Cale the Calistrian

Brainwave's page

222 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




We just picked up the Cloud Elemental ally from AP5 - the card is displayed at a location and can grant additional dice to checks at that location, when used you roll a die and on a 1 it is banished. However, the card doesn't say anything about what to do with it beyond that. Is it returned to the player's deck after the location is closed, after the adventure, or does it just go back to the box after the adventure?


Hey folks,

Question that came up in our game last night. There are several cards (the Chakrams that I carry on Yoon come to mind) that cancel "before you act" powers (mostly on non-villain monsters).

I don't want to misquote the actual wording of the powers in question by trying to paraphrase them and getting it wrong (don't have my cards in front of me at the moment), but there are multiple cards with this sort of power in the MM set. I don't think they specify that it has to be "your" encounter but they also don't specify that it can be "any" encounter, either.

My question is are these cards intended to be able to only cancel before you act powers on monsters you are encountering, or can someone across the table discard a Chakram to cancel a before you act power on someone else's encounter?

Then my second question is if a before you act power makes everyone at the location make a check - if I discard a Chakram to cancel that power, does it negate it completely for everyone or just stop that particular character from having to make the check?

Thanks!


Regarding Immunities, the MM Rulebook says this (pg 9) - "If the card you're encountering states that it is immune to a particular trait, during the encounter, characters may not play cards that have the specified trait or use powers that would add that trait to the check. The card you're encountering might require or allow a check that can affect your check to acquire or defeat; you must resolve that check before you begin the check to acquire or defeat." (Really only the first sentence applies, I quoted the whole paragraph just to be complete).

The Fire Gecko allows you to explore and then during that exploration you are told to add d4 and the Fire trait to your combat check. There is no "may" (unlike the Shock Lizard) in the text.

Now I had been thinking that if you used the Fire Gecko to explore and ran into something immune to fire that you were just out of luck, but actually based on the rule I just quoted, it very specifically says that the only requirement is that during the encounter you can't play cards involving that trait. So.. if you've played the Fire Gecko beforehand to give you an explore which happens to turn into a fire immune monster.. can you still get the d4/fire from the Gecko as well as roll normally on the check even though it's immune to fire?


Hi guys!

Got some more for ya.

1) Probably the most game-affecting question here - when utilizing Traders after a scenario, are all trades considered to be simultaneous or could you use cards purchased from one trader to help buy a card sold by another Trader?

To explain a bit further - we noticed during the B and deck 1 scenarios that for the most part we're not paying any actual real cost to buy cards from traders. There's always so many excess B cards floating around after a scenario that are going back to the box anyway after we're done - that purchasing anything up through AP1 was basically free. Now that we're looking at the AP2 cards we actually had to pay more attention to whether we had AP1-2 cards available to buy those cards with.

HOWEVER, if you could buy a couple AP1 cards that we don't actually want off the traders with some random B cards we don't want, and then use those cards to purchase an AP2 card... it's going to continue to make the cost of buying stuff from Traders kind of trivial.

Or is there no trading allowed during the trader step so you couldn't use a card to pay for another card because no trading and each character can only buy one card.

So I'm curious how this is supposed to work. And as a side note, would love an official answer (which I don't believe we ever got) to the previous thread where we were asking for a more comprehensive breakdown of how end of turn stuff is supposed to work, specifically with regards to traders (before or after excess cards back to the box, before or after buried cards returned to decks, etc).

2) So my understanding is you're not supposed to be able to explore outside of the explore step of your turn. What about the power on the Blessing of Horus that allows you to move, then you may explore. Can you discard the Horus to do this outside of your turn? Can you just get the move, but not the explore?

3) In the first adventure of AP2, you win the scenario based on the number of cards in decks. Is the scenario immediately over when this happens (I would kind of assume yes, since usually whenenever you fulfill winning conditions it's immediately over) or can you continue the scenario once you've reached the winning requirement?


So got a couple more for you guys -

1) Blessing of Bastet vs Quicksand Bunyip. A character plays a Blessing of Bastet "Discard this card to examine the top card of your location deck. If it is a bane, encounter it and it may not be evaded otherwise, you may encounter it." The card examined is the Quicksand Bunyip - "When you examine this card, either discard a card that has the Bludgeoning or Liquid trait or you are dealt 1d4 Electricity damage. Then shuffle the Quicksand Bunyip into your location deck."

Ok so - Bunyip is examined, possibly does some electricity damage, then is shuffled back in as the final part of the trigger resolution. Then, the Blessing of Bastet wants you to encounter it. How is this resolved? Most other examine then encounter cards (like the Blessing of the Ancients) just say examine then "explore your location", but Bastet specifically wants you to encounter the card that is supposed to have been reshuffled back in.

