![]() ![]()
![]() Excellent Resource! I was curious if there was plans to add Season 4 to the booklet or if you were waiting for more of the scenarios to be announced before updating? It's nice regardless, though, as I'm just discovering once again the old problem of scenario tracking that I had back in Living Greyhawk. Good times regardless, though. ![]()
![]() KingsTears wrote: My inner rule-lawyer spotted this distinction in the energy doing the vicious additional damage. Very specific wording; perhaps someone considered this combo in the beta-testing stage? I'm doubtful of it being a result of the Paizo beta, considering its the same wording that exists in D&D 3.5 for those abilities. I suppose there could be a possibility in the internal testing that may have happened over at WotC that such occurred but I have no idea on that front. It does seem the common consensus is that all damage caused by a Merciful weapon, regardless of source of that damage. There remains the other half of my question in regards to Vicious, if the backlash damage is at all affected by Merciful. I've had 3 possibilities given to me on that front. a) Unaffected by Merciful
The last is...kinda outlandish in my book but has been pointed out as a possible interpretation, so I'm including it for completeness' sake. I personally lean towards option b, though I suspect the fairest interpretation is option a. ![]()
![]() I've been thinking about uses of the Merciful ability and wondering how pervasive the clause 'all damage it deals is nonlethal damage' actually is. I'm specifically interested in its interaction with Vicious and whether a)it converts the bonus damage to nonlethal and b)whether Merciful will affect Vicious' backlash damage in turning it into nonlethal as well. Considering the clause says it affects all damage the weapon deals, that could be interpreted to include the backlash damage. I've discussed it already with my local PFS group, as well as local PFS Venture Captains and Lieutenants and have received the consensus that I should open it up online to see if I can get a specific PFS interpretation on how it should work, so here I am. I'd be quite happy with it just affecting Vicious' bonus damage and still taking lethal backlash damage, as the least stretched interpretation of Merciful, which I've coined 'Killing with Kindness,' especially with the addition of building off of a chassis of either a Sap Master Rogue or a Magi with Merciful Spell. If it stretches further than that, I'm not going to be displeased, either, considering the cost of +3 weapon (+1 merciful vicious whatever) in PFS as-is. :) Just looking for further thought on it. ![]()
![]() Will Johnson wrote:
I whole-heartedly agree, I do my homework before a game so if I summon something, I have the stats already to go. I can just flip to the appropriate page in my character binder and they're ready to go. I require that of any players in games I run that dabble in summoning or shapeshifting have the statblocks or changes ready so we don't have slow down while someone looks stats up. In any case, it sounds like the answer to my question is that any character that wants to summon or polymorph needs to have the appropriate Bestiary, regardless of Core Assumptions, so I'll be rectifying that situation for myself shortly. Thanks. :) ![]()
![]() godsDMit wrote: Also, how does this work for Animal Companions/Improved Familiars/ Mounts? Most of the stats for Animal Companions, Mounts and Eidolons are contained within their respective books, so that shouldn't be a real problem there. Familiars, especially Improved Familiars, are for the most part in the Bestiary, which rather hampers Witches and some Wizards, Sorcerers and Magi. Mike Mistele wrote:
Summoners lose out a major feature as well, which is the boat I'm riding in at the moment, though my Druid in the wings isn't looking particularly good, either, at the moment. Enevhar Aldarion wrote: A listing of the first Bestiary disappeared completely in just two updates. I know little things can get lost in rewrites, but this is not so little. Indeed, which is why I'm asking about it. Also, given DMs are expected to have a Bestiary at the table, if I'm understanding correctly from the discussion so far, is that sufficient or does the player who wants to use a Summon spell need to have his or her own Bestiary as well? I guess I'm just a bit confused on how the Core Assumption is meant to work, since the Bestiary seems to be part of it but I'm not at all sure now. :/ ![]()
![]() A thought occurred to me with the Core Assumption and Additional Resources about the Summon Monster and Summon Nature's Ally line in that if you're required to own the book you draw from, does that mean a Wizard, Sorcerer, Druid or Cleric built entirely out of the Core Rule Book can't use either line if they don't own a Bestiary? Not to mention Wild Shape or any Polymorph related magic as well, that would be a real hit to any prospective Druids. ![]()
![]() Well, good to know they at least agree on the cost of fixing. From there, I think we can assume we use the item's individual item crafting DC at the rate defined in Broken and that should work out. Thanks! Actually, wait, that still doesn't make sense on the cost. The cost of crafting an item is 1/3 the price in materials and the rest in time invested. So, really, the Price is 3x the cost of the materials or how much you value the time invested into turning the raw materials into the finished product + that 1/3 in materials. The only time there's a half is when you're selling non-trade goods, which sell for half the buying price generally. That and the cost of crafting magical equipment is half the price. Since we're generally talking about nonmagical items, since to fix magic stuff you either need spells or the crafting feat to do anything with them, the price is 3x the cost in materials. The cost of fixing via Craft is 1/5 the price, meaning: P=3M
So the cost of fixing is 60% of the Material cost, provided my math is correct. According to Broken, NPCs charge 1/10 the cost of the materials, meaning: N=M/10
So, no, 60% of the Material cost if the PC does it and the NPC charging 10% of the Material cost does not make sense in the slightest, since he's losing remarkable money every time he fixes something. I really doubt your average NPC has Master Craftsman and the appropriate craft feat, so its generally nonmagical stuff we're talking about. Having though more about this, I'm just going to go by the Craft fixing csot and DC with the 1 hp/hour of Broken and call it good, since at this point, I think whoever wrote Broken and Sunder didn't actually check with Craft about fixing stuff and just threw some numbers down. At least till some errata or an FAQ on the matter shows up... ![]()
![]() There's a rules inconsistency when it comes to items that are broken between what's in the Craft skill section and what's under the description for the Broken condition. Craft, Repair Items wrote: You can repair an item by making checks against the same DC that it took to make the item in the first place. The cost of repairing an item is one-fifth of the item’s price. Broken condition wrote: If the item is magical, it can only be repaired with a mending or make whole spell cast by a character with a caster level equal to or higher than the item's. Items lose the broken condition if the spell restores the object to half its original hit points or higher. Non-magical items can be repaired in a similar fashion, or through the Craft skill used to create it. Generally speaking, this requires a DC 20 Craft check and 1 hour of work per point of damage to be repaired. Most craftsmen charge one-tenth the item's total cost to repair such damage (more if the item is badly damaged or ruined). Craft says you have to pay 1/5 the cost to repair it but not how long it takes. Broken says there's no cost unless you pay a craftsman to do it, who does the repair at a loss, as well as not varying depending on what you're fixing. So, it's about as clear as mud. Anybody got an idea? ![]()
![]() Joshua J. Frost wrote:
I have a similar issue to Matt, though I just finished playing at Little Egypt Wars this past weekend. Email sent also bounced. I'd rather have my new number, 34516, merged with my old number, 3962, if that's possible. Thanks for the help. |