Bullying Brawler

Ben Erickson 9999's page

15 posts (16 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.


RSS


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
Magehand is mostly a flavor spell. It's mainly for getting one's coat off a coatrack in dramatic fashion.

Actually, kinda good for finding traps or triggering traps. It might be a lower level but it has some value for things such as that. :-)


Stynkk wrote:
Ringtail wrote:
However I would encourage considering it a magic item so you don't run into unexpected problems down the road with spells like Shatter or Polymorph Any Object.

Agreed.. we don't need the mage hander swiping the magical longsword off a Fighter's belt because the scabbard isn't magical.

I've treated it as the whole deal is magical, the liquid and the container. As Ringtail said, there could be some funny results (with Mage Hand and some other spells) if you choose to spit hairs on the constructions of objects in that way.

Keep in mind it's a level 0 spell, what you're looking for is the spell Telekinesis.

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
For sake of arguments lets say you can mage hand a potion. How are you going to open it at range?
Crack the end of the spout on the ground on the ground and skillfully lift it so only a minimal amount spills?

The mage hand reference are purposeful and not telekinesis. :-) But interesting discussion none the less.

With what Tiny Coffee Golem mentioned:

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
For sake of arguments lets say you can mage hand a potion. How are you going to open it at range?

It the mage hand can perform intricate functions why wouldn't/couldn't it use the move action to open it?

I think as RingTail mentioned, I think it would be a GM decision/ruling but it has to be consistently applied and utilitized.


Ringtail wrote:

A potion is a magic item. Mage Hand can't affect it. If an item is held, it is attended. Mage Hand can't affect it.

Mage Hand

The target line: "one nonmagical, unattended object weighing up to 5 lbs."

Playing a devil's advocate here...the magic item is the liquid. The potion would be in some sort of container.

So in that sense would the mage hand be able to pick up that container that has the magic in it? Ot would/is the whole thing considered magical?

I could definitely understand attending to pick up a magical sword and the mage hand's inability to do that.


Hi all,

I'm looking for some generalization because the book really don't have specificity.

With the Mage Hand Spell:

1) Would one be able to pick up a potion of like cure light wounds and move it to a pour it in the mouth of an unconscious ally? In my mind, the mage hand would be able to pick up the potion and move it to the person BUT NOT pour it (or use intrinic functions).

2) Would a mage hand be able to grab an item from someones hand? In my mind, I would think not because that would be like a grapple.

Anyone have any input/thoughts on that?