Cavall's page

4,824 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists.




Can you take a rod that acts as a +1 mace and continue to enchant it to hit and damage?


I've got an ankylosaurus with my hunter. Using outflank and pack flanking he actually hits once in a while. (They aren't good fighters at my level but he's a rescue pet so shush)

Ok so what happens when

1) I get paired opportunists and get a crit?
2) one of those is a crit?
3) one of those is?

How many attacks do we each get at the start from the AoO and how far will it go?
How many does the initial one get that is to those feats?

I need to know before I go into this.

Warning I may add broken wing gambit.

Quote:


Outflank
In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of opportunity from your ally

Paired opportunists

Whenever you are adjacent to an ally who also has this feat, you receive a +4 circumstance bonus on attacks of opportunity against creatures that you both threaten. Enemies that provoke attacks of opportunity from your ally also provoke attacks of opportunity from you so long as you threaten them (even if the situation or an ability would normally deny you the attack of opportunity). This does not allow you to take more than one attack of opportunity against a creature for a given action.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can you use the power attack feat on an attack that does non lethal damage?*

*asking for a friend.


Anyone have an idea what the races of

Changeling
Kitsune
Samsuran

Are for their Race point values?

I'm going to penalize traits for playing a slightly higher race value. But these ones escape me. Even a general value like "12 to 15" would help, so long as there is a reasoning to the total reached.

I can't seem to figure it out. Thanks.


Spoiler:
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a drop of your blood)

EFFECT

Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw see text; Spell Resistancesee text

DESCRIPTION

Whenever a creature you can see that threatens you makes an attack against one of your allies, as an immediate action, you can compel that creature to attack you instead. When you compel a creature to attack you, you must first overcome that creature’s spell resistance, and the creature can attempt a Will saving throw to ignore the compulsion. A summoner casting this spell can choose his eidolon as the target of the spell.

I plan on using this on my hunter pet ankylosaurus, using share spells.

I assume a few things.
1) it's his immediate action used?
2) it's an enemy he is threatened by? (These 2 seem clear to me as yes)
3) how many attack is it compelling? If the guy has a full attack option and I compel him, does he just use the first? The one I use the immediate action on? Or all of them?

I figure it'll do very well vs low will creatures, using my will dc. As a dwarf that's pretty decent and should carry into many later levels.


13 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

What is the type of weapon a bomb is considered to be for calculation of two weapon fighting penalties?


11 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Why does the trait devoted healer exist? Or better yet, how?

Raised in the company of skilled healers, you were always encouraged to devote your time and energy to the welfare of others. Whenever you take 20 on a Heal check to treat deadly wounds, you restore an additional 1d4 hit points to those you aid.

Take 20? Does this mean it takes 40 kit uses and 20 HOURS? how's this even possible if take 20 means it incurs the penalties of failure and you can only try once?

Does the trait Devoted Healer really mean take 10 and not take 20?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does aspect and greater aspect of the class stack?

Can you double dip?


I love traps. Love that ranger trapper.

I love disarming traps. It's fun times and if you don't want a rogue it's nice to have options.

Why in the blue balls of hell can't the spell trapper (magus) disarm magical traps?

They get disable device. They can make magic traps. I mean...it's named SPELL TRAPPER. But I guess the real focus is on the trapPER part because they can't disable a magic trap?

This has to be an oversight. I've read it several times. Am I missing it?


Urban skalds lose medium armour. Do they also lose the ability to cast in medium armour? What of they take the feat to wear it?

Relevant text..

Spoiler:
 skald is proficient with all simple and martial weapons, light and medium armor, and shields (except tower shields). A skald can cast skald spells while wearing light or medium armor and even using a shield without incurring the normal arcane spell failure chance. This does not affect the arcane spell failure chance for arcane spells received from other classes. Like other arcane spellcasters, a skald wearing heavy armor incurs a chance of arcane spell failure if the spell in question has somatic components.

An urban skald is not proficient with medium armor. This ability modifies the skald’s weapon and armor proficiencies.


Would like to know if there's a way to make this happen, a class that gives me both the order and some sneak attack. Would like to not multi class


The missus doesn't like Penetrating ammo.