2) More of a comment than a question. I don't know if anyone else noticed this but in the last scenario of AP1 we only had 5 blessings left in the box after building the blessings deck + locations (full 6 man team). After reviewing decks, we realized that it would be possible to not have enough blessings to set up the scenario if more people had taken blessings as card feats. 2 card feats per character so far and we'd only taken 3 as blessings total, so we could have taken 9 more blessings if we'd maxed it out - all 6 of our characters had the capability of taking 2 more blessings. Any more than 5 more and not enough cards - it would be a lot of blessings for sure, basically 2/3rds of the card feats so far taken as blessings - not likely but not impossible. I'm surprised not enough blessings were included to cover the eventuality of as many as possible blessings taken as feats.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, my friend and I are playing a 6 character game and one of my characters is Zadim and one of his is Damiel. I've noticed that they have some interesting synergy and conflict.

Damiel can recharge an alchemical card to add 1d4 and acid or poison to a combat check by a character (Zadim) at his location. Then Zadim can recharge a card to add his int skill to that check since it now invokes poison.

Zadim can discard a non 2-handed weapon to give Damiel a combat boost.

Damiel can heal Zadim (healing pot) to get back all the cards he invariably discards to give himself and Damiel combat boosts.

Zadim also carries an ally from deck 1 that can be used to give anyone at his location poison added to their combat check, which can benefit either himself or Damiel, who has a similar ability to add a d6 by recharging when his check invokes poison.

But... all good things must end, right? Then we start acquiring boons. This is how I imagine the conversations might go (in reality we have a much friendlier exchange of cards) :)

Zadim - This ally adds poison to a check!
Damiel - Go for it, it's a basic card anyway.
Zadim - ...

Zadim - (Finds a Poisoned Sand Tube) Oh look it's a poison weapon!
Damiel - Umm.. "alchemical"
Zadim- *sadface* (Hands it over)
(Later...)
Damiel - I guess I'll ditch this weapon, the damage to everyone when I use it is a bit much.
Zadim - (Casually grabs it and sticks it in his backpack) You've still got some healing potions, right?
Damiel - Great.

Damiel - What's that card you just picked up?
Zadim - Umm... nuthin.
Damiel - Let me see that. Hey! That's alchemical AND liquid. Gimme!
Zadim - But.. it added poison to combat checks on a reveal... *sigh*

Zadim - NO SCORPION WHIPS FOR YOU!
Damiel - *shrug* Have you seen this fire lance? It's like a fire weapon but not really fire. How often do you see that?
Zadim - Ok you got me there.


Hi again!

After playing two scenarios of Deck 1, I've got a couple new questions.

1) A character managed to get hit by both Memories of Violence ("when you encounter a monster, evade it") and Echoes of Confusion ("you may not evade banes") at the same time. Not 100% sure how to handle this. I found the bit in the rulebook that says "if one card tells you that you cannot do something and another card tells you that you can, comply with the card that tells you that you cannot" so based on that we played it so that "you may not evade banes" which actually helped us because we didn't have a way with that character to evade banes anyway. Was this correct?

2) The Sun Falcon monster when defeated is shuffled into the blessings deck. Then, "When this card is discarded from the blessings deck, banish it and draw a blessing from the box." Normally when you draw a card, the person having the encounter is drawing it into their hand. In this case, the draw effect is happening at the beginning of a turn, unrelated to an encounter as the falcon appears on the blessings deck. We were unsure whether the drawn card is meant to replace the falcon on the blessings deck or whether the person who's turn is starting is supposed to get that drawn blessing into their hand.

3) Looking ahead, one of the characters can gain a (role card) power that allows them to recharge a blessing when used for an explore. One of the blessings in question doesn't have a direct explore power - instead it has a power (paraphrasing here) that allows you to discard to examine the top card of their location, then explore. Would that power allow that character to recharge a blessing used that way? I'm guessing the intent is yes, but unsure.

Thanks!


So in our first attempt at scenario #2, had a couple things come up -

1) In another thread the question was asked about Sandstorms being shuffled in to location decks from the blessings deck when a villain is undefeated but I didn't see a final answer. Since the Sandstorm has check to defeat "none" and no text about encountering the card, although it does have a trigger for when it's examined... are they ever supposed to be in location decks? Basically when a villain is undefeated can Sandstorms be shuffled in or should we be only shuffling in blessings and leaving all Sandstorms in the blessings deck? And if Sandstorms can be shuffled into location decks are they auto defeated when encountered?

2) More specifically, we had a situation where a character used a Blessing of Nethys to examine the top 2 cards of their location deck. The top card was an Aghash which caused the top card of the blessings deck to flip, which was a Sandstorm, which moved everyone. So... that character should have been able to examine 2 cards via the Blessing of Nethys, so do they still get the 2nd examine and how does that work? The obvious options seem to be - A) Examine 1 card at original location, get moved, examine 1 card at new location. B) Examine 1 card at original location, get moved, examine 2nd card at original location. But really unsure how this works.


