card in a 15-card deck, and your hand size were 6, our method ensures you get that card in no more than 3 draws. Your way, you may have to redraw any number of times until you happen to shuffle that card into the top 6."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, as I said, my reading is "must redraw" but an official clarification would be nice.

I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to shuffle the original hand back in. The revised rulebook says "If you discard so many cards that you can't draw up to your full hand size, draw all of the remaining cards, then shuffle your discard pile into your deck and draw the rest of your hand." There wouldn't be a need for this sentence if you were supposed to shuffle in your original hand before the redraw.


Page 6 of the (Nov. '13) revised rulebook reads: "The character card also lists a favored card type. If you didn't draw at least one card of that type, discard that hand and draw again, repeating as needed until your hand contains at least 1 card of that type."

Because it doesn't say "you *may* discard that hand", I take the rules to mean you are *forced* to draw a new hand, even if you like the hand you drew. Is that a correct interpretation of the rules, or is it the player's choice?