Any feats or enhancements she can take to allow a bullet to hit a foe and then another?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

A reliable gun states misfire rates drop by 1 after all calculations.

Dragons breath rounds force a saving throw instead of an attack. They misfire on a damage die roll of 1 for either die.

Does "reliable" make that go away? Or make it so they have to roll snake eyes to misfire?

Relevant text

Spoiler:

Reliable

This special ability can only be placed on firearms. A reliable firearm is enchanted so that it is less likely to jam than other firearms. This enchantment reduces the misfire value of the affected firearm by 1 (minimum 0). This reduction occurs after any increases are calculated for firing with the broken condition, or for any other effect that might increase the misfire value of a firearm.

Dragons breath
This cartridge contains alchemical compounds that, when fired, produce a cone of fire instead of the normal attack of a one-handed or two-handed firearm with the scatter weapon quality. The nonmagical flame deals 2d6 points of fire damage to all targets within the cone of the scatter firearm (DC 15 Reflex save for half). These cartridges cannot be used in firearms that don’t have the scatter weapon quality. Because this ammunition forces a saving throw instead of making anattack roll, the misfire rules are slightly different. If you roll a 1 with either of the damage dice, the firearm misfires.


Defiant weapon

This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons. Adefiant weapon helps its wielder stay alive in desperate conditions. It stays in its wielder’s hand even if she is panicked, stunned, or unconscious

Looks like you drop your weapons under slumber. If you don't want that...it's a plus 2 enhancement.

There. The nightmares over.


The grippli in my game found a rapier. Great, he took the princley racial, he can use that.

Downside is that it's medium.

Now, I get he can use effortless lace. But that won't allow it to be weapon finesse. Due to the size. (And trust me, I asked the guy that made it)

He hinted giant hunter's may have had a few options to shrink it down.

He wants to use his alchemists sticky poison with this rapier, but he needs weapon finesse to work as he is very Dex based.

Whatcha got for me that can help?


Do skalds require divine foci? They are still arcane spells, but if they cast it are they obligated to cast it as if a cleric would?


Just making sure. Is my friends PC gaining 2 fast healing or 1? I'd like to make it fair for him.

Does the feat give you the bonus from the boosted attribute (so plus one, then more later) or does it give twice that because that's the amount given by the song?

Attribute boost or modifier boost?


The Mrs took the skalds rage last session (needing to heal and he had lesser celestial) and asked of she could move her flaming sphere with a move action still.

I had no real idea.


So the rules state you take a -4 to disarm if you're not armed. They also say you arm yourself with whatever weapon you disarm automatically if you're not armed.

So three things.

Is the tongue considered armed? Or is there a penalty?

If he's "armed" then does he not get the weapon?

Or is he some weird combo of it? I mean, is his tongue suddenly better because he's holding a dagger by +4? And conversely are we to believe he's armed by tongue so drops all the things he takes even with hands empty?

I have a skull and shackles game and he did just that. So it came up.


The hunter has an archetype I plan in taking called the Divine hunter. (I plan on scalykind and boost it with the same rules provided with the animal domain, but that's neither here nor there.)

The divine hunter has his pet gain a template based on alignment.

Otherworldly Companion (Su)

At 3rd level, a hunter's companion takes on otherworldly features. If the divine hunter is good (or worships a good deity), the animal companion gains the celestial template...

under that template it gains spell resistance equal to its CR +5.

This gets raised by one at 5 HD because it's CR raises by one.

"SR The creature gains spell resistance equal to its new CR +5"
And
"A celestial creature's CR increases by +1 only if the base creature has 5 or more HD."

But what's it's actual CR? It's HD?

So a 9 HD pet would have a 15? 9 + 5 + 1?

Just want a concrete answer for my little venom spitting saurian loving dwarf. Oh, and Ankylosaurus for those that wonder.


It is my understanding that a full round action takes place just before your next turn. The -4 to AC kicks in AFTER you strike.

So really, when does this penalty kick in? You can't strike until just before your next turn but it says you gain a penalty until your next turn. Which is right after you strike?

Does this actually make the "improvement" of having it become a standard action actually worse? Because it suddenly allows the penalty to take place?

I'm just a little confused about how that all works.