1) Can you use more than one applicable power from the same character on one check? I know you can't use more than one type of card per character per check but not sure about powers. Specifically I'm wondering about Zadim as both his powers that add dice to checks could apply to the same combat check.

2) Pretty sure I know the answer to this one but can Zadim use the reveal power on a weapon card for his combat check and then discard that same weapon for his power to add his stealth skill to that combat check? (This feels to me like Lini being able to reveal an animal to add a d4 and then use that same animal card for its own card text on the same check, but want to make sure)

3) Invoke. So if I understand this term correctly, a check invokes the poison trait if either the character attempting that check has the poison trait as part of their check or the bane you are against has that trait listed. Assuming that's correct, the rules also say that "a bane invokes a trait if it deals only damage of the type that matches that trait." So a bane that does all poison damage invokes poison. However, in that case, would the CHECK invoke poison as well? Zadim's power is specifically activated when you are making a "check that invokes the poison trait". If he's up against a bane that doesn't have the poison trait listed but does all poison damage would he then be able to use that power?

Thanks!


Couple S&S Questions -

Can Seltyiel's Marauder power to draw cards when discard/recharging Pirate/Swashbuckling cards activate more than once on the same check if multiple pirate/swashbuckling cards are recharged or discarded for that check?

Example - If he recharges or discards a Swashbuckling weapon (either by playing it or using it as part of his combat power) and on the same combat check recharges an Eye Patch, would that power activate for both of those cards being recharged or just once per check?

Second question - I'm a bit unsure on the timing on Ring of Rat Fangs. If I have no cards in discard when encountering a monster but discard a weapon for the combat check and then beat the check by enough to activate Ring of Rat Fangs, is that weapon considered already in the discard pile before Ring of Rat Fangs activates to be recharged by the ring?

Thanks!


I would like to have my P:ACG subscription cancelled.

I may resubscribe at a later date, but at this time I do not have the funds or desire to start over with a new base set.

I'm not sure what the proper way to cancel is but I noticed others posting here that appeared successful, and I could not get through when I tried the customer service phone number.

Thanks for your help.


A friend of mine came up with this idea and to me at least it sounds like a good way to make room for more cards and cut down on multiple copies of cards that are only used once or twice.

Instead of printing multiple copies of the non-unique henchmen cards (like Ancient Skeleton or Harpy Monk, for example) just print 1 copy of each and in the base set you would have a set of Generic/Standard(whatever word you want) Henchmen placeholder cards.

Then for an example scenario you could list
Villain - Black Fang
Henchmen - Bruthazmus
Ancient Skeleton (Generic)

When you built the decks, you would shuffle Black Fang, Bruthazmus, and however many Generic Henchmen cards you need to fill the decks. You'd just keep the Ancient Skeleton card handy to refer to when any of the Generic Henchman cards are encountered during the adventure.

End result, you could cut way down on printing duplicate Henchman cards that would only be used once or twice anyway and make room for more interesting and different banes and boons that could fill those slots in the adventure packs.

There may well be reasons why this wouldn't work but it seemed like a good enough idea that I thought I'd share it on the forums to see what you guys thought.


So I'm currently debating switching Lem's Cure spell for a Mass Cure and a couple of questions came up regarding casting the newer Cure spells when there isn't another character at your location -

1) With Mass Cure, the card says "Reveal this card and choose another character at your location. Shuffle 1d4+1 random cards from his discard pile into his deck, and 1d4+1 cards from your own discard pile into your deck, then discard this card."

Is choosing another character part of the cost or can I play Mass Cure when alone and just have the other character be nobody? My initial feel is that you have to have another person to cast it on based on the wording - but considering a location deck is still a location deck even when there is no deck... I could see it going either way. Also to me this makes the card not all that amazing. If you don't have another character with you when you draw it, you either have to waste a turn moving to someone or the card is useless. (Many of my 6 character games have come down to the last turn)

2) Since I'm asking about Mass Cure I might as well check on Major Cure. Major Cure says "Reveal this card and choose a character at your location". Since it just says "a character" can you choose yourself and then when it says "shuffle 1d4+1 cards from his discard pile into his deck and 1 random card from your discard pile into your deck" - both of those things would then apply to you and you'd get 1d4+2 cards shuffled into your deck?


So I encountered a Harpy (regular monster, not a henchman) while alone at the Garrison.

4 other characters then failed the Wisdom roll and were moved to the Garrison by the Harpy special ability (which is a "before the encounter" ability)

The Garrison reads - If you encounter a monster other than villain or henchman, each character at this location must summon and encounter that monster.

