Captain Ned Binghampton's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Corrado marcucci.



The Exchange 1/5 ***

Just wondering if there is a boon to allow you to replay a scenario.

thank you

Dark Archive

so In herolabs, which I know isn't perfect. There is a weapon quality you can add called Reliquary(Holy) to make your weapon a holy symbol for the purpose of a divine focus. The add on is 250gp. Its list the source as Ultimate Magic, but I'm having trouble finding out if its PFS legal. I believe it is, but the GM is saying its not because its from a Crafting feat. My weapon is also Holy, and Called, which I didn't craft either. So If the idea is because crafting feats are not permitted to PCs then no one can have any magic items. I would appreciate help on this thought.

thank you

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

When you have something or someone grappled and or pinned and the CMD to break free is over 20 plus their CMB is, I.e. CMD is 44 they roll a nat 20 plus their CMB 19 = 39 ithat an auto success or is there a rule about not being able to auto succeed on a natural 20 to escape a grapple?

Dark Archive

Ok, so this came up last night in our home game.

Aura of Purity Su
he witch's aura purifies the air around her.

Effect: Diseases, inhaled poisons, and noxious gaseous effects (such as stinking cloud) are negated in a 10-foot aura around the witch for a number of minutes equal to her level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but it must be spent in 1-minute increments. Effects caused by spells whose level is more than half the witch's class level are unaffected.

Would this also negate the Extraordinary ability of the Yellow Musk Creeper? There pollin spray attact?

Pollen Spray (Ex)

As a standard action, a yellow musk creeper can spray a cloud of pollen at a single creature within 30 feet. It must make a +4 ranged touch attack to strike the target, who must then succeed on a DC 14 Will save or be entranced for 1d6 rounds. An entranced creature can take no action other than to move at its normal speed into a space within the yellow musk creeper's reach, at which point an entranced creature remains motionless and allows the creeper to insert tendrils into its brain. The save DC is Constitution-based.

I would think it does. But I would be interested to know what others might rule on this.

Thank you.

Dark Archive 1/5 ***

Hi, I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a downloadable list of all the games for PFS for the past 5 seasons? I have played a few and just want to be able to check off what I've played and know what games I can still play with out accidentally repeating a game. I would appreciate any help.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

what might be the effect of a swarm vs. swarm encounter.

Let me explain, lets say you were attacted by a swarm of tiny scarab beatles. they are immune to weapon damage cause they are Tiny but what if you summon a swarm to fight them, would your swarm a rat swarm, can they do any damage to the Tiny swarm?

Let me know what you think.

thank you.

Dark Archive

Hi, we had this come up. We looked up when is a 1 an auto fail. In the core rule book it states that Attacks and saves 1 always fails 20 always succeeds. A natural 1 is not an auto fail for skill checks, but we couldn't find any thing on if a natural 1 is an auto fail on a caster level check. Please let me know what you think and if possible let me know where the rule can be found so we can present it as fact and not have to spend all night in a debate.

Thank you

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi, we had this come up in last nights game. We looked at different rules and here is what we found.

Supernatural Abilities (Su)
These can't be disrupted in combat and generally don't provoke attacks of opportunity. They aren't subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or dispel magic, and don't function in antimagic areas.

Now it is worded as "generally don't provoke" So we read on further.

this passage is regarding spells,

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn (see FAQ below for more information.)

FAQ/Errata
When you cast a spell that allows you to make a ranged touch attack (such as scorching ray), and an enemy is within reach, do you provoke two attacks of opportunity?
Yes, you provoke two attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack, since these are two separate events. (Note that at spell that fires multiple simultaneous rays, such as scorching ray, only provokes one AOO for making the ranged attack instead of one AOO for each ranged attack. It still provokes for casting the spell.

ok, so after reading this we were wondering if you use a SU power that is fire spit that required a ranged touch attack, would the ranged touch attact part provoke? so if you use the SU power to load up the spit, that part does not, but the action of fireing the spit does, right?

I know it's long winded but would love any help or rule that might apply.