Atracious's page

Organized Play Member. 26 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


I was looking at this spell but, I can't see it actually being useful.

It states "The rune remains dormant until the object finds its way into the hands of a spellcaster" Which means that the spellcaster would have to hold the object, and I don't see how one would get them to hold an object that is actively stealing their spells.


Hey, I recently noticed the Life-Reading Eyes on d20pfsrd and was wondering how they/the analyze aura spell they use would interact with invisible creatures.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/h-l/life-reading-eyes/

I feel that if I have it on the magic aura mode I would see as per arcane sight.
Health mode would be as per the shaman's life spirit hex Life Sight.
Emotions would show any living creature unless under mind blank.
And alignment aura mode would only show if a creature had an alignment aura ability.
Any help would be appreciated.


I am looking to join a pathfinder group since my last one fell apart from schedules changing. I work pretty early so I'm looking for an early afternoon group 2-530ish or anytime on Wed. I have a couple years experience with pathfinder, as well as 5e, and some with 3.5. I have also been a GM/DM on several occasions. I am willing to be a sub-in GM when needed.

If you've got anything like this please message me and I'll get back to you when I can.


Zog of Deadwood wrote:
Atracious wrote:
Artanthos wrote:
I have a 3' wooden pole with a rod screwed into each end....
This is kinda what I was looking for...think about it as item invention if you want...
Okay, sure, although for me it kinda breaks the "magic is cool" vibe to postulate rods that screw onto both ends of a mop handle (or whatever), I can at least imagine it, but I am still confused by the reference to "wielding" a double weapon in each hand. If you are holding a staff in either hand you're not gonna hit with either hand. Gandalf's battle prowess in the movies notwithstanding, a quarterstaff is a two handed weapon.

It's not about attacking with the staves..it's about a wizard being able to have say, a quicken/maximize metamagic staff and an extend/intensify one so that he can spontaneously apply more types of metamagic to his spells...

I'm wondering if this seems like it could be within the rules, or if this is a big no-no...and if so the rules stating why not...


Artanthos wrote:
I have a 3' wooden pole with a rod screwed into each end....

This is kinda what I was looking for...think about it as item invention if you want...


Could you potentially make a staff that is a double rod? so that holding the staff would let you pick between 2 different rods to activate?

I'm curious about the idea of a wizard wielding 2 staves that are actually 4 rods for awesome amounts of metamagic rods...thought obviously still only activating 1 per round...but he'd have more options!

Apologies in advance for being ridiculous...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Love it! been trying to build something like this for a while! :)


kyrt-ryder wrote:

1d8 -> 2d6 is the only time when that d8 to xd6 conversion happens.

2d8 > 3d8 > 4d8 >6d8 > 8d8 etc

the idea is that the total approximately doubles every other notch.

wouldn't that mean that it goes 1d10>2d8>2d10>4d8>4d10>8d8?

It seems weird to me that they would change conventions halfway through...


well according to this a person could tolerate up to about 1000 atmospheres worth of air pressure before any negative effects arise. And the bottle of air would produce air at the same rate a person would require to survive. So I would rule that the pressure increases by 1 atmosphere per 10 minutes, making it take around 7-21 days before it becomes an issue, and opening the hole would relieve any pressure built up...
My final verdict: you'd have to try REALLY hard to die that way...


I would rule that because you must meld into stone immediately after casting the spell, once you exit the stone the spells effects end.


When recurring effects happen depends on where in the initiative it started. For example if a troll(with fast healing 5) is in the combat, it will heal whenever the initiative counter reaches his initial position in the initiative, regardless if it's position in the initiative changes. Ie- if the troll rolls a natural 20 on initiative then delays action till after the first PC attacks him, he will still heal BEFORE any of the pcs act in subsequent rounds even though he now acts after the person that attacked him. But other GM's might rule differently.


my understanding is that concealment miss chance only applies to a defender. An attacker with concealment can reach around or otherwise bypass it as (s)he sees fit. ie-the spell blur grants the target 20% concealment, but does not state anything about it affecting their ability to target others, and can thus attack as normal.


my understanding is as follow(though I am no expert):

1-caltrops are a standard action, and can only be used adjacent to you.

2-pitons can be used to make a 'stuck' door with a dc 13 strength check to open.

3-jamming a lock closed forces the door to be broken rather than opened, and use the appropriate break dc found here:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/damaging-objects

4-any kind of oil acts as the spell grease, but only covering the area listen in their description.(1 sqare rather than 4 for flask of oil) and is also a standard action.

hope this helps


I thought 3d8 upgraded to 6d6 not 4d8[1d8(x3) goes to 2d6(x3)]and then to 9d6...not 6d8...


The Energy resistance enchantment says as follows:
"The armor absorbs the first 10[/20/30] points of energy damage per attack that the wearer would normally take (similar to the resist energy spell)."
and a ring of greater energy resist says:
"Each time the wearer would normally take such damage, subtract the ring’s resistance value from the damage dealt."

Assume an energy attack doing 120 damage is coming at the player for the following:

The greater energy resist armor would absorb 30, leaving 90 elec damage. Then the ring would subtract 30, leaving 60 elec damage.

If it isn't the case, is there anything that effectively stacks energy resist like that? I'm looking to max out my resistance to electricity.