So... does each of those characters also summon and encounter a Harpy as well (and basically create a series of 4 more sets of Wisdom rolls for everyone) or not?

My thinking was -

1) Character A encounters Harpy.

2) Garrison checks to see if anyone else is there. The answer is No, so no additional harpies are summoned.

3) The Harpy's ability activates...

Etc..

Not sure though so looking for other opinions on this.


So Merisiel has discovered a new love of spells with the Emerald Codex and had 3 spells sitting next to her character card when she encountered a henchman in the Thassilonian Library (When Closing: Banish a Spell).

(These questions all relate to using the Codex's second power of burying it to place 3 Divine spells next to your character card. Obviously if you just banish to take them into your hand, they would function as normal spells.)

So, the first question is - can I banish one of the spells that the Emerald Codex placed next to my character card to close the Library? My guess is no, but... I'm not sure.

Second question - the Thassilonian Dungeon allows you to draw a card when you play a spell with the Arcane trait. Now some of the Divine spells that the Codex gives you might also have the Arcane trait - if you use one of those spells while in the Thassilonian Dungeon, do you get to draw a card? I thought this might be a yes, but maybe you're not actually "playing" those spells.. I'm not sure if you are or if it's more of an effect from the Codex when you use them.

Btw I really like the card - to be honest I've been a bit underwhelmed by some of the boons added in the last couple of packs (the Giantbane dagger seems like a downgrade from the Venomous dagger for example) but really cool concept with the Emerald Codex. More cards like that make me happy.


So I'm only 3 scenarios into Hook Mountain but a number of cards have gotten removed from the game already and I'm curious what boons (if any) that everyone has chosen to keep rather than take out of the box?

So far the only thing I've chosen not to remove was a Cure spell (extra possible heals seem like a good thing to me).


If you defeat Iesha (I actually just encountered her with Kyra, that was nice) and the deck you pick does not have the Skinsaw Man - are you supposed to reshuffle it or just let the cards remain in the same order?

The card talks about reshuffling but it seems like it's only in relation to after you've found the Skinsaw Man, it doesn't really say anything like "If you didn't find the Skinsaw Man, then do X". However in general, usually when you look through a deck you reshuffle. I know "cards do what they say" but I'm still having trouble with this one. Thoughts?


This is a timing question more than anything regarding the scenario power of the Undead Uprising Scenario.

During the Undead Uprising Scenario, when you defeat a Zombie Minion henchman it gets reshuffled into a random open location deck.

Before, I'd generally assumed that this happened after that location was closed, assuming you succeeded in the closing requirements - so the Zombie was always going to stick around at some other location.

Thinking about it today, I realized I'm not sure that's the case. Considering on the Golden Rule list of which cards overrule others, the scenario card is certainly higher than a henchman card, it sounds to me now that you'd roll for where the Zombie goes before rolling to close the location, so it could go back to the same location (if you that was the result of the random roll). Then if you succeeded in closing it, the Zombie would get banished with everything else left in that deck.

Is this correct?


So the text on Yeth Hound reads that each character at the location has to make a wisdom roll or the difficulty of her checks is increased by 1 until the end of the turn.

The way I initially read this is that each character is rolling separately for their own checks to not be increased until the end of the turn. If it said difficulty of "your checks" was increased then I'd assume the rolls all affected the current character but since it says "her checks" it sounds from the wording of the sentence like the rolls all go towards the difficulty of each character that rolls.

After some thought I wondered whether this is intended.

For example - current situation is Ezren and Lem are at the location where the Yeth Hound appeared. It's Ezren's turn, he succeeded at his check, then Lem also has to roll. Other than having to make a spell recharge roll out of turn I'm having trouble coming up with very many situations where Lem would need to make a check out of turn...

I'm probably reading way too much into this card and maybe it's not intended to be much of a penalty but it's almost a pointless increase for an out of turn character. This is why I wondered if maybe it's all supposed to affect the current character.


So I had a question come up tonight - Ezren defeated a henchman at the academy and then *somehow* failed the closing roll. However he had an ally in hand that granted him an extra explore and wanted to continue.

I wasn't sure.

I know the closing phase for once a location deck is empty is a separate phase after the exploration phase, but I'm somewhat unclear whether the closing roll related to defeating a henchman jumps you to that same later phase in the round or whether it's still part of that explore. The way the henchman card allows you to close the location now makes it seem to me like it's still part of the explore and if that closing roll is failed, someone who has the ability to explore again should be able to do so.

If that is true then in a situation where a close after defeating a henchman revealed the villain after banishing the other cards, then I would assume that if that hero had an extra explore they could continue and encounter the villain in that same turn as well.

Anyway hoping for some clarification.

Thanks :)