I'm considering adding mythic adventures to my next campaign and my players are incredibly excited as well, but questions have come up about the mythic crafter feat.

First off what qualifies an item to require the mythic crafter feat if doing independant item invention.

Second whether the non-mythic limits still apply such as the maximum of a +5 enchantment bonus to weapons and armor(this was brought up because one of the specific items in mythic adventures has a +6 bonus).

Third whether the costs are affected by moving into mythic item crafting.

Fourth whether the mythic crafting feat is a requirement that can be replaced by a +5 spellcraft check.

And finally, whether a character can craft artifacts(minor or major).

We've all looked through the mythic adventures and the boards and we can't find answers to any of these questions anywhere.

This is what i would rule as a gm as per my reading:

1: 200k+ base cost, or if mythic crafting can exceed previous limits, as soon as one effect does so exceed the limits.

2: I would say that I could allow 1.5x the limit. aka +7 max enchantment bonus on weapons armor, and +15 total with abilities.

3: I would stick with the non-mythic rules for costs and not apply a set or relative increase just because it is mythic, it's already going to cost quite a bit more.

4: personally I would rule that mythic crafting is a feat that is required and can't be substituted.

5: I would allow the crafting of artifacts. Possibly requiring an increased spellcraft check to do so, but possible all the same.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)


I'm just curious if the "non-reach melee weapons" applies to unarmed strikes for flurry of blows...

Trait text:
"When facing an enemy that’s larger than you are, if you have no allies in any adjacent squares, your posturing, bravado, and cussing grant you a +1 trait bonus on attack rolls with non-reach melee weapons."


partyrico wrote:
In this case the target of the spell doesn't actually increase in size. You'll notice the claw and bite attacks stay the same size depending on the size of the target and don't scale with higher levels. Thus this spell could be cast on any sized creature for the same bonus.

My understanding was that alter form was small/medium as monstrous physique I and that bestial and monstrous form would be tiny/large & dimunitive/huge, as per monstrous physiqueII/III, respectively. But since they don't re-list the bite/claw attack values I think you're right. That kinda sucks though because it means that a wordcaster can't enlarge person...unless I missed something...


SO I've recently created a wordcasting wizard to try out the system, and I'm confused on one series of words: alter/bestial/monstrous form. they seem very similar to monstrous physique I/II/III but there's no explicit mention of a size change in the words' descriptions, just that the target "...receives a +[X] size bonus to Strength...". I would think that they would actually alter the size of the target(and it's equipment) but I'm not sure if that's an explicit difference they put in for wordcasting...any thoughts from the community?

Edit: also, if it does affect the size, would the size bonus be lessened if cast on a creature that was large+ to begin with?


Whack-a-Rogue wrote:
That's correct, it loses its SR. Scent goes away as well. As for the claw attacks, according to RAW, the creature gains one claw attack per hand. Wolves and Crocodiles have feet, so they won't gain any attacks. They'll keep the bite attack, though.

OK, that makes sense, thank you both for your help.


Dasrak wrote:
Quote:
Special Qualities: A skeleton loses most special qualities of the base creature. It retains any extraordinary special qualities that improve its melee or ranged attacks.

If it's listed in the "melee" or "ranged" stat blocks, then it keeps it. If it's listed under "special attacks" then it does not.

For instance, a skeleton constrictor snake would keep its "grab" on its bite attack, but it would lose its "constrict" ability.

So does that mean that if i applied the skeleton template to a creature, it would retain SR, so long as it's not in the special section?

Or does that fall under "A skeleton loses the base creature's defensive abilities"?

EDIT:Also, if i were to use the skeleton template on something like a wolf or crocodile, would it gain claw attacks for its feet?
And what about scent? I'd assume that would be gone, as it relies on flesh, but i just want to double check...


Talonhawke wrote:
Yep your good for one impale remove. Or take quick draw and just keep leaving rapiers in the guy until its dead

O.o i never thought of that....omg! i now have a reason for getting a belt of strength! >_<


Pinky's Brain wrote:

You get only one swift action a round and an immediate action counts as your swift action, so no.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Swift-Actions

Ok, so I could only do it once, but I *could* continue my full attack after?


I have a magus using a piercing weapon and i was looking into getting the impaling critical feats, but i want to make sure i'm reading it right.

"Whenever you score a critical hit with the selected piercing melee weapon, you can impale your opponent on your weapon....As an immediate action, you can pull your weapon out of your opponent."

Does this mean that if i do a full attack and i crit on the first attack, i can impale my opponent and IMMEDIATELY remove it doing the extra damage(or bleed damage), then continue my attack, potentially doing this multiple times?


DRedSand wrote:
Atracious wrote:

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra

Extend metamagic brings up another good point with corrosive consumption, how much damage would be done on the 4th, 5th and 6th turns? As a gm I would rule that since it's drawing out the spell it would instead do 1/level the first two turns, 1d4/level the second two and 1d6/level on the third turn, but I'd like an actual ruling if possible.

Also, FAQing this because pretty soon the magus in my players will be high enough to use corrosive consumption and he crits on about a fourth of his spells.

I'm not asking about what the damage would be on an extended C.C. there is a separate thread for that, I simply want to know whether they would be doubled by a crit.

thread:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2mkyq?Corrosive-Consumption-Extend-Spell-How-do


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra